We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lovely”
Review of The Cotton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cotton House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having now stayed on the island many times before, including at The Cotton House, my wife and I were glad to return recently for just a night before our villa was ready and friends arrived to join us.
Despite our stay being organised at the last minute and our time at the hotel being short, the lovely Eleanore and her excellent team welcomed us warmly.
This time we stayed in the simplest type of room available - a cottage room. I was pleasantly surprised at how spacious the room was - a good sized bedroom, a separate dressing area and large bathroom. There was also a very good sized outdoor space with dining table and sun loungers. I'd happily stay in one of these rooms again.
Breakfast was excellent.
During the rest of our stay on the island, we regularly visited the beach cafe, which was always very good.
This is a beautiful and wonderfully relaxing hotel. We always enjoy our time at The Cotton House and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear LondonJc,

Many thanks for your recent review of your stay at Cotton House. We are delighted you enjoyed the Cottage, I agree they are very private, cozy and well equipped.
Thank you for your kind comments about the friendly team and the food.

We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time!

Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Cotton House is as casual or as refined as you want it to be.

You can dress up in your finest or kick back at the happy hour in cut off shorts.
The atmosphere is striking,rich and memorable,you're treated like a respected, valued guest.
The staff at the Cottonhouse is worldclass, their warmth and professionalism was genuine and only added to the uniqueness of the experience.
The staff truly values your privacy and yet are still available if you need them for any request, big or small.

The food both at the beach bar and main house, was memorable and the Chef took care in presentation and flavour, I would only head off the property for drinks only or if you have an invite to a dinner party at a nearby villa.

The manager Eleonore and Michael made us feel like we've stayed there a thousand times - making us feel very welcome and we can't wait to return.

It's not a couples only resort.Cotton House is the perfect property to enjoy solo or for an elegant family reunion or guys/girls week away from your busy life.

Cotton House is a timeless place that allows you to press pause on life and enjoy those special quiet moments, that are so rare to find.

I now understand what "rejuvenated" feels like.

Leslie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Leslie,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cotton House and couldn't agree with you more: Cotton House/Mustique is as casual or refined as you want it to be.

Thank you also for mentioning that our hotel is not only great for couples but also fantastic for families or friends on a getaway...

Wishing you an excellent 2013 and hoping to welcome you back,


Kind regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a week at the Cotton House over Christmas 2012 and it was divine. Despite the indirect flights needed to make it to the island, Mustique is worth the visit. It was our first visit despite 30 years of encouraging reports and I regretted not having visited earlier. From landing in Barbados, the hotel staff were on hand to assist with immigration and transfers to Mustique. Befitting such a bespoke island, everything is personalized and we were met at the local airport after our 45 minute island hop by friendly staff and greeted at the hotel - 3 minutes away - by the delightful Eleonore, the French American general manager of the hotel.

The hotel comprises a series of Caribbean-style cottages and suites, with the Great Room - designed by Oliver Messel - with its bar and surrounding terrace restaurant serving as the center of the place. Our suite was very traditional, with a four-poster bed, one and half baths, sitting area and a terrace overlooking the gardens. Wi-fi is available throughout the property (and the island), with no need for pesky passwords. The spa and gym are excellent, with very good masseuses but book in advance as they are very popular.

The hotel beach is divine - probably the best protected on the island with clear, calm waters. There is a choice of sailboats, paddleboards and diving for th emore athletically inclined and the staff is friendly and efficient. For wilder waters, there is nearby (everything is nearby on Mustique)Macaroni Beach, with volleyball at eleven most mornings. There are also some beautiful bays for walking along although some are not swimmable due to currents.

The food at both the main restaurant and the beach were excellent with a remarkable choice for such a small island. The fish is always excellent and the rum punches are great mood enhancers! Alternatives are to be had at Basil's Bar (best for Jump-Up on Wednesdays) and at Firefly but all of this is simply variations on the the sublime.

The only downside is that when you finally have to leave, you feel as if you've been cast out of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dreddlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Dreddlox,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cotton House. We truly appreciate the extensive detail you have shared and the thorough feedback you have extended.

We are delighted you enjoyed everything the hotel and Mustique have to offer and look forward to welcoming you back for another break in the sun!

All the best for 2013 and thank you again,


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had heard of Mustique for years and were curious about it. About 15 years ago, our travel agent warned us that since we are not rock stars, British aristocrats or any other kind of celebrity, we might feel a bit "out of place" at the Cotton House, or indeed, anywhere on the island. So we went to other islands and had other experiences.

We're glad to report that in 2012, even commoners can enjoy Mustique. Perhaps in Lord Glenconner's day the travel agent's warning was accurate, but we found nothing but warmth, charm and genuine hospitality wherever we went on Mustique. The place is pricey, yes, but if you can afford to go there, and if you understand how to respect and adopt the island's laid-back gentility, you'll fit in just fine.

My husband and I spent eight blissful days at the Cotton House starting December 19, 2012. A Mustique representative met us at the Barbados airport after our flight from JFK, and from that point on we were shepherded expertly onto our SVG short flight to Mustique. I won't go into detail about the interesting Mustique airstrip and its charming tiki-hut terminal; let's just say you will be ready for a cold rum punch on the Cotton House verandah after the short trip in the resort's conveyance.

Every single Cotton House employee, from manager Eléonor, to Chandy in the dining room to the efficient and friendly beach attendants, made us feel welcome and valued. Eric Toles, the resort's new food and beverage manager, made sure to find out what kinds of wines we like and introduced us to some fine new ones, all the while keeping up a lively, entertaining banter. We give him high marks for the way the main dining room and the lovely beach café are run. Somehow, service is both efficient and laid-back, and that is not an easy combination to achieve.

The food, overall, was excellent, and we have been to enough high-end Caribbean resorts to know that high prices don't always bring high quality. We seldom went off the property for meals, and there was enough variety at the main Cotton House dining room and the beach café to keep us interested. We watched from our room's deck one morning as the day's fresh fish catch was unloaded on the hotel's pier. Sure enough, barracuda was on the menu that night, and it was delicious. In fact, the beach BBQ, with an embarrassment of succulent choices like beef tenderloin, lobster and the afore-mentioned barracuda, perfectly grilled, was one of the best meals we've had, ever.

We think we ended up with the best room, the Tower in the Coutinot House, with its gorgeous verandah off the bedroom and its sublime view of the beach below and the yachts bobbing in the crystalline waters.

The only negative we can think of is that entry into the water can be a bit troublesome right off the resort's beach, due to a strong surge and closely spaced large rocks. The easiest way to enter, for snorkeling, was to roll off the dinghy dock, and climb out later using the dock's ladder. The snorkeling wasn't terrific while we were there, because it was quite windy and a bit stormy, leaving the sand roiled up and the water murky. I'm sure we could have arranged a boat snorkeling trip elsewhere, but it was too hard to get motivated, with the lovely beach lounges, big umbrellas, and attentive beach staff just waiting to bring us a big bottle of spring water, an ice bucket, and anything else we might want. They even surreptitiously remade our lounges with fresh towels while we were at lunch. We both made huge dents in our Kindle libraries, when we weren't drowsing like pashas or lolling in the soft, warm water.

We did rent a mule for a few days and took several driving excursions around the island. Macaroni and Lagoon beaches are worth seeing, but both were too surfy for snorkeling while we were there. We walked along a rather exciting stone pathway from Lagoon Beach over to Gelliceaux Beach, hoping to find calmer waters, but Gelliceaux, too, was too wavy that day for snorkeling.

We did see a few famous faces, both on the beach and at the storied cocktail party one night at the hotel, but because we're so discreet, you won't hear the names from me! You see, we must fit in after all.......

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but we are partial to the Coutinot House rooms. We had the Tower, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skilover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Skilover53,

Thank you very much for your wonderfully detailed account of your recent stay at Cotton House.

I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Eric, Chandy, Chef Erwin and the rest of the team.

Mustique, despite its glamorous heritage, is a warm and welcoming island and I think you are spot on when you refer to its "laid-back gentility".

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to inform Trip Advisor readers of your experience at Cotton House, Mustique.


Best wishes for 2013 and kind regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent a week at the Cotton House in December 2012. It is a great place to spend a holiday. The hotel is as stylist as the rest of the island. The location is superb and the hotel's own beach is a really good one. There is also a gym which makes it easier to try and stay fit! We had breakfast and dinner every day at the hotel. Great juices made by Jason Humphries, banana bread made by Peter (he also gave me a lesson in how to make it!) , fresh fruit and fish served by attentive and endearing staff including Indira Richards and Shandy Williams. The hotel Manager, Mrs Elenore Astier-Petin was sensitive to our every need and made us hugely welcome throughout the whole of our stay. All in all, it was a high quality hotel which proved a very friendly and relaxing experience. Jane

Room Tip: The "Sunset" room has a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for your review of Cotton House. I am delighted to read this detailed account of your recent stay and always enjoy seeing our staff's names mentioned.

Jason, Indira, Shandy and Peter and the rest of the team join me in thanking you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and extend you our very best wishes for the holiday season,


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We find the winter in New York difficult, so for the last twenty five years we take at least two weeks in the Carribean. My wife and I have taken one of those weeks the week after thanksgiving, for the last 12 years. Having just returned from our seventh consecutive week at cottonhouse, our friends ask "why not someplace else?", to which we reply "when you've found perfection, why look elsewhere?"...hence the title of this review.
Yup, it is a bit of a schlep to get to...but within 10 minutes of arriving at reception, and downing your complimentary rum punch...your heart rate drops by 15, and a smile spreads on your face.
We have only stayed in Coutenout house, so I can only comment on 2 rooms...tower and sunset. The rooms are fully appointed, have spectacular views of the island and ocean, and are extraordinarily well taken care off.
With only seventeen rooms, the beach is never crowded. The reason to head this far south is that the water is wonderfully warm. We have been searching for 25 years for places to snorkel from the beach, and this is the best. Three weeks ago, in four feet of water, ten feet from land, we saw squid, an octopus, small eels, as well as a large variety of small tropicals, some of which I had never seen before. You can enter the water either from the beach or from the dock. The shallow water was somewhat rocky, so you may want to bring water shoes. The beach itself is pristine and beautiful, so if you don't want to be in the water you can relax and enjoy paradise.
The food is probably the best we have seen in the Carribean. Every morning we would watch the catch of the day being walked off the dock. We found the new chef to be even better then his predecessors - and when my wife commented that she particularly liked the tomato chutney he had the recipe for her when we left.
The staff at the cotton house has found a balance between excellent service and informality. The staff is extremely attentive and warm; they seem to really care about your experience. Thus, Eleanor, the manager, stops by every day to see how things are. The bartender knows to give me my beer in the bottle. The dining manager orders our coffee as soon as she sees my wife entering the dining area. Two years ago I asked housekeeping for a bed board, and since then it is in place when we arrive.
We spend a day or so puttering around the island with a mule. We often think we will do more, but we are so content with where we are that it is hard to make us move. The gym is well appointed - I go every day and never see any one else in it.
The day after we returned home we booked our trip for next year. In a way, that says it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harveynewyorkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Harvey,

Thank you ever so much for your kind and detailed review of your recent stay at Cotton House.
We are very proud of our team and always strive for ensuring that caring smiles reach all of our guests.

Chef Erwin and his team work hard to provide our guests with the best meals possible and they enjoy compliments as much as constructive criticism when needed, thank you for the special mention!

Sunset room and the gentle sea critters await you for your next stay as do all the friendly staff.

Thank you again and have a lovely holiday season,


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A fantastic stay at the Cotton House, the hotel staff could not have made us more welcome
, their hospitality was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the food at the hotel's restuarants we will definately be looking to return as soon as my wasteline recovers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1955Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Peter D.,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback concerning your recent visit to Cotton House.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and time in Mustique.

After recovery, we look forward to welcoming you back for more waistline damage!


Warm regards and best wishes for 2013,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustique
0.7 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#1 of 2 in Mustique
146 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
14 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
16.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotton House

Property: The Cotton House
Address: PO Box 349 | Mustique Island, Mustique
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mustique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cotton House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton House is as intriguing as it is beautiful. Originally an 18th century sugar plantation hidden away on the private island of Mustique, Lord Glenconner gave it a new lease of life in the early 1970s blending lush tropical beauty with plantation-style elegance and creating an exclusive retreat tailormade for visiting high flyers. Today it is owned by the Mustique Company, who’ve introduced such contemporary ‘must haves’ as a designer spa and infinity-edge pool, the romantic colonial mood remains evident throughout.The resort stands on a picturesque hilltop between the tranquil Caribbean Sea and the windswept Atlantic Ocean. Just 17 charming rooms & suites provide the accommodation dotted throughout the 13 acre grounds and thoughtfully equipped with mini-bars, CD players and private terraces or balconies. Private plunge pools are exciting new additions to eleven of the rooms, whilst a new two-bedroom villa with its own swimming pool and 24 hour butler gives a taste of the island-style living. A perfect hideaway and intimate destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Cotton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cotton House Hotel Mustique
Cotton Hotel Mustique
The Cotton Hotel
The Cotton House Mustique, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing