We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR conditions”
Review of Mayaro Bay

Mayaro Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Island Circle Tour
Ranked #41 of 96 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A quiet beach on Trinidad's southeastern coast.
Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POOR conditions”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were booked here for 2 nights and did not spend more than an hour on the compound. It is is poor state, dirty, shabby (not shabby-chic, just SHABBY!). There was no way I would've slept on the beds or used any of the kitchen items (all old, mismatched and warped); there was rat-poison and droppings in the cabinets! Everything felt dirty.
The door did not latch properly and was not at all secure; it could've easily been pushed in by a small child. There were doors connecting to other units and the hostess did not have keys to lock them, but was confident that no one was going to stay in the other units, so it was okay for the doors to the other units to remain open.
There is a lovely carat shed to sit and relax and it looked quite inviting until we went into and found bird droppings covering the stairs and 2 sides.
We will NEVER stay here, nor recommend it to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetcoconutbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    1
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tinidad and tobago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A place of Serenity”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The beach is nice and basically clean for bathing. as well as safe to a point since there are life guards patrolling the beach occasionally.Its even nicer when staying at RASH beach resort situated right on the beach front. They are pretty reasonable, quite and relaxing, the rooms are clean and the apartments are equipped with all basic items, there is a kitchenette with cupboards, dishes, pots,spoons, bins, dish drain boards, refrigerator, stove and Microwave. Not forgetting a TV with cable channels, and AC. Nice couch sets to relax on and the beds are comfy, they can provide rooms with some having 3 rooms and 2 double beds and a single bed , or two room apartments accordingly some have a balcony. The one we got was a two room at that very front facing the sea with a lovely balcony with nice concrete tables and concrete stools and iron chairs. this one had lines available to hang clothes.

Its convenient since its 10 mins from the main town so you can get anything you forgot at the supermarket of the vegetable markets and stores for clothes etc.

Present at this resort are swimming pool ( you can take your floating devices in the pool), jucuzzi, sauna, ba b que pits, hammocks, picknic tables, chaise lounge chairs facing the ocean, a foot bath at the entrace after the beach so the grounds at not sandy. there ar showers and a toilet near by the pool area. The facilities are opened from 9 am - 9pm and the gates to the resort closes at 11pm for security reasons, Also no visitors allowed,There are always security and video cameras, Nearby you can see fishermen hauling in their catch.
or drive down to the very end of the island about 60 mins away. Of course at the very end is the army base. YOu can drive up to see the Galeota oil plant and see the oil rigs out at see in the distance.

Must becareful of a few jelly fish on shore some of the times and i guess the time of the year, luckily we didnt see any in waters or heard of any incidents of anyone being stung. sea is rough at times but still ok to bathe in.

Nice shore great for playing cricket, paddle ball , foot ball or any other sport, except frisby its too windy. but lots of fun.

In fact along the Mayaro coast are a number of beach resorts to choose from but from talking to other guest they recommend rash for price and I recommend for sanitation and amenities, price security and comfort.

Its so very cool and tranquil early mornings as well as throughout the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Niranjanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wouldnt bother to stay here again. There are much nicer places in Mayaro. It wasnt completely dirty, althought rat poison was left out and we did see a few cockroaches. This Sunset Beach Resort is not like the one in Jamacia at all. For a few dollars more you can stay at Radix or Queens Beach. I would never waste my time or money at Sunset again. Disgraceful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Breanna1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite beach”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Mayaro is my favourite place to come and admire the Atlantic Ocean. I love that the beach is so expansive, it doesn't feel crowded like smaller bays would on a weekend. RASH resort is really great for the price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Afb1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mayaro”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Mayaro beach is indeed one of my favorite places. It's really beautiful... especially around Easter. Great place to get away from it all yet you have the convenience of having Supermarkets, KFC, Subway etc close by. You have the choice of many places to stay though I'm of the opinion that Queens Beach Resort is the best. Their rates may be pricey for some when compared to the rest but it's well worth the money. The only problem with Queens Beach Resort is that their rooms are not Ocean facing but the ambience makes up or that. As for the rest such as Moondrop, Radix, Sunset Beach, RASH, Harry's and such I strongly suggest that you check them out before making a booking. That aside Mayaro is the best.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank candyraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayaro Bay also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Blanchisseuse, Trinidad
 
Tunapuna, Trinidad
 

Been to Mayaro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing