We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY PRIVATE & LUXURIOUS”
Review of The Cotton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cotton House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If i could, i would holiday here for the rest of my life, ok i only stayed for 2 nights, butMustique just gets more beautiful over the years, the cotton house is just great place to relax & just chill,25 years i have been coming to the west indies, & yet Mustique is still so charming & untouched paradise, if you can, then you must visit this little bit of paradise, the cotton house is just a great boutique hotel , very friendly with a hint of class,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wallmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesBrouchier, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review of our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and definitely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mustique.

Once again, thank you very much!

Warm regards,

Jacques Brouchier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for The Cotton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our last experience at this hotel was fantastic and I never thought it could be repeated, but it was.
I have written a detailed report on Mustique in my blog www.travelprotales.blogspot.com but here is a shortened version.
We went early June and in the main weather was perfect except for the odd afternoon cloudburst. I am amazed how they can make a busy 'resort' feel so unique. there was a huge wedding on at the hotel which concerned us greatly but it was no trouble at all. I guess with only 17 luxury rooms and that acreage they will always be able to do so.
the beach was as beautiful as ever. it is a shame a storm a while ago stripped away much of the coral but I am glad to say the sea life is returning.
The restaurant and cafe were good. Lunch in the cafe cost us about $65 including drinks and the Veranda was it's usual fine dining. There has been some debate about variety and standards but I don't really get it. It tasted as good (if not better) than the Sandy Lane in BGI and is quite varied. People say they do not alter the menu much and I agree. The difference is the menu is unchanged but the way the food is cooked and presented does which is refreshing. People also forget there are two other choices. The 'all day menu' on display in the room is available elsewhere and there is an interesting Tapas menu next to the bar and in the lounge part of the veranda. The barbecue night is superb but it can confuse folk when they weigh your choice in front of you. a friend got quite annoyed before he was told it was not for extra charging but for cooking weight.
The hotel is beautiful and the beach idyllic and we would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone who wants understated elegance in laid back beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: To us the Sunset Room is best for veiw and sun deck. The next door Orchid is very pretty with a sepe...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Craven,

Many thanks for your detailed review regarding your repeat visit to Cotton House.

We are delighted you enjoyed this return stay and found both service and food to equal that of the larger, perhaps "posher", resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the Cotton House's laid-back gentility and charm.


Thank you again very much and warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Vacation with the rich and famous on the private island of Mustique. The service and accommodations are superb. You'll think you're a star. This boutique hotel has everything you could want in Caribbean vacation with none of the pesky beach peddlers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jefe504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Wrldtravlyr,

Thank you for your kind review.

More star treatment awaits on your next trip, we look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Delayed report as it slipped through the net somehow! I'm not sure how as it was such a good albeit short stay.

We tagged a couple of days at the Cotton House onto our wedding / honeymoon trip to Barbados. From the moment we were met at the airstrip, we were made to feel welcome.

We stayed at one of the basic cottages which quite honestly all that is needed for a short trip. For a longer stay, we may have gone for a different room.

The hotel is very traditional and offers service at a very high standard, although it was very quiet when we were there (July) I wouldn't expect it to change during the high season.

Get a golf buggy when you book so you have some transport to explore Mustique, although the map they provide isn't perfect, it's enough to follow your nose with on such a small Island. There are some very nice out of the way beaches to explore and take a picnic to.

The food was good and the overall experience has a kind of colonial charm to it. Nothing like a cold G&T on the veranda at night!

We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Jason and Sally,

Greetings from Cotton House and thank you for your review!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have just returned from another fantasic 10 day visit to the Cotton House, as hoped everything was excellent and weare really looking forward to returning again in the future, why look for somewhere else when you have found perfection? The food for dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, the daily "catch of the day" specials were superb, and the fish could not have been fresher or tastier having seen it delivered daily to the jetty from the local fisherman. The Beach cafe has a wonderful atmosphere for lunches and of course the food is excellent as well.
if you want daily entertainment and lots going on, Mustique is not for you, but if you want to get away and relax and be looked after by a fabulous team then this is the destination you have been looking for. If there is any cricket being played on the Island playing ground by the airfield drag yourself away from the beach or pool and go to watch ,it is very entertaining even if Cricket is not your thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1955Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear 1955Peter,

Sunny greetings from Cotton House and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you found the food to be of an excellent standard and that you thoroughly enjoyed Chef Erwin's nightly changing interpretation of the "Catch of the Day".

We truly look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Mustique!


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We returned for our third visit to mustique and the Cotton house and we were not disappointed. we were met at the airport with fresh cold water and then seamlessly transferred to the hotel and greeted by the ever friendly and professional GM Eleanor, with a nice cold rum punch for checking in. I am pleased to say our expectations were met and more. With a new chef and new Head Sommelier and restaurant manger Eric. There were some pleasant changes to the menu and wine list. Loved the Asian buffet Tuesdays and the wine tasting held on Mondays, the night before the owner cocktail reception. Therefor enabling you to meet the other guests and thus making the Tuesday less daunting what a great idea. We found the food extremely tasteful with plenty of specials that changed each day and a diverse wine list. I find those earlier comments about the food a somewhat harsh. Remember this is a small island not London , NY or Paris. The food is well presented and tasty with many dishes using the Caribbean, Barbadian spices , and flavours. With a whole different selection of dishes to cater or most pallets.The chefs were Also more than happy to cater for special requests too. Eleanor thank you again for your time and making our stay so memorable and also to Eric, keep up the developments and wine tastings your whit, flare and charm was so entertaining and made us feel so welcome. okay like any place there maybe a few hiccups on the service front sometimes, but we all have to learn and like all training with learning comes experience and then a more polished and finished product. The room were cleaned to perfection and turndown service immaculate, the maids extremely friendly and accommodative as ever and room service prompt and extremely efficient. We have already decided we will be back our only quandary is it this year or next. If you want to chill and recharge your batteries this is the place.

To you all thanyou so much for a very special time look forward to seeing you soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jonty13,

Thank you ever so much for your detailed review of your latest stay at Cotton House.

Our team is delighted to read your encouraging comments; these uplifting words will carry them through the rest of the season.

Thank you again very much and we look forward to your return!


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just back from our second visit to The Cotton House. This really is a happy place to be. I notice another review states the dinner menu is the same every day - not in our case, as the chef's suggestions change daily. Breakfast ( when you are provided with a water pistol to chase the birds) is really good. Lunch is taken at The Beach Bar - and my what a beautiful view - white sand and azure blue sea. Pretty bedrooms, complete with coffee and tea maker and champagne on ice on our arrival. Mules (the four wheeled variety!) are available for hire to enable you to drive round the island, and the hotel offers a complimentary taxi service. A romantic, private place to stay. The staff are helpful and friendly - the hotel itself rather colonial in style - and we would certainly go again when in need of a quiet, relaxing few days. Our return flight to and from Barbados was included in the cost - a 45 minute journey. Do make sure you understand that Mustique is a very small, quiet, perfectly manicured island, with only a couple more places to eat and drink - Basil's Bar and The Firefly - (if you can bear to tear yourself away from this lovely hotel.) Oh - and my husband said the bed was so comfortable, it was like sleeping on a big blancmange!

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful - if you are disabled, make sure you ask for one near to the main house...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Judes 111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your return visit to Cotton House.

I am delighted that you enjoyed another stay with us and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

I would be happy to share the brand of our beds with you and you are welcome to contact me at: gm@cottonhouse.net.

Many thanks once more and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.


Kind regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustique
0.7 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mustique
148 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
16 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
16.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotton House

Address: PO Box 349 | Mustique Island, Mustique
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mustique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Price Range: $698 - $2,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cotton House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton House is as intriguing as it is beautiful. Originally an 18th century sugar plantation hidden away on the private island of Mustique, Lord Glenconner gave it a new lease of life in the early 1970s blending lush tropical beauty with plantation-style elegance and creating an exclusive retreat tailormade for visiting high flyers. Today it is owned by the Mustique Company, who’ve introduced such contemporary ‘must haves’ as a designer spa and infinity-edge pool, the romantic colonial mood remains evident throughout.The resort stands on a picturesque hilltop between the tranquil Caribbean Sea and the windswept Atlantic Ocean. Just 17 charming rooms & suites provide the accommodation dotted throughout the 13 acre grounds and thoughtfully equipped with mini-bars, CD players and private terraces or balconies. Private plunge pools are exciting new additions to eleven of the rooms, whilst a new two-bedroom villa with its own swimming pool and 24 hour butler gives a taste of the island-style living. A perfect hideaway and intimate destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Cotton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cotton House Hotel Mustique
Cotton Hotel Mustique
The Cotton Hotel
The Cotton House Mustique, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing