We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent dive operation!

We dived 2 days with them. They pick us up on our boat in the bay. Good equipment, on time, good... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2019
Marie-France D
,
Quebec City, Canada
Super friendly service and top notch diving

Mike, Rhi, Andre and Darryl are brilliant at what they do and can't do enough to help. The... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2018
ProDive U
,
Grenada
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
35
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish rays equipment boat bay school
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I've come to Carriacou a few times over the years and used to dive with George at Arawak. I came back this year to hear that he has passed away and that a new new team were here (not the new team that took over from George, but a new new team). What can I say, Alex and Rob were amazing and they really looked after me. Alex is incredibly patient and really knows her stuff. Rob was funny and a great host too. You made me feel warmly welcome and I shall be coming back again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank philmccavity2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Phil, Thanks for the great review (love the username!). Glad we were able to show off the new operation to you and get you to meet the new team. We're working hard to blend a mixture of youthful enthusiasm with the methods adopted by Deefer Diving to provide a new option in Tyrrel Bay. We're glad that you had the opportunity to experience it and approve (that means a lot to us).

Looking forward to seeing you back here early next year ;)

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Great day with Alex and the gang!
Lovely dive and great crew.

They were thoroughly helpful, friendly and professional from the first telephone call to the offer of sending through photos from our dive.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Justine,

Thank you for your feedback and appreciation of the service offered by Alex and the team here at Arawak. It's always great to hear/read feedback and we shall continue to strive to offer the same high standard of service when you come back....

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

My husband and I spent a week on the island of Carriacou in June 2017, and loved every minute! Arawak Divers gave us individual attention, working with us to refresh our scuba skills, monitoring our dives to help us with buoyancy control, and helping us feel safe and comfortable in the water. They took us to amazingly healthy reefs, and got excited with us when we saw awesome things like eels, rays, nudibranchs and thousands of colorful fish. When we got back to shore, they poured over books with us to help us learn more details about the things we had seen. All of their equipment was in excellent shape, and they let us do as much or as little as we wanted to help with the equipment set up and clean up. The staff helped us with our trip planning ahead of time, and while we were there, they gave us tips on restaurants, bus travel, and local customs as well. The bakery truck stopped by the shop every day on their rounds about town, and we purchased fresh, local breads and pastries, too! When we got back home, there was an email in my inbox with a fantastic video of our dives waiting for us! We will definitely be going back to Carriacou and diving with Arawak!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 559victoriaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Victoria,

Thank you for the amazing feedback and thanks also for choosing to dive with us at Arawak Divers. We love the diving here in Carriacou, with its vibrant colours and fish life and we get no greater pleasure that to share it with new people coming to the island.

We also take great care with our equipment, ensuring that its in the best shape it can be, replacing it before it starts to look worn and tired. I'm pleased that you noticed and commented as it is something of a personal standard that the team here are adopting.

We look forward to having you both back here again... soon?

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

First some history, I dove the waters of Carriacou in the late '70's while having the pleasure of going to school there. Flash forward 39 years and I dove the same waters with Arawak in March 2017.

They accommodated my son Inlaw, a good friend and myself, open water divers of varying experience and more importantly they accommodated three of my brothers children, my brother, and my wife, neophytes who signed up for their discover scuba diving. We represented quite a cross section of diving experience in one group.

The open water divers requested a lionfish hunt. We were a large group and we felt this was an excellent opportunity to do some of the most scenic diving in the Caribbean, while helping remove an invasive species from the reef and let the larger group experience one of the most succulent fresh fish you can eat today.

We had two amazing dives led by competent and experienced dive masters who delivered the goods. I love diving in Carriacou, I love it even more when diving with people who are at one with their environment and know exactly where to take you.

The most thrilling part was watching these same dive masters patiently work with my nephews and niece, and my brother and wife as they experienced scuba diving for the first time. The kids were naturals and have been bitten, same for my brother and wife. They created a first experience that forever changed them and for that I am in their debt. Arawak and the team that work their, took that diverse group with varied experience and created unique and memorable dive memories for each of us.

We will be spending Christmas 2017 in Carriacou because of it and look forward to what the team at Arawak have in store for us!

I highly recommend this dive shop.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank skotyck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2017

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the great feedback on your experience back in Carriacou and your first experience with our new Arawak Divers. We're thrilled with the balance of experience and youth that we have brought into the team, and the patience and diligence Rob and Raquel are able to demonstrate when they're diving with new divers. We were thrilled with your niece and nephews initial reaction after the dives... "WOW" works everytime for me!

Can't want to see you and the family back here again in December.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

Arawak Divers was a great choice for our annual men's scuba vacation. New owners Pete and Shannon provided us great advice and assistance, beginning with trip planning, then made sure our group of 5 had terrific dive experiences during our week of diving with them.

Pete is an experienced divemaster and he led many of our dives. His team of dive instructors and boat captains were all friendly, knowledgeable, and of course, safety conscious. Carriacou has many world-class sites; unfortunately, our trip timing coincided with an unusual early mid-Atlantic storm that impacted the normally great under-water visibility. Pete adapted our plan daily so our dives were still spectacular despite the limited Vis. I particularly enjoyed our night dives!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews