We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Carriacou Grand View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriacou Grand View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriacou Grand View
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the Carriacou Grand View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

What a gem. Shirley and Earl made us feel right at home. Clean, comfortable and wonderful staff. Kids loved the pool after a long day at the beach.
\had breakfast by the pool every morning. The only word I can think of to describe the Grand View is "lovely".
Shirley, Earl, Zita and Loriann could not have been more helpful. They even charged our electronics for us every evening.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank darlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Carriacou cannot be defined by words. Grandview has a view of the island at its best room was very clean and spacious. Food was cooked on personal basis and I chose the time. This hotel has left me with excellent memories. They arranged for me renting a scooter and scuba diving gear. I strongly recommend it to choosy travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ethnicjournalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

My career as a marine biologist has taken me to many islands. But when it comes to vacation, my number one choice is none but Carriacou.
This last time in December 2009, I found this hotel.
The view from my balcony was breathtaking. Shirley, the owner, treats the guests like family. The rooms were quite clean, the food was delicious. They can arrange for some of the world's best diving sites. This sweet hotel is my number one choice in the world. You can call me for more info [--]
Hutan Golsokhi

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethnicjournalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed in the Grand view for 6 nights Shirley and Zita could not have been more helpful, Truely lovely people. The room we had booked was a little small and we asked if there was anything a little bigger we were shown a couple of rooms and had a smashing appartment with great views and a couple of Balconies to use, all for just a little more on the room rate. The Island is very quiet and there were very few people staying but we ate at the Hotel a couple of evenings and Shirley sorted us out a very nice traditional meal both times.
Air con worked well in the room and it was generally well equiped. We also cooked in as we had the appartment a couple of times and that was also fine we had all we needed.
The Island is full of warm friendly people and it has a relaxed and non threatening feel to it. The Hotel is about 0.75 of a mile up a steep hill from the town its about ten mins to walk down 20 back up.
In Summary a good value hotel with pleasant rooms and a fair price, The people were great thanks to Shirley and Zita for a lovely stay. Would recommend if on the island.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Our room was very disappointing. Top floor, overlooking someone's patch of land with goats and children running around. Airconditioning either freezing or not on.

Pool area perfectly nice but no one used it so you felt kind of concious to lounge by the pool.

The hostess was creepy. Food was traditional but not very appetising and as we were the only guests apart from another couple eating in the restaurant was a painful silent experience!! We were booked in for a week but after a couple of days we went to the tourist information office and found out about another place - Bogles Round House and cottages. Took a taxi there instead and never looked back!

View was great but was quite a long way from the town. A 20 minute walk and the heat made it tough. Taxi's saw us coming a mile off and charged over the odds. Make sure you jump on the small mini buses and share with others as it saves you lots.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank allimacWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

The Grand View Hotel in Carriacou is a gem in the town of Hillsboro. Shirley, the owner, is wonderful and attends to your needs. Her staff is friendly and very attentive. Especially Zita, who works the afternoon and evenings.

This is the only hotel on the island that has a pool. The rooms/apartments have all the basic needs for a great holiday. The restaurant is very good as well.

Do plan your holiday at the Grand View. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RSJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

After arriving in Carriacou on the Osprey Ferry from Grenada we took a cab to the Grandview Hotel hoping to get a room. We did not book ahead as we knew the season was slowing down. Turns out we arrived on one of their national holidays, Whit Monday, and the island was a little busier than normal so we were then concerned with getting an available room. Shirley, the owner, was able to hook us up with one room with air and one without. (We are two couples traveling together.) My husband and I took the room with no air. Our room consisted of a small kitchenette, sitting area, separate bedroom with t.v. and ensuite. The bedroom had two big windows and we were able to open both and let the wind blow through. It was very very windy as the Grandview Hotel sits high on a hill. It was so breezy that through the night we had to close the windows abit. Unfortunatley, with the windows open we could hear the neighbourhood animals all night long. I swear the roosters start at about 1 a.m.!!! and go all night long. Between them, the donkeys and all the dogs we did not get the best sleep.
The owner, Shirley and her husband were most helpful with all our needs. She was able to rent us a vehicle after we were told that there were no vehicles available for hire from an agency in Hillsborough. Our group of four are currently on the search for the perfect beach so when we told Shirley that we wanted to find beaches they gave us a map and pointed us to several good choices. After touring abit around the island we ended up at Paradise Beach which was very nice. As it was a holiday, we found the beaches fairly busy with all local people. We only saw a handful of tourists on the beaches and for that matter, on the island itself. Paradise Beach was a lovely half moon cresent with pretty white soft sand. The water was calm, warm and crystal clear. This beach is definitley high on my "perfect beach" list. As for the rest of the island there is not much else to do but I must say that if you are into beaches it may be worth a stop.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — noisy neighbourhood
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carriacou Island
37.8 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
38.0 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
38.1 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laurena
Hotel Laurena
#3 of 3 in Carriacou Island
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
29.7 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriacou Grand View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriacou Grand View

Property: Carriacou Grand View
Address: Beausejour | Carriacou, Grenada W.I, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriacou Grand View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carriacou Grand View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriacou Grand View Hotel Carriacou Island
Grand View Hotel Carriacou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing