We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good experience”
Review of Hotel Laurena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laurena
St. George's, Grenada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Had a good experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Travelled to Carraricou for the regatta in 2012 and stayed at this hotel. It is within walking distance from the ferry terminal, about 5-10 minutes. Chose the apartment which was a good size and nice. It was clean, had a nice kitchen, microwave, fridge and two verandas (back and front). The restaurant (the Jerk Center) is not on site, but is a short distance away and right across from the beach. The food is ok, but not much variety.

Location is good as it in Hillsborough, and within walking distance are the beach, ferry terminal and bus terminal.

Service was average as there was few staff members, and they were not as attentive. Even though we had two verandas, the view was basically bushes and someone's backyard.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and if I visit Carraricou again I will definitely choose here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazy_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
8
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a huge apartment,front and back balconies. The housekeeping staff were excellent and pleasant. The Jerk Center offered great choices at reasonable prices. The food was delicious. Chef Reese granted a special request which was absolutely fabulous. Ms Newton was very helpful. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: . Rooms on third floors seems to be the best. Ask Ms Newton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was a massive appartment with back and front veranda Lounge Kitchenette and dinner large bathroom and very large bedroom a king and queen bed. A new building and excellent value for money a 2minute walk to the beach which isnt the best in carriacou but good central location with easy access to bus and taxi service a 5minute walk from the dock

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Laurena while meeting some friends from SVG and remained for the Carriacou carnival. Consequently we were offered a rate applicable for two or more days. The room was just about on a par for what we paid. The aircon worked OK but had to compete with the gap round the door. However maid service was minimal and apart from making the bed and replacing towels after four days nothing else was done. We had to ask for the floor to be swept and the trash bin remained unemptied throughout. The dining experience was a work of fiction. We ordered pork medallions from a menu given on our arrival and were served casserole sized pieces of locally butchered pork in some form of jerk finish which had as little to do with medalions as the kitchen has with its claimed fine dining. The wine we asked for didnt appear and g&ts were charged at 16ec each (approx £4). We complained to the chef who told us management knew he couldnt comply with the menu! The cost of the meal was not charged to us but we were required to pay for those hugely exhorbitant drinks. No apologies from management for the meal.
Reception is closed up overnight and there certainly doesnt appear to be any duty staff although there is a list of emergency contacts posted in the room. Problem is, on the one, non urgent, occassion we wanted to use the phone we couldnt figure it out.
Oh yes, full payment is required on arrival and 4% added for cards.
Really - dont bother

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PictureguyBequia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carriacou Island hotels

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but we did eat at the Jerk Center and the food and service were incredible! Great place for lunch!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at hotel Laurena so much when it was time to go i wish i didn't have to leave. Professional staff very courteous and accommodating, the go out of their way to ensure your comfort, splendid food at the jerk center and the hotel restaurant. The room was very comfortable my mom and I did not want to leave the room to go outside. There is a high standard of service at the hotel and i would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone especially if you are newlywed or family/friends vacationing. Thank you Hotel Laurena you made my first visit to Carriacou a memorable one, i can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triniprincess88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

A very tranquil place to retreat after a busy day.Spacious room with LCD TV make your evenings memorable in this home away from home.A meal at the nearby Jerk Centre is a must.Helpful and frindly staff complete this delightful experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparerib62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carriacou Island
21.1 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
363 reviews
38.7 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
37.4 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carriacou Grand View
Carriacou Grand View
#1 of 3 in Carriacou Island
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurena

Property: Hotel Laurena
Address: Middle Street | Hillsborough, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laurena 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Laurena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurena Hotel Carriacou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing