We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cozy, elegant, away from everything, missing nothing”
Review of The Cotton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cotton House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Quaint, cozy, elegant, away from everything, missing nothing”
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

A small hotel on a pretty private beach with a pool on the side of a century old sugar mill, a small spa and a cozy main house lounge to have a superb dinner and a menu ordered breakfast.
We had a Deluxe room with plunge pool with one of the most dramatically beautiful views I have ever had. The room was quaint with a comfortable sitting area, large terrace with table, chairs and sun beds. AC worked very well although WI FI intermitently.
The beach is great with water toys and has a beach reataurant for lunch and night BBQs.
It is the perfect little boutique hotel for a luxurious island as Mustique. Tranquility and sophistication is what sells Mustique and the Cotton House builders have translated that message into the cluster of buildings covering the park in which the hotel is located.
The manager is on the spot and the staff very kind and efficient.
Another world top class establishment for the discerning few. A little jewel away from it all.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Hoter,

Thank you for your kind comments which I think perfectly describe what our hotel aims for.
Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you back on Mustique!

Warm regards,

Eleonore ASTIER-PETIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our fourth year at The Cotton House.
The food is the best it has ever been. Everybody remembers us by our names (as they did the first year we were there).
This is the only vacation spot that we repeat every single year (and I hate small planes!) because it leaves us feeling the most relaxed; my daughter and husband start talking about it one month before.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustique_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food even more this time around. I shall definitely share this with the kitchen team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit!

Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

From our perception we have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Cotton House and all we can do is give the hotel and staff the most positive comments and the highest recommendation. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and the standards now are as good as ever and we certainly found the food to be of a very high standard. Given that all the food has to be shipped onto the island, the prices are not excessive and are comparable to a good restaurant in Barbados. The staff are very friendly and Eleanor the manager runs a very tight ship.

We have travelled extensively worldwide and stayed in top quality hotels and we have no hesitation in recommending the Cotton House to others. We will be returning later this year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephenlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Lister,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a true pleasure welcoming you back and the team and I look forward to your next visit. Arthur and Lenrick shall be waiting at the pool!

Again many thanks and warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay here, felt like a princess it was a special treat for us and we really enjoyed the hotel and the Mustique way of life. We were fortunate to attend the last night of the Mustique Blues Festival which was a really good experience not to be missed. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and helpful as were the room maids. The cocktail party was also lots of fun. We had massages in the spa which were excellent. Everyone we met were very friendly, I would say definately put Mustique on your bucket list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mum4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed both the hotel and Mustique.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing yet fun holiday.

Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Major dissapointment coming back. Plenty of visits at Mustique and have decided never to stay at this hotel again. The hotel is lovely but the staff cant be bothered and the overpriced food has gone downhill. Staff is lazy and cant really be bothered as this is the only hotel on the island it clearly lacks competition. However there are alternatives as you are much better off spending your $15.000 a week on a villa rental where you will get phenomenal and personal service. The crowded 4 people reception desk will simply not lift a finger to help, the beach club personell was disturbed by having to carry the $250 lunch to the sunbed and if you order anything before noon they will explain to you there are rules as they dont serve food before 12, if ordering in food to the room you will get alot of complaints about heavy trays and you almost feel guilty for having ordered and disturbed the peace. If eating at a 5 star hotel restaurant and ordering a coffee, you wouldnt expect to hear "we are out of capsules"...and even if that was the case a normal reply would be "can we offer you something else like a cup of tea..." but the service stops by being out of capsules. Same goes for ordering ice-cream or anything else they might be out of, if you dont order the specific flavour or itemn they might have in stock you will simply not get any as the DNA of people serving do not have "...can we get you anything else as we are out of vanilla ice cream..." attitude. There are some exceptions at Cottonhouse, some really lovely people that do care about the guests with a great attitude and passion like Michael, the lady serving at the breakfast and dinner, the maids but sadly the majority cant be bothered as there is little choise if you want to stay in a hotel. Climax for me was check out as i got billed for a full stay despite the stay 7 pay for 6 offer and newspapers i never received, when mentioning it i was told "we have guests that are happy to pay for all nights". For $10.000 you can rent a villa with lovely staff, food and service vs $15.000 at Cottonhouse with rude staff, poor food and a lazy service...your choise, i know mine as i will continue to come back to this lovely place for as long as i live.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mustique111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your detailed comments with us concerning your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your return stay and that we did not meet your expectations.

I have tried to contact you via Trip Advisor when the review was posted, as after inquiring with the restaurant team and specifically Michael, whom you mention and who is in charge of Food and Beverage, no such issues were reported to him (ice cream, coffee capsules and general restaurant staff attitude).
I would be most grateful if you contacted me at gm@cottonhouse.net so that a further investigation can be conducted and a proper apology can be offered.

Thank you again and best regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Mustique is a really stunning island, much more so than we'd expected. Because nearly everyone stays in villas with their own grounds and pools, the beaches are mostly very quiet ,if not deserted. Staying in the Cotton House is a relatively expensive way to stay for a week on the island, but if there are only 2 of you, then it's really one of the few options as most villas are for 6+ people. The food at the Cotton House is VERY expensive, and not, in our opinion, good enough to justify the price. There are only 2 other places to eat- Firefly ( very good, but not much choice) and Basil's Bar ( overpriced, overrated and lacking in the atmosphere that it is supposedly renowned for except on party evenings) Restaurant service at the hotel is often excrutiatingly slow... we resorted to breakfast in the room so that we could get on with other things until it arrived. But in the evenings it doesn't matter so much as there's not a lot else to do other than sit and have dinner. The beach bar is great for lunch,: it's a shame they don't use it as an alternative ( more casual) dining venue in the evening.
The rooms are very well equipped- we had a duplex suite which was perfect for us with 2 good bathrooms , but a very strange layout in terms of the dressing area/ wardrobes ( too cramped). Overall the rooms are quite small by Caribbean standards.
The gym was well equipped, and the spa good, if overpriced unless they were offering a special deal. Hiring a mule is a good idea, but ridiculously expensive!

Overall, a pleasant place to stay- a great location on the island, but just a bit disappointing given the expectations that go with Mustique.

Room Tip: Difficult- depends what you want as all rooms have upsides and downsides. The hotel website was usel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you ever so much for your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Cotton House.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and have made note of your comments regarding the food pricing. Indeed, Mustique, despite its luxury positioning, faces the same challenges that resorts in isolated and poorly supplied locations face with inconsistent and expensive distributors/local producers and sky high import duties.

Our Duplex Suites, which as you mentioned have 2 full bathrooms, one on each floor, were once actually 2 independent rooms. Fortunately, the decision to join them together into one large suite was made allowing for more spacious accommodation. I do agree with you that the wardrobe area could be expanded and this is definitely food for thought.

We have also developed a new fact sheet which will come online very shortly which is extremely detailed for each room category and shall prove very useful.

Thank you again very much for your kind and constructive feedback.


Warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a pretty island and fun to hire a 'mule' (buggie) to drive round in for the day but the island is tiny so a day is all you need. The Cotton House is very nice and we were well looked after, we had a room with a plunge pool and a sea view which was stunning. The food was good but not fantastic, breakfast was our favourite meal of the day by far. The spa wasn't as good as we expected but we have fantastic spas in the U.K so we had high expectations. One of the treatments wasn't up to scratch but after complaining they did everything they could to make sure our other treatments were great. Overall it's a great place but very expensive, we only stopped off here because it was only descent place in the area to stay on our way home from South America. You get a lot more for your money in Asia/Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerNDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoreAP, General Manager at The Cotton House, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with this valuable feedback. I clearly recall the issue you had with your first spa treatment and the timing and I am delighted that the Spa team was able to make it up to you.

If you have any specific comments about the food that you wish to share with us in order to continually improve our offerings, please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cottonhouse.net


Thank you again and warm regards,

Eleonore Astier-Petin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustique
0.7 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#1 of 2 in Mustique
146 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
14 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
16.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotton House

Property: The Cotton House
Address: PO Box 349 | Mustique Island, Mustique
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mustique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cotton House 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton House is as intriguing as it is beautiful. Originally an 18th century sugar plantation hidden away on the private island of Mustique, Lord Glenconner gave it a new lease of life in the early 1970s blending lush tropical beauty with plantation-style elegance and creating an exclusive retreat tailormade for visiting high flyers. Today it is owned by the Mustique Company, who’ve introduced such contemporary ‘must haves’ as a designer spa and infinity-edge pool, the romantic colonial mood remains evident throughout.The resort stands on a picturesque hilltop between the tranquil Caribbean Sea and the windswept Atlantic Ocean. Just 17 charming rooms & suites provide the accommodation dotted throughout the 13 acre grounds and thoughtfully equipped with mini-bars, CD players and private terraces or balconies. Private plunge pools are exciting new additions to eleven of the rooms, whilst a new two-bedroom villa with its own swimming pool and 24 hour butler gives a taste of the island-style living. A perfect hideaway and intimate destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Cotton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cotton House Hotel Mustique
Cotton Hotel Mustique
The Cotton Hotel
The Cotton House Mustique, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing