We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice outing for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emperor Valley Zoo

Emperor Valley Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Private Port of Spain City Tour
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A nice outing for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This a small but clean zoo with lions, monkeys, snakes, turtles and birds.

Allot about one to two hours for the zoo.... combine with a trip to the Savannah across street and lunch or dinner at one of the fine restaurants on Arapita avenue.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    93
    61
    20
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value, a smaller zoo with many exotic animals and birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's certainly not San Diego zoo or anything, but this zoo was a fun, inexpensive outing. We spent about 3 or 4 hours strolling around. They have a large collection of birds and monkeys and a few larger mammals. My favorites were the ocelot, lion and otter. They had a couple of activities through-out the day, like feeding the carnivores and interacting with snakes, which add to the experience.
I was saddened to see the horses were kept in a smaller pen and appeared underfed. Horses aren't much of a zoo attraction anyway, so I am not sure why they have them there. The other thing I didn't like was that there was no come and go priveleges; once you left the gate you had to pay to get back in. So make sure you either come earlier in the morning or after lunch so that you have enough time to look around without needing to eat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fun outing for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visit Emperor Valley Zoo almost every month, as our daughter really enjoys it. The zoo is small, but since we first went there two years ago, it has been improved and new areas have been added. It feels like they are always working on making improvements, which is a very good thing.
You can walk around it in about an hour, it is good exercise (to see the monkeys, for example, you have a steep walk up), and their plants are beautiful. You can just sit in the new butterfly area for and enjoy having a look at them as they come to feed. Near the reptile enclosures you will sometimes find a zookeeper holding a snake or another animal for you to touch. Our daughter loves this!
There are some enclosures that still look too small or outdated for some of the animals, but since work is still being done to the zoo, this may change in the future. It is next to the beautiful botanical gardens, so you can do both in one visit.
All in all, and especially considering there aren't too many activities for children in Port of Spain, this is an outing I would recommend for a family.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Best Zoo in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to 85 countries and seen quite a few, and this one was really good. My three children loved it. Not too crowded and very easy to see and get close to the animals. Not too large, not too small. I suppose some might find the lions cage too small, but heck, how often do you get to stand a few feet away from a lion. The bird collection is amazing, and I generally only like fried birds. It is comparable to the Belize Zoo, but this is a bit more diverse and has a larger population, especially of primates. This should be #1 on your list. But, bring your own food...as the small cafeteria is only good for beverages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good if you are zOOs fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

In this Zoo, Me and my family enjoyed a lot watching all kind of annimal you can imagining, birds, monkeys, water annimal, snakes. On the other hand this zoo is particular well manteined and walking path have a lot of trees wich make the ride a nice experience, it worth go there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Israel130366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emperor Valley Zoo also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Emperor Valley Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing