We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite on Bequia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Reef Cafe

Sugar Reef Cafe
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Bequia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sugar Reef Cafe serves casual Caribbean fare at our elegant beach house. Open daily for lunch and dinner from noon until 9 p.m. Our all-day menu includes soups, salads, burgers, and grilled fish made from fresh, organic, local ingredients. Favorites include lobster and fish roti, callaloo soup, and key lime pie.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our favourite on Bequia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had two meals at this amazing restaurant during our trip, which was at the start of the low season. The first was timed deliberately to catch the sunset, as the beach faces the western sky and the sights at the end of a clear day are all you could dream of on a Caribbean island. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Emmett, who showed us around the hotel areas as well (the bedrooms facing the beach are incredible, what every beach hideaway should be). Other reviews comment on the decor and style of the interior and the lounge areas alongside - they are spot on.

The food, drinks and service were excellent on both occasions. Good, honest food, nothing pretentious at all (which we found to be the case at all restaurants during our stay). Relaxed and informal dining at its best. The menu changes but was kept deliberately short so as to offer local produce, in season and very fresh. We drove from our rented villa from the other side of the island in about 10 minutes - a taxi is a good investment if you want to try the well stocked bar!

Fully deserves its place at the top of the restaurant list for Bequia at the time of writing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    45
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Idyllic...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found ourselves here one lunchtime for a few drinks and it was such a beautiful place, we had to come back for dinner. It's immediately striking from the moment you walk inside and the attention to detail in every aspect of interior design to complement the natural beauty of the exterior is quite stunning. The whole of one side of the main building was open to the sea, so you could relax in one of their very comfy looking sofas or have a meal looking straight out to the beautiful blue water.

The welcome we received was genuine and warm and the service was exceptional. Although we weren't staying, we had a look in one of the beach side rooms and it really was beautiful. I couldn't imagine a nicer place to be for a few days.

I'll admit to having better meals on the island, but I think we might have caught them on an off-night and it certainly didn't detract from having a fabulous evening.

A truly beautiful place....and a great rum punch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antigua-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were taken to Sugar Reef by our hiking guide Donnaka (www.hiking-bequia.com) and after 3 hours in the heat it so wonderful to be greeted by the staff in such a wonderful open air dining room with a table virtually on the beach! We returned 3 times to Sugar Reef on our holiday in Bequia and it never disappointed- fabulous local and freshly cooked foods (best Roti we have had in the Carribean) fresh juices and the pineapple and passion fruit crumble with homemade nutmeg ice cream was to die for! Nothing was too much trouble and we would have loved to stay in the beautiful bedrooms shown to us by the owner Emmet - next time we are back in Bequia definitely.
The beach is in our opinion the best on Bequia, the water warm and clear and we just didnt want to leave.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank White144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Prime location, unique ambience, quality service and great taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had lunch - delicious chicken roti - and spent the afternoon here as day guests on the beach. And what a beach! The food quality was excellent and the price reasonable. The staff were gracious, helpful, courteous, and friendly. The restaurant and resort lobby were tastefully decorated and unique. Rum punch BEST on Bequia! 5 minutes from the turtle sanctuary so combine the two for a really great day trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been twice for dinner with our family. We really enjoyed meeting the family who own the Sugar Reef, the bartender and the cook, all lovely and welcoming. The food is fabulous and the restaurant is stunning. One note, the menu and bar options are somewhat limited and the restaurant is pretty quite, however in relation to what else is out there, it is the best option for a lovely dinner out in the area. I am sure once more people figure out what a fabulous place this is the restaurant will take off.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Reef Cafe also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Sugar Reef Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing