We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best beaches in Trinidad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maracas Bay

Maracas Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach spot fulfills the fantasy of the ideal Caribbean beach, but is just as famous for the scenic rainforest drive that must be made to reach it.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“One of the best beaches in Trinidad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Trinidad isnt exactly known for it's beach, in fact Trinidad is one of the least touristy countries of the Caribbean due to it's oil wealth. However this beach is still able to stand out as being clean, safe with coast guards, and relaxing. This is also the best place to get the world famous "bake and shark" sandwich. Lastly if you like to party on the beach, this place is also known to throw some great beach parties.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeygsDeBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    566
    155
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Avoid the crowds and come on a Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My first visit here was on a weekend and it was jam packed! This time I visited on a Monday with my husband around midday. We rented loungers for $20TT each and enjoyed the relative quiet. On the bright side the lines for bake and shark and a few beers were short. The downside is there were hardly any vendors on the beach (this may be a bonus for some).The beach appeared much cleaner than my last visit and I hardly saw any broken glass in the sand. As another reviewer pointed out, the water isn't blue, but it's not bad either. There were some pretty good waves and a strong undertow so just be aware in case you visit with small children. The lifeguard was very engaged and kept people from venturing out too far. Overall this is not the prettiest beach I've been to, but it's hard not to enjoy lying under a coconut palm listening to the surf with a bake and shark in one hand and a Carib in the other. Side note- toilets are available for $1TT. There are also showers in the building but beware- they are a row of shower heads against one wall- it's communal and there is no privacy so prepare to shower in your suit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Don't miss this wonderful beach if you head to Trinidad. Great atmosphere. Friendly people everywhere. Water was magnificent. Beach was quite clean, plenty of places to relax and do nothing. Make sure you indulge in the Bake and Shark, delicious!! Use plenty of sunscreen if you burn easily.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussie88813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Come very early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stopped here on our way through to catch the ferry across to Tobago.We arrived at about 0700 which was when the beach was at its quietest. A super scenic place thats well worth the queuing to get in and out of Port of Spain.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The surf was great here. The lifeguards were constantly warning me about the undertow and preferred tourists to stay to one side of the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finemind1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maracas Bay also viewed

St. Ann's, Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Scarborough, Tobago
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Maracas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing