We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Bayside Hideaway”
Review of Bogles Round House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bogles Round House
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Secluded Bayside Hideaway”
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Overall, we loved the accommodations. Every morning we were presented with a nice spread of fruits, fresh bread, cereal and juice / coffee to dine on while we looked out onto the Caribbean from the patio area of the restaurant. We stayed in the Mango cottage which has a porch which faces Sparrow Bay and the garden area of the Round House's compound (see our pictures).

The Mango cottage was very large and came equipped with a toilet / sink area, a separate shower, a kitchenette area w/sink and then a large living room / sleeping area. The bed was nice and surrounded by a mosquito net (definitely needed it to keep the bugs out at night). There was also a day bed in the living room area. The kitchen is equipped with a small sink, refrigerator, and two burner stove. We cooked one meal there and it turned out fine. It tended to get a little warm during the day as the sun hits one side of the cottage head on. Also, it would get a bit stuffy at night, even with both fans on. The warm water on the shower was malfunctioning, so we just turned it off and showered in cold water during our stay.

The food we ate at the Round House restaurant (all breakfasts, two lunches, and one dinner) were all spectacular. Roxanne is definitely a talented chef and I think she is even has one of her employees learning under her wing. We ate Thanksgiving meal and it was great...only surpassed by my lobster tail lunch the day before we left.

As stated above, there is a nice garden area where the dogs run loose. It leads down some steps to Sparrow Bay. The weather had kicked up during our stay, so the waves were quite large. We did manage to get some swimming in though. One great thing about the Round House is its close proximity to two rum shops. You can go in and get most stuff you would want there. You can also catch the bus quite easily from the top of the driveway.

Downside to the Round House is that it is pretty secluded up in Bogles. You are close to the path to Anse la Roche beach (it will take you at least 45 minutes once you reach the goat track) and some hiking trails to the north. Be careful when walking to Anse al Roche b/c once you turn onto the goat track it is not very well marked (at least when we visited). The cottages / restaurant are about a 15-20 minute bus ride into town...even more if you are headed to Paradise Beach, since you have to change buses. The only regret about our time on Carriacou is that we were not able to get out on the water and explore nearby islands like the Tobago Cays and Union Island. Like I said previously, the weather had kicked up and made traveling on the water kind of hairy. Still, we enjoyed our time there. The staff and owners are great and we met some great people from Scotland that gave us some good information for future visits to Carriacou.

If you aren't staying at the Round House you should at least visit for dinner or lunch one night. The food should not be missed.

  • Liked — wonderful staff and delicious food
  • Disliked — the effort to go to town / other locations
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj7643a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2009

NOW PLEASE DONT GET UPSET WITH ME CARRIACOU.........
But the Round House is the best thing in Carriacou of course next to the beaches. Being on vacation and just knowing that your waking up in a peice of historic history,is just I mean come on now thats just a BONUS. Another great thing is that you're treated with 5 star hosptality from the time you enter to the time you leave. As well and pay close attention now cause this is the most IMPORTANT part ......IT'S ACTUALLY AFFORDABLE . But trust me, you will see for yourself all you have to do is go.

P.s DID I MENTION IT'S 5 MIN FROM THE BEACH!! (if that)

ALUNA REYNOLDS

  • Liked — PEOPLE
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JONAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Fantastic food, lovely cottages - very simple but with everything you need! Don't bother to dine anywhere else as they made the best food on the whole island and far to superior to any meals we had on Grenada too.

They had a lovely fisherman who stored his boat at the end of the garden next to the sea- he was a good friend of theirs. He took us out on his small boat to any island we wanted to visit! He was a lovely gentle guy - took my husband spear fishing and dropped us off on a romantic sand bar with solitary sunshade and returned for us. Also took us to Tabago Quays. Cooked us a BBQ of fish he had caught with a spear. Such a great experience and so great to get to see the best parts of the island that he knew. We ended up asking him to take us out every day as it was such an adventure and nothing we would have ever experienced had we done a boring old package holiday!

Lovely dogs that are very friendly and interested in what you are up to!

Not the best beach on the bottom of the garden, much better elsewhere on the island but great for a quick dip when you are a bit over heated.

There was no air conditioning but cottages were quite cool and if you kept the ceiling fan and other fan going they kept most of the mozzies out.

This location was the best part of our honeymoon by far. Lovely continental breakkfast was laid out every morning on some picnic benches outside - with everything you needed.

Could not recommend this place or the owners highly enough! I would love o go back one day.

  • Liked — The food and simple but great accomodation
  • Disliked — A 15 min taxi ride from the town but that didn't matter
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allimacWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Have finally written a review of the Round House - we stayed here earlier this year in July and again this October. The cottages are simply decorated but really cute inside. The restaurant is fantastic - Rox's cooking is sublime. As elsewhere on Carriacou, don't expect something really luxurious but if you're looking for somewhere completely peaceful and happy with simple accommodation, you will be fine here. There is a small beach at the bottom of the garden but you can easily get a water taxi to Anse La Roche (a gorgeous beach which you're likely enough to have entirely to yourself).

We have stayed in both Plum and Lime. As noted by previous posts, the accommodation in Lime is on the second floor but it's good to have it that way in that you get a nice breeze through the cottage. It also has a better view from the verandah. Mango looks to be the nicest though in that it's set furthest forward in the garden.

Hoping to go back to Carriacou sometime and would definitely want to go back here.

  • Liked — Wonderful food, delightful cottage
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verano_azul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My wife and I had a lovely stay at bogels round house for our 3 week honeymoon. The cottage was clean and tidy and very spacious. Our hosts Roxanne and Phil where pleasant and very helpful. Roxanne's food is very good. She is a talented chef who has flair and creativity in all her dishes.

The cottage was located in a quite part of the island which suited us fine. Local taxi's and buses into town where regular. The islands people are friendly and welcoming. I would recommend Carriacou and Bogels Roundhouse to anyone who wants a quite and relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — The view from the breakfast table each morning
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diveninja21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I stayed in the Lime Cottage for three nights in June and only wish that I had stayed in Carriacou longer! The cottage itself was very nice- not fancy but more than adequate and clean. Lime cottage has plenty of room for a family and was just perfect for me and my friend. The beds were very confortable with romantic mosquito netting and fresh flowers everywhere. We didn't need the mosquito netting as bugs were NO problem at all. The fans were adequate and there was a nice breeze as well. Lime had a nice porch to sit on there were plenty of other places to sit and enjoy a meal, a drink or a chat. The beach is right there and you could hear the sea. Roxanne and Phil were excellant hosts and Stephanie kept the cottage very clean. Tom and Albert were great walking buddies gave the place that extra sense of security. Roxanne's cooking was simply amazing!
Great cottage, great location, wonderful local flavor and right on the beach! simply wonderful!

  • Liked — The staff and the location!
  • Disliked — I loved it all!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pennyless75002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Finally writing a review of this wonderful b & b our family of four (two adults, two boys ages 6 and 8) loved.
Bogles Round House is a very small establishment (only three cottages). We spent a week in Lime cottage, the only one that can sleep four. The photos on the website are a little misleading as the place you stay in Lime is on the second floor (the first floor is storage/laundry and is used by the staff).
All the same, there were three little bedrooms (my kids loved having their own sleeping areas) plus a kitchen and a tiny bathroom with shower. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the garden every day, swam at the little beach adjoining the hotel and ate a few fabulous dinners at the Round House.
It was easy to take public minibuses into Hillsborough to get groceries and my husband and I walked into town, as well. We did rent a car for a couple of days to explore parts of the island we couldn't get to with public transportation and we also took a water taxi to Anse La Roche, a Caribbean beach as idyllic as you could ever imagine.
Just like Carriacou, itself, the accommodations at Bogles Round House are very simple. There were some minor problems in our cottage such as lamps that didn't work. The fridge didn't work until we defrosted it ourselves and, perhaps most unusual, the water tank that supplied our cabin had rusted through on top so twigs and leaves got into it and had partially plugged all of the faucets. Because the owners were away, my husband cleaned out the faucets himself. Needless to say, we boiled the water before we drank it.
When we stayed there, the current owners had not been there too long; those kinds of problems may be fixed by now. They really didn't bother us, though. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a nice breeze blowing through, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bogles Round House, like all of Carriacou, felt very safe. My kids could play with the dogs, explore the garden and go down to the beach by themselves for a short time without us worrying about them. By Caribbean standards, the price of Bogles Round House is very reasonable, too.
If you expect a lot of amenities or a resort-type experience you'll hate Bogles Round House and, for that matter, Carriacou. Our family thought it was one of the most special places we've ever been. It's very hard to get to from Colorado, but we talk about it often and hope to be able to get back someday.

  • Liked — Simple comfortable cottage, friendly staff, close to beaches
  • Disliked — Twigs and leaves in water system
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carriacou Island
2.1 mi away
Hotel Laurena
Hotel Laurena
#3 of 3 in Carriacou Island
33 reviews
23.2 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
363 reviews
7.3 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.6 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carriacou Grand View
Carriacou Grand View
#1 of 3 in Carriacou Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogles Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogles Round House

Property: Bogles Round House
Address: Bogles, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bogles Round House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bogles Round House Cottages & Restaurant, situated in the quiet village of Bogles, on Carriacou. All our cottages are self contained and just 60ft from the beach. On site (in the Round House itself) is our restaurant featuring our award winning chef Roxanne Russell, recently crowned "Grenada Chef of the year 2006/7". Come and enjoy great hospitality & food in a truly unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bogles Round House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogles Round House Cottages Hotel Carriacou Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing