We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating island, great guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This belated review was a second visit to Mustique, but the first time staying actually on the island for a week instead of sailing. All correspondence with Stan prior to arrival was cordial and jolly – it emerged we had birthdays on consecutive days, so a party in the Firefly was assured!

Patrick picked us up at the tiny airfield and we made the journey of moments, just in time for a fantastic sunset viewable from the bar. We had already been told when we booked that we had the last room available, so we knew there would be no wiggle room for changing rooms if we weren't happy. No need – the Hummingbird room was exactly as it had been described. I think people do appreciate Stan and Liz's 'honesty section' of their website for what to expect. As has already been reported here, there are no doors to the bathroom, so yes it is definitely best to go with someone you already know very well.

The room was kept immaculately clean by housekeeping, and a couple of wooden easy chairs by the big windows overlooked the bay below. Although there are only a few rooms, I don't think we heard a peep out of any other rooms while we were there, so I guess there is a clever design in play. Walk in showers were great, as are the in-house fragrant smellies.

The food was OK with menus changing every 3 days-ish, only mystery was the banana shortage for some reason – virtually every day there were none available for breakfast pancakes and desserts.

When they go for it on party night, they really do – I must admit to guiltily sloping off by 10.30 on the birthday night as we were still winding into the second day of our much-needed hols – but Stan and his mates partied on! It wasn't very loud or intrusive by the way, so nothing to worry about if you are not party-minded (plenty of Abba and Beatles hits :-)

Exploring - the great selling point of the Firefly is that the electric cars are included, and we loved exploring the island. It was noticeable how much everyone looks out for each other as well – one very well-known resident of the island rocked up on a vintage motorcycle to check we were OK as we had pulled over to check a map trail, and directed us accordingly. What a very nice man.

There seemed to be one of the electric cars that was a bit 'temperamental' – which we had first, but got another one from the second day. Not sure what the problem with it is but it conks out embarrassingly on the hills!

We spent most mornings in a secluded bay with barely another soul around, and the kitchen will pack up a picnic with everything you need in a coolbox, fold up chairs etc all stashed in the back of your mule. The firefly pool is very mellow for the afternoon, with hammocks, huge double sunbeds and plenty of towels, suncreams and so on all stashed away in cubby holes down there. Just take yourselves and a good book.

Good things to know. You can get international papers on order at the bakery in Britannia Bay. The supermarket is pretty well-stocked for most things including a range of wines and spirits. The Pink House has really very beautiful stuff to wear if you've not been able to find much at home out of season. There is a brick barbecue grill down at Lagoon Bay if you want to cook fresh seafood from the fishermen, which is located by the tables and benches that you can book if you really need to. We saw a party of friends grilling split lobsters after a swim, and wished we'd had that idea!

Things we didn't do on this visit: have a meal at Basil's (only drinks), or use Ali's cafe. We also heard there was a stunningly decorated little chapel somewhere but didn't know anything else about if it was available to visit. Also want to see the Bat-Cave.

Our only niggle came at the very end – as we had booked and paid for the trip on Amex, we had no reason to believe there would be a problem settling our final bill with it. Unfortunately it seemed they had stopped taking it shortly before we arrived, so we were forced to use our British debit cards without prior warning, which could be annoying for people with a large final bill for drinks and extras.

We are heading back to the island this winter, and for the purposes of 'compare and contrast' are trying the Cotton House for this visit. It will be really interesting to see how the differences play out in things like the quality of picnics, transportation around the island, hotel dining and standard of accommodation. We'll also be attempting to set the first 'Mustique Treasure Hunt' online. Will report back in due course!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LuFrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having first visited the Firefly Plantation in Bequia, we heard a lot from "the locals" there about Mustique. All of them preferred Bequia and we understand why. In fact, I had this conversation with Patrick at the bar (fabulous guy) when we had been at the Firefly Mustique for a few days. He understood exactly what I was trying to say and we both had a good laugh about it. You can try as hard as you want to dislike the "Fantasy Island" aspects of Mustique...but it's just impossible not to fall in love with the place.
The whole island is pretty much immaculately groomed and just stunningly beautiful...a second home to many of the "rich and famous". Interestingly enough, Robin Leach (Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous) happened to be on the island and at at the bar several evenings. It couldn't have been more appropriate!
Bottom line...we just absolutely loved the place. We've traveled a lot in the Windward Islands and this is the ONLY place that even begins to rival Ladera for pure beauty. The pictures online just don't do the Firefly Mustique true justice. You have to see it for yourself.
We got up each morning, had breakfast, and went to Lagoon Beach in our little electric car the Firefly provides. Usually, for a while at least, we'd be the only ones there. We'd snorkel, get some sun, and then come back to have a few coctails and spend the afternoon by the pool...where we never saw another couple...even once. It was absolutely idyllic in just about every way possible. Six of the best days we've ever spent at any resort...I don't have enough good words to say.
We met nice people, the owner's Stan and Liz, the staff...Patrick, Arion, Natasha, Eve and even the cook...too many names to remember all of them. We met all the cats...Stan was often a fixture at the bar with Saffron sitting contentedly in his lap. And once he had it figured out, their big tomcat Mandu would be waiting for us outside after dinner. My wife had 'cat treats' with her. Dogs in Bequia...cats in Mustique...so you know.
This is a very small and very intimate place...just five rooms, none of them particularly large but all very beautifully done. However, the dining area and the bar can get a little full at times because they're small as well and the food and drinks are so good. A lot of people staying in private homes or on boats show up for dinner and drinks. But we never had a problem finding a chair in the lounge or getting seated for dinner.
I think two words best describe the Firefly Mustique...graciousness and beauty. It is the only resort on the island not owned by the Mustique Corporation. The only other business not owned by it is Basil's Bar in the harbor...well worth a visit while you're there.
One word of caution. Mustique is EXPENSIVE! Since we are neither "rich" nor "famous", we availed ourselves of the special 4 days in Bequia and 4 in Mustique (added two days here) Stan has on the website. It saved us quite a bit of money and took the aggravation of booking inter-island transportation out of the picture. We just relaxed and enjoyed the scenery.
And yes, we are already planning our next trip back to both places. We started doing it while we were on Barbados getting ready for the flight home...if that tells you anything.

Room Tip: Palm Room...most expensive but the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent 7 days at Firefly Mustique the first week of June and loved every minute of it. We were seeking to simply eat, drink, relax, and be well taken care of – and Firefly accommodated us on every level. What really makes Firefly special is the people and their commitment to making sure your stay with them is extraordinary. Stan and Liz (the owners) were wonderful hosts. All of the employees were nice, but Patrick and Arian were who we dealt with most frequently and they were truly awesome. They are genuinely great people that are fully devoted to making their guests happy.

Our room (Royal Palm) was great. It was spacious, well decorated, very clean, and conveniently located close to the pool. The pool is a beautiful infinity edge pool with areas to each side to relax in the shade or in the sun. We watched the spectacular sunsets almost every evening from the pool.

The food was also very good. This was very important to us and it exceeded our expectations. For lunch, a picnic lunch was brought to whichever beach we happened to be at, which was very cool.

Firefly provides a little golf-cart like car for guests to get around in. We spent our days chilling on different beaches – which we generally had to ourselves, with the exception of Macaroni, which might have just a few people on it. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful island, hiking, and driving around admiring the villas. Each morning after breakfast, Arian would load up a cooler full of rum punch, beers, water, and beach chairs into our car. Awesome.

We checked out Basils bar, which was very cool – good spot to watch the sunset and have drinks. We went to the Cotton House on Tuesday night for the cocktail party, which was nice. The bar at Firefly was a nice hangout too. Great atmosphere, always some cool people hanging out, and just a good place to chill. We heard from others that the snorkeling and diving were good, but we didn’t do either.

I can’t think of any negatives, but you’ll want some sunscreen and bugspray – you’re in the tropics, so obviously the sun is intense and there are mosquitos and sandflies.

Bottom line: Mustique is a beautiful island and Firefly is a special experience. The great people, fantastic food, awesome hotel, and natural beauty of the island all exceeded our high expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ouhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We arrived in Mustique after 10 days in Grenada in a hair -raising thunderstorm,scarily having to land at Union Island and Bequia first due to weather . Met by the Firefly car ,we drove the short distance to the hotel with flash floods and torrential rain . My husband and I looked at each other and grimaced . However ,on arriving at Firefly we soon forgot about the weather and after a welcoming drink were shown to our room ( Seashell ) .Stunning . With nothing better to do we started on the "Martini club " menu . These are so delicious it is easy to drink the 14 without much problem .
The sun was out the next day off we went in the mule exploring . Great beaches ,not a soul around . Basils bar for lunch , things were great . We felt like the island belonged to us .
Food at Firefly was very good . I met the lovely Liz on day 2 ,and mentioned how much I was missing cheese ,as it's hard to get in the Caribbean . Very touchingly ,a couple of nights later I was presented with a plate of several lovely cheeses (cheddar ,blue, Brie ) . and I know she must have gone to a lot of trouble to obtain them . That is what makes Firefly so special .the attention to detail that you can only get with a small hotel .
That bad review ? I don't really understand it .
Good things : bar ,staff , rooms ,pool, food ,hummingbirds ,view. Martinis. (cheese !)
Bad things : mule overheating and stopping on hills ( three times ) .Mosquitos. No tea making facility in room (we are early ,early risers ) . Loo open to the room .
All in all though a lovely ,chilled place to stay .

Room Tip: Seashell ,with private patio and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Firefly does it again. Stan and liz and the staff succeed on e again in supplying a relaxed break with great service.
We really rate this hotel. They are relaxed and helpful
We can't help ourselves, we are planning to go again next year. Roll on Stan and Liz!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I just returned from the most glorious 10 day stay at both Firefly Bequia and Mustique. First let me say that they are both different and special in their own way. I arrived on Mustique, from St Vincent, on the little jet prop 15 seater airplane. The runway is small, the airport is sort of in the middle of the island with open air ventilation. Cute. The Firefly host met me with the little Mule (small golf cart) and off we went through the cutest little island in the Caribbean to the Firefly hotel. I arrived on a Tuesday and attended a cocktail party where many locals and guests alike mingled. I spent some of my time diving at Dive Mustique and even completed my Padi certification, with, lucky for me, one on one instructions from Jan. The Firefly bar is the best bar in the world to hang out and meet people. Many locals frequent the bar and I couldnt have met nicer guests. The food was incredibly delicious, especially the seafood curry that is served in a half pineapple shell. Oh, and the pizza is world class. The staff were friendly and efficient and the bartender, Patrick, knows how to make every drink in the world. I only regret that I didnt drink enough Martinis to get the Firefly Martini shirt! Next time. The rooms are superb, tastefully decorated with views overlooking the sailboats and yachts in the bay down below. The pool and hot tub, also are only a few steps away from the room, and overlook the beautiful bay. Mustique is an experience of a lifetime and Firefly is the place to stay! I will be back. Thanks Stan, Liz and all the staff for an incredible experience....Then I was off on the Firefly speed boat, for an adventurous ride, to Firefly Bequia but you'll have to read the reviews on that hotel at that site.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribbeansoul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This place is amazing. If you are looking for quiet and relaxing...this is the place to go. Below you will see a review of some big areas I always look for when deciding where to travel:

Room and Bathroom: The rooms are extreemly clean. They are a bit on the small side, the but who really cares about what when you don't spend much time in them anyway? We stayed in the Tree House room which has an absolutely amazing view and a shower that "protrudes into the trees". Don't get too excited though about showering in the wilderness because you prettymuch always have to have the shower curtain drawn. :) Air conditioning works fabulously and the bed was extreemly comfortable. The sunsets are not to miss from the Firefly either from your room or the bar...they are simply breathtaking.

Food: Breakfast and Lunch are fantastic. Lots of variety and very good food. The dinner menu typically changes every three days and features about five entrees. If you are a picky eater, you may find yourself eating the same entree three days in a row, but for most people, it is easy to find something different each night. Everything we ate was good...but breakfast was FANTASTIC.

Beaches: Though not directly on a beach, the hotel makes up for it by providing you with an electric cart so you can travel to ANY beach on the island within minutes AND then you gain an absolutely amazing view from your room as well. The entire week we were there, we never encountered a busy beach. You always managed to feel like you were all alone...it was wonderful. Macaroni is a great place to go for boogie boarding, swimming, and amazing sand. Lagoon is supposedly great for swimming but we found there was a lot of sea grass and were hesitent to wade out there. Each beach has a personality all its own and it is wonderful that you have an electric car so you have the freedom to travel to a beach that suits your mood for the day! :)

Island: Clean, beautiful, and impressively safe. We felt more safe here than we ever have anywhere else. Perhaps because it is a private island, but none-the-less we felt at home from the moment we stepped off the plane at the beautiful carribbean airport. A word to the wise: though beautiful the island is equally expensive. Sunscreen - $40.00 ECD!!! Take what you can and prepare for a high price tag on prettymuch anything you have to buy while there. A trip to the Tobago Cays through Mustique Company was $1200...not bad if you find four other people to go with you, but for a couple...that is pretty steep.

Bottom line: Firefly is an amazing place with a staff that is fun and devoted to customer service. We always felt we were their highest priority. Patrick and Arian are employees that would make any business owner proud and honestly provided up with the best service we have had in a long time. Stan is lucky to have them. Stan and Liz (Owners) are also very personable and will make sure you have everything you need to be comfortable either before (through email) or during your trip. The trip is overall more expensive than other hotels you will find in the caribbean but just as their motto says: Not an hotel...an experience. and they are exactly right...you are not paying for your accomodations...you are paying for accomodations in Paradise...well worth the trip and price!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wintertraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustique
10.3 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
257 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
16 reviews
10.2 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
17.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Mustique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Mustique Hotel

Address: Mustique, VC0410, Mustique
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mustique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Price Range: $719 - $971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Firefly Mustique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firefly is one of the Caribbean's most exclusive boutique hotels. Perched on a hill with magnificent views of the Caribbean Sea and neighbouring islands it affords the most wonderful sunset scenes from all rooms including the dining terrace and bar lounge area. Located on the private island of Mustique it offers its guests a romantic Caribbean escape. The bar and restaurant are the chic island favourite and the place to be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Firefly Mustique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Mustique Hotel Mustique
Firefly Mustique Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing