We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Asa Wright Nature Centre
from $80.00
More Info
from $98.00
More Info
from $65.99
More Info
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
242
102
20
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
102
20
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided walk bird watching the main house plantation house humming birds rum punch dining room bell bird flora and fauna different species bird species leaf cutter ants answer questions ceiling fan served buffet style amazing birds bird guide
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Joined a party of around 80 cruise guests on a 6 hour trip to this attraction
5he journey took 90 minutes on winding uphill badly maintained roads, when we arrived ques to use the toilets lasted at least 30 minutes followed by another 30 mi Tues to dust your legs with a repellent
Not enough facilities for such a large pre booked group
The walk on the trail was very difficult on badly maintained narrow paths with not much to see
The best place to watch the many facinating birds was from the terrace
The visit included a lunch which was ok
Overall the place looked rundown
A disappointment,,

Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

I let the cool waters cascading over the rock cool of my heat and my hair feel as though i use the best shampoo in the world . hair feel so soft and smooth. you can see the oil bird in cave o

Thank precious64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The trip started with 11 of us (7 adults) in 2 SUVs travelling on the hilly scenic winding Blanchisseuse Road to Asa Wright Nature Centre. The atmosphere was serene, damp and melodic, with the chirping of the various species of birds.
On arrival, we had a traditional Trini breakfast of scrambled eggs, salt-fish buljoil, boiled ground provision, coconut bake and traditional cocoa tea(made from native cocoa beans) on the varandah. We were fascinated with the large variety of humming birds all refreshing themselves at the bird feeders. There were a variety of other birds around, waiting to feed on scraps of food. It was a lovely break from the bustle of work related activities to which we have all grown so accustom!
Of course, there are other activities to occupy the day.

Thank Zulaika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You don't have to be a bird lover to be totally charmed by what you can enjoy from the veranda of the center's house. Loads of beautiful hummingbirds swarm around the feeders and other colorful birds line up to be photographed as well.

For those who want the total in nature experience, guided tours are available. We enjoyed our knowledgeable guide who pointed out a large variety of plants, and a few birds to us. The forest is quite dense, so spotting birds on the walk was not easy.

You can also have lunch at the main house and enjoy fabulous pictures on the walls.

A short walk from the main house is also a waterfall with a small pool. We enjoyed a refreshing dip.

Thank Reslysten54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

This resort brings you right back to appreciating nature. Such peace and tranquility only then you recognize how noisy the world has become. The sounds of nature is soothing to the senses and rejuvenates one's spirit.

1  Thank Althea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Nature Centre is set between and in, tropical mountains allowing visitors close communion with nature, the trees, flowers, animals which live there. The food is good too.

Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We opted to stay over night, we participated in the tour available to see the oil birds in the cave. It was informative and not too long. There are so many hummingbirds along with other birds near the main house, that in itself was amazing.We found a secluded waterfall which was so refreshing, and our skin felt great after. The room itself was extremely basic and dated but it was air conditioned. If you have meal preferences please inform them of it upon booking. if you are going for the day be sure to pack things to eat, possibly bug spray. The food options are very limited and there aren't any shops nearby.

Thank ADJagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

As a nature lover this place cannot be beat in the category, from scenic gorgeous mountain views, to multiple trails to explore, as well as a beautiful river pool with a mini waterfall.

For bird lovers there are birds of various species that can be viewed any time of the day as well as the local wildlife such as Agouti, snakes etc.

For the foodie I must admit I am usually skeptical with all inclusive hotels etc but this place delivered in the food category the food was superb for breakfast, lunch and dinner; some of the best local and continental food I have had compared to some of the big name restaurants in Trinidad and other international countries. 5 Stars to the cooks and chef.

Unfortunately I could not give 5 stars for the following reasons:

1. Our room though clean had a lot of cobwebs, this was the same for the main dinning area as well.

2. The decor could do with some updating in the main hall as well as the video which is a bit outdated.

3. Depending on which room you get it could get a bit noisy when some of the locals are around.

4. The gift shop needs to be updated and stocked

5. The road to get there is a bit sticky and has single lanes in the worst places. If this is fixed I am sure it would have a lot more visitors. But don't let that stop the adventurer in you :-)

Other than the above this place is perfect for the nature lovers, romantic get aways, staycations or just a day trip with the family. The staff are so friendly you will not want to leave.

Note there is no picnicking allowed in the river and if you do take some small snacks and drinks be sure to take a small bag to dispose of your rubbish in the convenient bins. Some individuals were there before us and left a mess which we cleaned. DON'T spoil it for everyone please nature gives us these beautiful treasures to enjoy the least we can do is keep it clean.

Also be sure to take advantage of the local day and night tours of the estate.

Thank Squidtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Great natural environment. Rustic. Great hospitality and good food. Warm welcome. Wonderful nature walks. Good bird watching

Thank NickJGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Slightly faded charm, but spend at least a couple of night there to reap its rewards.

Of course most people are there for the birds and deservedly so, the range of species is amazing and the staff are massively helpful and knowledgeable.

There are several good walking trails where all manner of wildlife can be seen, night walks are a must do and the atmosphere is incredibly friendly.

Food is great, especially the breakfast and there is rum punch at sundown!

Highly recommend

Thank spuddybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews