We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stop”
Review of Sugar Reef Bequia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Reef Bequia
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bequia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stopped for drinks on the beach twice during our stay in Bequia. It is a most attractive facility smack dab on the beach, with attractive clientele, friendly staff and great cocktails. It's in a superb location, close to the turtle sanctuary and easily accessible to all Bequia venues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shepard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
125
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stopped by for a wonderful lunch. Kids had lasagna, which was very far from the standard “Garfield” lasagna: delicious vegetarian lasagna spinach with goat(?) cheese. As we were tired of lobster we had a spinach and chicken salad, which, here too, was way above standards. We also highly recommend the passion fruit mousse.
The hotel was “upgraded” in 2013 and actually we should read “re-built from scratch. It is simply marvelous in world-class scenery and decorated with delightful taste. The exceptional photos on their web site still hardly reflect reality.

Room Tip: As we didnt sleep there we cannot comment fully but what we saw is exceptional. No Fitness center, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulgiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to Industry bay by taxi for some snorkelling. After some free coconut milk from one of the many trees in the bay we had a delicious lunch at sugar reef. The lobster salad was outstanding and good value. The restaurant had a great outlook over the bay. Well worth a stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calderhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Sugar Reef is a great place to stay, particularly in the mistress cottage and French House, both up the hill from the reception beach and dinning area. There are also 3 rooms by the beach but the French House rooms are just gorgeous and the hotel team will drive you up and down the hill if you wish to skip the short walk.
Rooms are great, breakfast is great, food at the retaurant is great, even if the choice is limited (as pretty much anywhere on the island), the beach is visually very nice but less fun to swim in due to seaweed beds rather close to shore, that is if you would rather not step on them or simply prefer crystal clear waters.
The staff is Really nice which made the stay even nicer.
Having visited 4 islands in the area the prices are very competitive and my wife and I really recommend this place !
(Only real drawback is that taxis on the island don't come cheap, especially if you commute regularly to Port Elizabeth or the Lower Bay and princess Margaret beaches)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 10 nights at Sugar Reef and it was just what we were looking for......quiet, relaxed, comfortable and private. We had one of the beach front rooms which was wonderful. The staff could not be more personable yet unobtrucive. Starting each day with a fresh breakfast, (served by course) of local fruits, pastries, yogurt and wonderful coffee while looking at the beach and ocean was very special indeed! Both Emmett, the owner and Judith the manager were most helpful with knowledge of the island any requests including getting us a car and dinner reservations at some of the out of the way local restaurants ( Fernado's is a must ) when we wanted to vary the menu. The food at Sugar Reef was excellent and we were given the opportunity to try a sample of their new menu items.... we can't wait to try the other changes they were about to release! Chef John and Judith will put Sugar Reef in the top restaurants to experience on the island we're sure. Our next visit will be to stay up the hill at the French House for the variety and spend some more down time relaxing in the hammock on the huge veranda overlooking the bay !! Coming back to the hotel after a day of exploring was always like coming "home" because the staff was so welcoming and friendly! We did not want to leave. Rob & Maureen

Room Tip: If you want a private beach out your door stay in one of the 3 beach front rooms however if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent a week at Sugar Reef and would have loved to stay there longer… As all reviewers have mentioned, the hotel (which has more a Bed and Breakfast feel to it than your average hotel) is secluded, away from it all -- which is exactly what we were looking for.
Emmett, the owner, was here to greet us when we arrived and was a great host during all of our stay. He knows a lot about the island, its people, its culture and it was always pleasure talking to him.
We stayed in one of the three rooms on the beach, and I mean on the beach -- you could literally throw a pebble into the sea from your room.
Of course all the rooms -- and the hotel itself for that matter-- are tastefully decorated and oh so quiet.
We also loved the food -- especially the veggie roti-- and having a solid breakfast (fruits, juices, coffee) facing the sea was a morning ritual that we now dearly miss.
Our stay was exactly what we expected -- maybe even more!

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the three rooms on the beach and that was perfect! Remember: there is no AC, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdecamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just finished a 12 night stay at Sugar Reef and it was fantastic. Great location right on the beach and close to the water. The staff could not have been more friendly or generally accommodating and helpful. The food at the restaurant was also probably the best lunch to be had on Bequia.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bequia
2.7 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
7.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.7 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Reef Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Reef Bequia

Property: Sugar Reef Bequia
Address: Crescent Beach, VC0400, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bequia
#4 Green Hotel in Bequia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Reef Bequia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Reef Bequia offers a local, natural, sensual Caribbean experience at our bar, restaurant and eight guest rooms on a 65-acre, beachfront coconut plantation. Our guest rooms maintain the tradition of living in sumptuous luxury open to the views and breezes. The Beach House, with decor inspired by the Caribbean of the 1940s-70s (think James Bond in Jamaica), has three beachfront rooms each with a private patio and king-size four-poster bed. On the hillside above, historic French House offers a British colonial experience with spacious antique-filled rooms and breathtaking views over the estate, the ocean, and the Grenadines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Sugar Reef Bequia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Reef Bequia St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing