We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oyster Shell Paradise on the Beach”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carriacou Island, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jhsbj327...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Oyster Shell Paradise on the Beach”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stayed at the Oyster Shell, on the island of Carriacou very beautiful location, quiet and beach is at your doorstep. Locals are very nice and friendly. Oyster Shell is that pearl of Carriacou, so I would highly recommend anyone visiting to stay at the Oyster Shell.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell R
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
7
people found this review helpful

There are loads of cliche quotes I could use about this holiday, so I will be to the point.

John Gabriel who owns this property is charm personified, he was there to meet us at the ferry port in Hillsborough and took us to the apartment.

Fully equipped with all appliances you could wish for, the apartment is so well designed using space so cleverly.

Tyrell bay is a beautiful area, sea is warm as you would expect - people are friendly and will always say hello or wave, if you want a busy night life - sorry you will be disappointed.

From the first day to the last my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

We have stayed on a lot of Caribbean islands and this is the safest we have felt.

You must try the eggs & Chicken sold at the property, also supermarkets are local for other necessities, also try the local produce from Rufus & Venus - just a point to note please do not be concerned if you see the Police around the property they are only collecting their eggs as a lot of people do during the day.

John is so well know on Carriacou as Baba, and you will see him around the area most days.

He kindly took us out to see around the island to some interesting places, you can get around easily by bus (number 10 & 11) - there is an ATM at the supermarket which is a couple of minutes away.

I could go on and on about the great holiday you will have if you choose to book this apartment.

One final point the island has 2 seasons Jan to June (dry) & July (wet) to December (wet) if it does rain in the dry season as it did for us it lasts a few minutes and the sun comes out again - our time was hot hot hot.

On a personal note: Thanks John (Baba) for a great holiday a real pleasure to meet you, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your wife. Lovely people! Likewise, I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspire67...
1 review
“Amazing location and a comfortable space”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Amazing location on the beach, surrounded by lots of local shops, dive spot and restaurants. Space was clean, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchen. Very nice and helpful owner. Recommended to anyone new to the island

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieLou...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Island paradise”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This simple accommodation has all you need for a relaxed stay on this beautiful, friendly island. The apartment is excellently located for the bars, restaurants and shops on offer in Tyrell Bay and the sea is on your doorstep for a cooling swim in turquoise waters. Sunsets can be viewed every night from the balcony as you sip your sundowner! Don't expect bright lights, fancy restaurants or a wide variety of water sports - if that is what you want then stay on Grenada. But a stay on Carriacou will give you a taste of the real Caribbean with some of the friendliest people you could wish to meet. Enjoy hunting around the local supermarkets to collect ingredients you need to self cater - eggs and chickens are available immediately behind the apartment. If you fancy a treat I can thoroughly recommend Bogles Roundhouse for a lovely meal - if you do not have your own transport you can get a taxi over to it. Local buses pass by regularly to take you into Hillsborough. For local life and and a laugh go down to Levi's (next to the Lambi Queen) but be very wary of the Jack Iron if you want to remember your evening!! Oh and keep an eye out for the fire flies which sparkle in the trees. A truly wonderful and unique place - we will be back.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGro...
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You won't want to leave.”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

While the photos might show this place as a little basic, what it lacks in a few amenities it more than makes up for in location.
There is everything you need for self catering and we cooked many times during our three weeks here.
The views from the balcony, with a free spectacular sunset almost every night, are truly wonderful.
Everyone who passes, or infrequently arrives to buy eggs or frozen chickens from the small business behind will wave and say hello to you if you are sitting out on the balcony.
The enticing sea just across the very quiet road is a lovely to swim in as it looks.
So if you fancy a slice a island life and to unwind in a stress free way this will be perfect for you and very hard to beat for good value.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views from the balcony
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing