We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Diving!”
Review of Dive Carriacou

Dive Carriacou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: approach centered around the needs and requirements of their guests and students, with a vision of offering the "Best diving available, with the best services and the highest safety standards".
Reviewed September 11, 2017

We are regular visitors to Carriacou, and we went there in mid August for three days of diving and to relax. At Arawak Diving we joined Alex and Gary and the team who also run Deefer Diving and who have taken over Arawak. As always, the many dive sites were teeming with life and the reefs were pristine. Everything is quiet in Carriacou at this time of year, so the dive boat was not crowded, and we had excellent personal attention and the privilege of a dive guide for just the two of us on all six dives. And our gear was beautifully cared for, carried to and from the boat for us, so all we had to focus on was the dives themselves. Both Rob and Alex were, as always, excellent dive guides, drifting slowly through the magnificent underwater landscape on long relaxing gentle drift dives, stopping to point out some of the more interesting creatures they found, and waiting patiently when I took photographs. Alongside the Rose wreck we found an abundance of stingrays, and at Sea View we found an octopus out in the open. We encountered a number of nurse sharks lying passively under rock ledges, and several squids, including a mating pair displaying beautiful colours, as well as a spectacular shoal of southern sennets. A great team in a great diving location!

Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Thank you for the great review Tim. We're thrilled that you tried our new Arawak experience and found it to be as good as your experiences with our team at Deefer has always been. We've found a great balance of youth and experience within our team, and the young guns are ever so helpful and bright.

We're always looking forward to you and Vlasta returning to the island, where we can show you some more of what we have to offer.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"new owners"
in 2 reviews
"trip planning"
in 2 reviews
"diving experience"
in 3 reviews
"coral gardens"
in 2 reviews
"personal attention"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable experience"
in 2 reviews
"octopus"
in 2 reviews
"top notch"
in 2 reviews
"great diving"
in 2 reviews
"lion fish"
in 3 reviews
"tyrell bay"
in 2 reviews
"sandy island"
in 2 reviews
"pete"
in 7 reviews
"arawak"
in 12 reviews
"shannon"
in 5 reviews
"wreck"
in 3 reviews
"sharks"
in 4 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2017

I've come to Carriacou a few times over the years and used to dive with George at Arawak. I came back this year to hear that he has passed away and that a new new team were here (not the new team that took over from George, but a new new team). What can I say, Alex and Rob were amazing and they really looked after me. Alex is incredibly patient and really knows her stuff. Rob was funny and a great host too. You made me feel warmly welcome and I shall be coming back again.

Thank philmccavity2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Phil, Thanks for the great review (love the username!). Glad we were able to show off the new operation to you and get you to meet the new team. We're working hard to blend a mixture of youthful enthusiasm with the methods adopted by Deefer Diving to provide a new option in Tyrrel Bay. We're glad that you had the opportunity to experience it and approve (that means a lot to us).

Looking forward to seeing you back here early next year ;)

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Great day with Alex and the gang!
Lovely dive and great crew.

They were thoroughly helpful, friendly and professional from the first telephone call to the offer of sending through photos from our dive.

Would definitely recommend.

Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Justine,

Thank you for your feedback and appreciation of the service offered by Alex and the team here at Arawak. It's always great to hear/read feedback and we shall continue to strive to offer the same high standard of service when you come back....

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

My husband and I spent a week on the island of Carriacou in June 2017, and loved every minute! Arawak Divers gave us individual attention, working with us to refresh our scuba skills, monitoring our dives to help us with buoyancy control, and helping us feel safe and comfortable in the water. They took us to amazingly healthy reefs, and got excited with us when we saw awesome things like eels, rays, nudibranchs and thousands of colorful fish. When we got back to shore, they poured over books with us to help us learn more details about the things we had seen. All of their equipment was in excellent shape, and they let us do as much or as little as we wanted to help with the equipment set up and clean up. The staff helped us with our trip planning ahead of time, and while we were there, they gave us tips on restaurants, bus travel, and local customs as well. The bakery truck stopped by the shop every day on their rounds about town, and we purchased fresh, local breads and pastries, too! When we got back home, there was an email in my inbox with a fantastic video of our dives waiting for us! We will definitely be going back to Carriacou and diving with Arawak!

Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Victoria,

Thank you for the amazing feedback and thanks also for choosing to dive with us at Arawak Divers. We love the diving here in Carriacou, with its vibrant colours and fish life and we get no greater pleasure that to share it with new people coming to the island.

We also take great care with our equipment, ensuring that its in the best shape it can be, replacing it before it starts to look worn and tired. I'm pleased that you noticed and commented as it is something of a personal standard that the team here are adopting.

We look forward to having you both back here again... soon?

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

First some history, I dove the waters of Carriacou in the late '70's while having the pleasure of going to school there. Flash forward 39 years and I dove the same waters with Arawak in March 2017.

They accommodated my son Inlaw, a good friend and myself, open water divers of varying experience and more importantly they accommodated three of my brothers children, my brother, and my wife, neophytes who signed up for their discover scuba diving. We represented quite a cross section of diving experience in one group.

The open water divers requested a lionfish hunt. We were a large group and we felt this was an excellent opportunity to do some of the most scenic diving in the Caribbean, while helping remove an invasive species from the reef and let the larger group experience one of the most succulent fresh fish you can eat today.

We had two amazing dives led by competent and experienced dive masters who delivered the goods. I love diving in Carriacou, I love it even more when diving with people who are at one with their environment and know exactly where to take you.

The most thrilling part was watching these same dive masters patiently work with my nephews and niece, and my brother and wife as they experienced scuba diving for the first time. The kids were naturals and have been bitten, same for my brother and wife. They created a first experience that forever changed them and for that I am in their debt. Arawak and the team that work their, took that diverse group with varied experience and created unique and memorable dive memories for each of us.

We will be spending Christmas 2017 in Carriacou because of it and look forward to what the team at Arawak have in store for us!

I highly recommend this dive shop.

Thank skotyck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the great feedback on your experience back in Carriacou and your first experience with our new Arawak Divers. We're thrilled with the balance of experience and youth that we have brought into the team, and the patience and diligence Rob and Raquel are able to demonstrate when they're diving with new divers. We were thrilled with your niece and nephews initial reaction after the dives... "WOW" works everytime for me!

Can't want to see you and the family back here again in December.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Carriacou also viewed

Hillsborough, Carriacou Island
Grand Anse, South Coast
 
Carriacou Island, Grenada
Hillsborough, Carriacou Island
 

Been to Dive Carriacou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing