We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paria Waterfall Hike”
Review of Nature Trekking

Nature Trekking
Ranked #16 of 67 Tours in Trinidad and Tobago
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
St. Augustine, null, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paria Waterfall Hike”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Phenomenal hiking experience. I have been to Paria Falls before with another hiking group but my trip with Emile far surpassed what I previously experienced. We were able to visit a secluded beach, Murphy's Bay in addition to benefiting from Emile's wealth of knowledge of Trinidad.
This is what hiking should be!
Highly Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great trekking with Emile Serrette!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great trekking with Emile Serrette!

My husband and I had the great pleasure to hike with Emile Serrette - in addition to take us on some amazing trips - both beautiful and quite challenging - he was also a very inspiring and pleasant company. Emile is very knowledgeable and engaged in all sorts of conditions in Trinidad, which can excite the wonder and fascination of a visitor, so our tours was rewarding in many different ways. I hope soon to visit Trinidad again - and the first thing I will do is to plan some more trips with Emile!
Best regards Hanne Hulgaard and Arne Kiis

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Best Hiking Guide and Group in TT”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Whether you live in Trinidad & Tobago, or are just visiting and looking for an activity, this should be at the top of the list. Emile of Nature Trek T&T is the best guide in the country. Trinidad and Tobago is often overlooked in favor of other Caribbean islands. For some it's the crime rate and others the fact that the beaches aren't as immaculate as those in Barbados and Grenada. However, if you're a nature lover/enthusiast, hiker, or endurance athlete, then this is your destination. Emile runs the best hiking group in the country, no question. Having hiked with the other numerous hiking groups on the island (and there are many), it's my humble opinion that Emile is the best there is, and by a wide margin too. Emile schedules hikes for almost every weekend/week, and these can range from endurance hikes to scenic hikes, tours, beach walks, waterfall exploration, and more. I had the opportunity to do each of these with his group and had a blast every time. The other hiking groups/guides on the island had groups too large, were lagging on safety, and were wholly unprofessional.

Emile's groups were usually no more than 15 people, and never exceeded 30. His historical knowledge of the country is astounding. So you will get a workout and a Lonely Planet worthy synopsis of the area. Hikes included Paria Falls from Brasso Seco (13+ miles), Mayaro tour (van ride with beach walk), kayaking the Caroni Swamp, night hike to a deserted beach, and taking a tour of the islands in the Bocas (only accessible by boat, he guided a hike once the group landed). Check out the website and pick a hike/tour you want, or just go on the scheduled hike shown on the same website. You won't be disappointed. Prices are reasonable and worth it.

If you're visiting short-term, highly recommend Paria Falls and/or a Northern Range hike (Emile will arrange according to your preference and level of fitness).

The jungle hikes, waterfalls, tours (turtles, historical villages/ruins, nature reserves, etc), are amazing. Whether looking for a weekly activity, or if you're just passing thru on vacation, call Emile. You'll be glad you did. The TripAdvisor Award for Excellence speaks for itself.

Note: In terms of hiking gear, it's never overly complicated. Just follow the instructions he lays out for what you should wear. Always have insect repellant, a hat and sunglasses, sunscreen, good hiking shoes (that you don't mind getting wet and muddy), and sufficient water. Also put cell phone/wallet in watertight ziplock bag, just in case.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Trinidad and Tobago”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

An amazing place also with amazing people. Natural beaties are the main features of this place plus the low price for many things. People are just amazing. Wherever you go people say "Hi" to you, even the kids. I heard a talk that they don´t like violence and that even walking on the streets wearing camouflaged clothes is considered an insult, for example.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My best hiking experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Emile is a knowledgeable guide who obviously loves his job and the hills, rivers and valleys that make up his "office". Thanks to him our hike was fun and rewarding. I strongly recommend him and plan to go on another of his excursions sometime soon...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarverBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Trekking also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nature Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing