We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Losing it's touch...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo's

Angelo's
Ranked #8 of 157 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Losing it's touch...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have visited Trinidad frequently and have dined at Angelo's a few times. When the restaurant first opened the food was delicious, encouraging repeat visits. Between last year and this year we found the food taste has declined so much so that we will give this hotel a rest. Table seatings too close not allowing intimate setting. Service delayed, although rushed getting the payment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank khristian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    98
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Level Contributor
183 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“70th Birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Whilst on holiday in Trinidad after the carnival, we celebrated my 70th here. The service and food was first class. Since we ordered a glass of champagne to start, we were asked what were we celebrating. To our amazement after dinner they had made a small cake with a candle and Happy Birthday scrolled in chocolate round the dish. A really good afterthought and servive from this restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank P0acher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
1 review
“Beat italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Best Italian. Great lobster. Lovely service from friendly staff. Well cooked pasta. Amazing lamb. All in all an excellent restaurant

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiklusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent food, inconsistent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our party of 3 went here on a Tuesday night. Even without a reservation, we were seated immediately. They were out of several dishes in the menu, but we did make selections that we liked. The plates took an exceptionally long time to aoear. Once we started, though, the serviefs were constantly there - refilling wine glasses too soon, trying to remove plates before we were finished, etc. It almost seemed like we were overstaying our welcome.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrvW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OValley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rustic ambiance with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place has a rustic feel with beautiful ornate woodwork, as it seems to be a historic house which was converted into a restaurant. Service was great, especially by the servers and the host at the entrance. I was however disappointed that the Chef was on the floor visiting tables but he seemed selective in which tables he visited, which is perhaps the only reason that I gave them a 4 out of 5 (as I compared this to Buzo, where the Chef visited every single table, as far as I could see). The food was delicious and the servings were quite healthy, in fact much more than I expected and when the dessert cart rolled by, I could not resist. I am not a food expert but the only critique about the food is that the shrimp seemed to be slightly overdone (not rubbery but a tad bit tough). Delicious nevertheless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibSciGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing