We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience with Kayman of Limeland tours”
Review of Nariva Swamp

Ranked #23 of 96 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Several different species of birds inhabit this swamp, one of the largest wetlands in the Caribbean.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with Kayman of Limeland tours”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic Kayaking experience with Kayman! We stayed overnight so that we could leave as soon as the sunrise so as to catch sight of the Howler monkeys and even the Trinidad Capuchin monkeys and it was not a disappointment at all! We spotted them along with lots of exotic birds and crabs in the swamp. I highly recommend this experience to all nature lovers! His local snacks were especially tasty and a truly pleasant surprise!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank cherielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sandy utah
Level Contributor
223 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Scarlett Ibis heaven!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was amazing to see the thousands and thousands of scarlet ibis come back to roost for the night in the trees. The mangroves are always fascinating to view. The guide was knowledgeable and a great wildlife spotter. If you have a chance go on this tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Rivers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You have to go there”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is amazing all the more so with a great guide like Mahise. Arrange him through Asa Wright. It's magic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
280 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A great tour and place to visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Nariva Swamp tour was really good. We went with Nanan's tours 1-868-645-1305. Very well organised and informative. Good value for money too. We left the dock around 4pm and stopped on the way to look at birds, fish, snake and numerous caimans. finally we arrived at the area where the scarlet ibis roost. we waited while they flew in and just before sunset headed back to the dock. The light levels were very poor so it was difficult to get good photos. Incidental the swamp is underneath the flight path for Piarco airport so there was lots of opportunity to view aircraft quite close, if you prefer that to nature watching.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hickmagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wildlife of Trinidad”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently took a day trip to Nariva Swamp to see the wildlife of Trinidad. We weren't disappointed! You meet up with a guide and there was an initial boat ride through Nariva Swamp area where we saw red-bellied macaws and many other birds in route. After getting to Bush Bush Island, we were able to see both the Red Howler Monkeys as well as the Capuchins. The island is also alive with many species of birds, including blue and gold macaws and toucans. Many interesting plants, flowers, cannon ball trees and unique insects -but also the biting insects, so bring plenty of spray. It is a beautiful area going right from the wide open savannah/swamp land into a lush forest.
Even though it is a drive across the island to the East coast from POS, if you go early in the morning you can get there fairly soon and see many of the animals that are still active before the daily heat. We went with Jesse James tours and the price was reasonable and the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. -Definitely worth the time to visit if you are a nature lover.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank yarbroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nariva Swamp also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 
Maracas Bay, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nariva Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing