We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Water was Rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blanchisseuse Beach

Blanchisseuse Beach
Trinidad
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 88 things to do in Trinidad
Attraction details
Watersmeet, Michigan
Level Contributor
286 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Water was Rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Water was rough the day we were there. The beach was nice, but we prefer a beach where we can swim as well. There was a place where the mouth of the Marianne River enters the sea. It was a place to swim, but not really that deep. We entered at the side of the restaurant attached to the Laguna Mar Beach Hotel. It is chained off with a sign that says private property. We went under the chain, believing it was to keep cars out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeSunseeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Generally, the water gets rougher the further you move up the North Coast, and Blanchisseuse is the end of line (by car, anyway). The town is small and friendly, and the beach is lovely, but the water is often too rough for swimming, and there can be dangerous rips. Ask the locals about conditions, and keep your feet under you. No lifeguards, and not really any facilities there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerichoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a very popular weekend getaway is in the North Coast, about 1,30 hours from Port of SpainIn addition you'll find hiking trails that lead to the near waterfall. Nature is beautiful but infrastructure at the beach is rather poor

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arturito_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely relaxed feeling here - not like some of the bigger beaches nearer Port of Spain.
We visited in early August and were lucky to see baby leatherbacks hatching and scuttling down the beach. Amazing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurat114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best beach on the north coast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Be careful though, extreme hidden sandbanks where you may break your collarbone! Oops. We all loved this beach but take care in the sea, the rip rises are strong. The back drop is beautiful and there is plenty of shade.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanchisseuse Beach also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Diego Martin, Trinidad
 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 

Been to Blanchisseuse Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing