We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserted island snorkelling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Island

Sandy Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,352.13*
and up
7-Day Catamaran Sailing Cruise to the Tobago Cays and the Grenadines
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small beach island known for its snorkeling.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Deserted island snorkelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We went via Joy's water taxi from the Hardwood bar on paradise beach & rented snorkel gear there too. The best time to go is early morning before too crowded & too hot as no shade. We had the whole island to ourselves most of the time. The snorkelling is very good but beware of the currents as very deserted. Take an umbrella for shade as there is none & drinks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Curtis, who owns Off the Hook Bar on Paradise Beach, took me to Sandy Island in his boat and rented me snorkeling gear for a very reasonable fee. I went on a Wednesday morning and stayed for about 3 hours. It is absolutely pristine, and you may be the only person there! The water is clear and warm, and I saw a wide variety of fish. Be sure to bring water and food and sunscreen, as there are no amenities or services on the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Soprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent two hours here snorkeling and enjoying the beach, it was wonderful, the snorkeling was even better than I expected it to be, definitely a must do! We grabbed a water taxi at Paradise for 35 EC, round trip, each, it is just a 5-minute ride so very quick!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lwodraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crab City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Sandy island is a short hop across the sea from Paradise Beach and well worth the trip if you like snorkelling. We took a picnic and were quickly joined by a family of crabs who then invited the whole neighbourhood. They only wanted a few crumbs and it was fascinating watching them all, pretty harmless and once we moved away from shade they stayed put. The beach is one long stretch of white sand and for a while we had it to ourselves. Quite a few boats moor up there for a while and there is little shade so people tend not to stay for too long. Take an umbrella for the shade which doubles up for the rain if there's a short and sweet downpour which happens a lot in the Caribbean.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderwoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wunderful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wunderful and peacefull desert islant near Carriacou. It's easy to find someone who will bring you there by boat and you ash him to comeback when you thant. Bring a snorkeling kit !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olinadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Island also viewed

South Coast, Saint George Parish
Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Sandy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing