We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the edge of the Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chacachacare

Ranked #35 of 94 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mysterious, uninhabited island, once the site of a colony of lepers run by a group of nuns, is only five miles off the northwest coast of Trinidad.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“At the edge of the Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located at the edge of the Bocas, this island is quiet and deserted save for other bathers or boaters. While Scotland Bay and others tend to overflow with loud partiers, this is a rarity here. There are beaches on different sides of the island, but the best are closeby the jetty. Go through the treeline straight from the jetty and you find a clean beach facing Venezuela just 7 miles away with good snorkeling off the beach and calm waters. The other beach is reached when going up the lighthouse road and taking a steep dirt path to the right and you come out on a clean, shallow beach. Other beaches are relatively inundated with trash and manchineel trees, so beware. The island is best explored with a guide. Trekking to the Leper colony ruins is a worthy trip. Another option is the lighthouse at the top of the road that starts right off the jetty. Keep in mind, the road to lighthouse has little to no shade so bring water and a hat as you will bake in the sun on the walk up. Views from the lighthouse show you the bocas, Gulf of Paria, of Trinidad, and Venezuela. When visiting the island, you need to bring all your gear and supplies as there are no facilities anywhere on the island. Functioning cell phone for emergencies is a must as well. It's an island steeped in history, and absolutely worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I visit Trinidad about once every two years to visit a friend living there. I was luck enough to be able to dive off their boat to swim through amazing waters and walk up onto the island. Explored fascinating old ruins and tracks and it really was just a unique and special place. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Artybetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Beautiful island slowly being destroyed by Trinidadians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was finally able to visit this island as part of a tour with Caribbean Hiking Adventures. It is a beautiful island that is slowly being destroyed by Trinidadians. But destruction aside I would recommend anyone to visit.

The boat takes about 45 - 60 minutes with departure from Crew's Inn (in Chaguaramas). As you sail through the Bocas it is interesting to observe how the water changes from Tea Green to dark brown-black and then back to Tea green. Also as expected, some parts of the Bocas are turbulent and rough...this is a normal phenomenon.

As the boat docks you are treated to a stunning view of the cliffs and sheltered bays of the island. Unfortunately, you will be greeted by mounds and mounds of thrash. The island is frequented by several party boats (in fact one of them was there while we visited). The intoxicated revellers drop their thrash all over the island and simply do not care. Others make an attempt to use the bins provided but these bins are over flowing...an indication that they are not emptied at all.

Problems aside there are many things to do. If you are fit enough, I recommend making the trek up the road to the lighthouse. Be warned, this road can be a challenge...hiking in the forest is different to hiking up a paved road. The midday sun makes this trek insanely difficult. Stay hydrated and you will make it eventually. At the top you will get stunning views of mainland Venezuela as well as Huevos, Monos and mainland Trinidad.

On your way back down...take some time to observe the vegetation. There are a lot of Cacti...similar to Isla Margarita.

Of course no trip to Chacachacare would be complete without a sea bath at La Tinta Bay. This Bay is shallow and calm. Its perfect for families. However there are some poisonous trees growing on the shore and again...thrash is strewn everywhere.

Nonetheless, Chacachacare is awesome! I recommend it to anyone!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank psykick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun filled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location for many activities. Camping for a long weekend or spending the day with friends and family. Learn about Trinidad's history. Take a hike to different parts of the island such as various bay, the salt pond, or see the amazing view from the light house. Excellent fishing from different points. Snorkel to your delight as there are many wonderful fishes and under water life to experience. Build camp fire from fallen trees. I have done all of the above and I will continue to do so. I would love others to share in this joy so I hope you all go out and enjoy. Remember please love the environment and take your garbage off the island when you leave.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lost Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were lucky to hop on the Treasure Queen Tour boat..what a surprise to find more than 100 people on the 3 deck Cruiser, having a sound system that blew us away...Trini's had a party, "Wining on da cruiser" and they made sure we joined them..with security guards, staff and a DJ asking people not to drink too much, we felt safe and made a lot of friends..they had a bar and food and when we arrived at Chacachacare island, a walk through nature and silence with spectacular views of the ocean were just what we needed..soft rain brought beautiful birds and butterflies to enjoy the drops on the luscious plants. Again, littering on the several beaches were Schocking.. The staff of the cruiser picked up after the Trini's..The ocean were warm and we cooled off after the walk. The boat leaves Chacachacare at 3.30 and arrives at 5pm. On our way back dolphins were playing all along the boat and that made the day complete. We paid 300 Trinidad Dollars for the 2 of us, and it is worth every dollar. A small boat charges 800 dollars and it is not as safe as the big cruiser.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Assie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chacachacare also viewed

Tabaquite, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Chacachacare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing