We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Thursday evening buffet”
Review of Frangipani

Ranked #24 of 41 Restaurants in Bequia
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skip the Thursday evening buffet”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Certainly not worth the money. Buffet was dull, steak overcooked and the fish dry and equally overcooked.
You should be able to find much better value for money on the Island anywhere else...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micheld07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    47
    19
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jump up night very disappointing”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here for the infamous Thursday night BBQ and steel band- think it is hugely overrated and we were very disappointed. The salad bar was ok but then we waited ages for an overcooked, mediocre steak whilst the other two in our group then waited for their fish which actually was very good. Deserts ok but catering to the many Americans there with cheesecake and stodgy crime caramel. The steel band were worse than average and not even the real thing compared to bands in Tobago. Overall very overpriced and we had found so much better on Bequia.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank White144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Past glories fading”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The famed Thursday jump-up is a shadow of ten years ago, and the diminished crowds reflect that. Eating here is pricey and undistinguished. Some great rum-based drinks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thursday night for the Jump up - great food too!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Amazing buffet! Star quality stuff. Steel band creates an unique atmosphere. Friendly staff too - we had a top class night. Will definitely be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rude, lazy staff so didn't bother eating”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a recommendation from friends for Sunday lunch (yesterday). After waiting fifteen minutes to be served, we went up to get some menus. The lady didn't even bother to look up from her magazine, and just pointed in the direction of the pile of menus. We also asked if there was a wifi we could use, at which point she sighed and said we could try (still not looking up from her magazine). In the end, we thought it best to review such poor service by walking straight out. After, we went to Da Bistro a bit further down. Food was great there, and we actually had service with a smile!

Helpful?
1 Thank Delfieldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangipani also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing