We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayaleau gets 'the Point' - Cottages connect Peace and People.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carriacou Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayaleau Point Cottages
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This past July I had the good fortune of finding Bayaleau Point Cottages, and the pleasure of absorbing its peaceful atmosphere on the island of Carriacou. My young family blossomed in the bliss that our week long stay at Bayaleau provided, and we were particularly moved by our immediate acceptance into the entire culture and Grenadian "isle of spice" life. Upon arrival, we were enthralled by the easy comraderie which followed the owner, David Goldhill, and his entire family. Upon departure, we were still surrounded by the same warmth and wanted nothing more than to begin plans for our return trip. In between, we experienced countless moments of calm in the comfortable cottages and honest care from our hosts. For example - we were inspired the entire island's launch of Bayaleau's brand new boat and the joy our personal invitation to this amazing occasion brought; we were given great guest space to meander in the sunshine at our own pace; we received spot on suggestions and ideas for everything from in-town markets to outlying islands; we were treated to tea like kin and borrowed kayaks with no bother; we were even eventually mistaken for Bayaleau family members by other islanders, which, considering our quick connection to the place, cottages, and people, seemed like a perfectly natural mistake to make. Do not make the mistake of missing out on this wonderful world in the West Indies - your stay at Bayaleau Point Cottages will stay with you for a lifetime.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank hungryjacknebbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Bayaleau Point Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Grenada for our honeymoon. As part of this, we decided to book a week in Carriacou at Bayaleau Point. We based this on the Trip Advisor reviews. It would seem that this is the first time we have been let down by Trip Advisor, as having been there I frankly cannot believe these people are talking about the same place.

So, the good points first: The cottages are pretty in a Gingerbread way- very well designed and constructed. Paradise beach is also very pretty and fairly unspoiled.

Now, to the myriad of bad points!
Although the cottages themselves are pretty, the surrounding areas are not. Some of the surrounding places resemble scorched earth and rubble is piled up everywhere. The local 'town' is full of rubbish and rotting ships The beach is itself at the accommodation is not one you would want to spend any time at, being untidy and full of jetsam. I cannot believe the review that says that people took kids here- what would they do, we wondered apart from get bored incredibly quickly? Aside from the untidy beach, there really isn't anywhere nice to sit in the sun, save for a few plastic chairs. The facilities in the actual cottages are rustic, sure, and fine enough if you like cooking equipment from the mid-1970s.

There is in short, almost nothing to do. This is fine if the areas are pretty enough for you to lie back and just relax, but sadly they're not.

Being bored beyond belief, we decided to head back to Grenada. If you want somewhere really special for your honeymoon, etc then you must go to Le Phare Bleu. They looked after us so well, and really went out on a limb. And no, I don't expect the same level of service from somewhere cheaper, but it was the little things they did to help us out.

Having decided to leave (we stayed two nights), we informed the owners, and a couple of hours later Dave popped round to settle up. Two extra charges had magically appeared, bumping our bill up by about 20%. "They're clearly marked on the website" said Dave. Having later asked where (as they are NOT on the cottage/pricing page) he pointed me to another part of the website. This left a rather sour taste in our mouth especially as Grenadian law dictates that all taxes should be included in the quoted price (from irdgrenada.com)

Dave made a point about us not paying our deposit (thankfully!)- the reason being that I refuse to handover my credit card to an unknown person in the Carribean! I said I was willing to pay by Paypal or another secure method, but he never took us up. How that is relevant to having to pay hidden fees I do not know.

What was even more amusing (now, not then) is that we had to pay a service tax! Considering we did not have a cleaner in the two nights we stayed, and that actually the fridge was fairly dirty, it seemed a bit of a joke. We were ripped off essentially.

Who would find this place suitable?
Families with kids? nope, too little to keep them amused.
Travellers on a budget? Basic in facilities, but expensive in price.
People seeking quality accommodation? Facilities aren't good enough.

So, in summary a massive disappointment and in comparison to the wonderful people and facilities of Le Phare Bleu a total rip off. Avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigDogWeeChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Secluded, quiet, charming and informal these pretty colourful cottages are for travellers who want to experience the simplicity and warmth of caribbean life without the usual tourist industry hype. The owners, David and Georgie are well-known all over the island and have lived on Carriacou for many years. They provide free use of canoes, windsurfers and provide boating trips catering to those who want to explore, snorkel, fish etc. Bus service is excellent and very cheap throughout the island so a car is not required. For those who love traditional wooden boat-building this is truly a mecca.
Utterly relaxing and highly recommended. We went there with our three young girls and they loved it too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasS-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I just returned from Carriacou and had to write a review for Bayaleau right away. My family and I (2 children ages 7 and 11) had the time of our lives while on Carriacou. We stayed in the little green cottage. I could tell from the photos on the website that it was going to be quaint, but the photos do not nearly do it justice. It is like sleeping in a clubhouse in paradise. It made me feel like a kid again on a big adventure. I loved everything from the brightly colored walls to the ladder leading to the loft bed for the kids. The whole cottage is decorated with fun and funky carribbean art. At night we slept comfortably listening to the island breeze and the rustling of the palm fronds. We kept all of our windows and doors open and it truly felt like we were living and sleeping outside. I had never taken my children on a vacation like this before and they were thoroughly enthralled by all the beautiful natural surroundings. They spent their time feeding the birds, combing the beach, telling stories, and taking photos. Not once did they mention television, phones or anything electronic. The cool showers were invigorating after a hot day in the sun. I can't say enough good things about the owner Dave his family. he was very kind to us, taking an intertest in us and our children. He took the time to find out what we would like to do while on the island and made some nice suggestions which we followed. We had the good fortune of booking a day of snorkeling on Dave's boat the Mostly Harmless. I can say that it was inequivocably the best day of all of our lives. The expedition took us out to the Tobago Cays where we snorkeled with sea turtles, marooned ourselves on a deserted island and had the most delicious lunch lovingly prepared for us by Dave's staff. Our captain Andy was kind and competent. He had an excelllent way with my children which made them feel safe and also left them feeling like they had a new friend, A trip on Mostly Harmless is an absolute must and worth every penny! Even more!!! We were very sad to leave Bayaleau, but I know that we will return, hopefully many times. It truly felt like home.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapper202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

If you really really need to get away from it all then not only is Carriacou for you - it's possibly the sleepiest island in the Caribbean - but the Bayaleau Point Cottages are the place to stay. No TV, no air con, no problem.

The cottages are small and basic but also gingerbread pretty (you can tell an artist was involved in the interiors here). While the location is fairly isolated, the local bus service is surprisingly good and the property has a little beach suitable for swimming (and the owners do serve food on request).

Of course, you are in prime Grenadines territory here and the Cottages mostly harmless boat trips can transport you to honeypots such as the Tobago Keys.

Good value and recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at Blue cottage at Bayaleau in February 2009 for 1 week as part of a 3 week family holiday to the Caribbean, with us were our 2 boys aged 2 & 4. We spent a week in Tobago & Grenada before reaching Carriacou, and it was by far the best part of our holiday! We wanted to find somewhere away from the tourist crowds, with no kids clubs, casinos fast food etc. Just a quiet place to relax as a family, swim etc. We found it!
We were made incredibly welcome during our stay, the Blue cottage was a firm favourite with our boys, our youngest wants to go back to live there!
It's possibly is not for everyone, if you want room service, air con and kids clubs - its not for you. It was meticulously clean, cooking facilities are fine but basic and showers cool - that was the only bit the boys didn't like! they preferred a bucket bath! Both Dave and Georgie are wonderful hosts, we were only sorry we never made it out on Dave's boat - next time!
Carriacou lived up to all expectations and more for us. The beaches were beautiful, and quiet! the people genuine & charming. And after a day swimming and exploring the island we could go back to the cottage, sit on the front porch, watch the kids play, then enjoy our rum as the sun went down.
I would recommend Carriacou to those wanting a break from the modern world, the rush the bustle and at times the rudeness, but if you need your modern supermarkets, fancy shops and eateries - its not for you.
For us it was just great! Only drawback was it was too short - and too long until we can go again.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank HiddenSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Dave and his team contributed towards a memorable holiday on our first visit to Carriacou. Green Cottage is well positioned and has a wonderful raised deck wit h panoramic view of the sea and islands. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with basic cooking facilities.Sleeping arrangements for 2 are fine with an effective mosquito net. If you need to use the mezzanine level for sleeping, ladder climbing skills are a necessity! Dave'sboat trips are legendary, but take care of the rum punch! We visited Saline Island and Tobago Cays and experienced magical snorkelling opportunities.
If you're looking for 5 star luxury, go elsewhere, but if you're happy with "ambient temperature showering" and competing for your toast on the deck with the local bird life, this is for you. Using the local minibuses and taxis help you to get to know the wonderfully hospitable and friendly local people. The beaches at Anse la Roche (get there before the planned development!), and Turtle Beach are premiere division and if you're reasonably fit, both are within walking distance.
We'll be back!!!!
Lis Sue and Elfed from Cymru (Wales)

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank jelfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carriacou Island
0.0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bogles Round House
Bogles Round House
#1 of 8 in Carriacou Island
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carriacou Grand View
Carriacou Grand View
#1 of 3 in Carriacou Island
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Roof Inn
Green Roof Inn
#2 of 2 in Hillsborough
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayaleau Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayaleau Point Cottages

Address: Bayaleau Point, Carriacou, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Carriacou Island
Price Range: $65 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway for the uninitiated or an ideal getaway for couples with young children. Set on the panoramic eastern most point of Windward Bay, these elegantly simple cottages are the gateway to the emerald islands of the Grenadines. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing