We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wifi in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No wifi in rooms”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there during the Caricom Heads of Goverment meeting in July. Nice room and bath but very basic . The food was not great and if you wanted wifi you had to sit in the lobby which was not very comfortable . I would only recommend if you are not doing business

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    93
    50
    32
    38
See reviews for
34
86
43
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice looking hotel just off Queens Park Savannah. The rooms are lovely and my room provided a spectacular view of the hills, lit up at night it proved mesmerising. However the lack of decent restaurants and food reduced any ambience the hotel may have been trying to create. If you intend to not eat at the hotel then it is fine ( business traveller) stay, but if you require any main meal more than once, then you need to go to another hotel ! There's an OK lap pool and a decent gym from two converted room suites.

I wish the management luck, but they have a long way to go. Hyatt for me next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bwhatuwant2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

hongkong
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is in port of Spain , 40 minute drive from airport, taxi from airport to hotel is quite expensive us45 at night rate,
it is in the neighbor of Hilton hotel, there are nothing around this hotel so it is quite quiet for sleeping,upon arrival. The staffs are very attentive and helpful , design is modernism, the room is
Very spacious toilet supplied with all the amenities, in fact, port of Spain everything is expensive,
With this price to stay at this hotel, it is good value for money,opposite has a free parking lot.and not too far from the action area .i would recommend this hotel,

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank edwinHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Carlton Savannah in the middle of August 2013. The room was beautiful I had internet service for a few hours . Early next morning my internet service went out. I had to call the front desk and complain. The guy there did not know what to do, the service was reinstated six -eight hours later. Next day my children and I observed a smell of urine emanating from the around seating area at the poolside. Plates from last evening's dinner was left overnight and was still there in one of the Cabanas when we left midday the same day. We went for breakfast the following day ordered bake and salt the waitress comes back ten minutes later only to tell us that they did not have salt fish. I was so upset. On returning from the use of the elevator it was deemed out of service. We stayed on the 10th floor. Fortunately, we just got out of it before it malfunction. It remained that way for 24hours then we checked out so it still was not working at that time.
Beware people better to remain at home then venture to Carlton Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and it was great. No complaints and the rood top bar was remarkable. Money well spent and the staff were very friendly. The food was tasteful and the pool was relaxing.
I found that 2 of the hotels bar were never open during the adevertised times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracay, Venezuela
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The room is large and comfortable. However, I could have used wi-fi there or in public areas such as the swimming pool or the rooftop bar. It was only available indoors at the ground floor. No mini bar or vending machines. Their restaurants and room service bring all the drinks served in a glass. I just went to a supermarket and bought some cold drinks so I wouldn't have to wait for room service every time I was thirsty. Staff very kind and offering a smile whenever on sight. Safe area close to Queen Savannah park and some nice zoo, but far from areas where restaurants, clubs, shops and bars are. This is a con in a city where taxis aren't easy, so you have to arrange in advance if going our at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie_bizot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room and view were amazing. The staff were helpful and friendly. Great location, great hospitality for leisure or business. One word of caution don't order the banana pancakes.. great idea but not great execution

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniChica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,023 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Property: The Carlton Savannah
Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing