We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over substance?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia

Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Bequia
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner, this romantic and relaxing restaurant features fresh dishes made with ingredients collected daily from the Plantation. Beautiful views across the palm groves with cooling Caribbean breezes.Special creole, BBQ and Jerk nights during the season.Reasonable prices, attentive service and excellent cocktails at the bar. Also a perfect location for large groups or wedding venues.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Style over substance?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a highly anticipated meal - a special wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, and despite the best intentions of the staff, we came away with mixed thoughts. The meal was fine and in a wonderful setting - the restaurant is atmospheric and in a unique spot. The issues we had were on our second visit to a Barbecue night - which almost filled the restaurant but which delivered very average food. It appeared that the staff were struggling to keep up with the set menu and the food, when it arrived, was virtually cold.

If we had the meals the other way around, we would not have made it to the a la carte meal. A shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food, exceptional service... Fabulous day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a find - about 5 mins from
Port Elizabeth tucked up in the hills... A breezy and charming place with a lovely atmosphere.

Admittedly off-season so pretty quiet, but we couldn't have asked for more attentive service. Polite, helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble.

The food was good - certainly no complaints. The setting is lovely - not beachside, but up in a hill with the coast in the background and a beautiful pool which you can spend the afternoon at... Which to us was worth every penny spent at lunch!

Not the cheapest on the island but not overpriced...

As with anywhere I'm sure it's the luck of the day on your food and service so there will always be the odd bad review...but we loved it and would highly recommend if you're over that way as a break from the beach!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antigua-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for dinner on Sunday evening expecting a really great meal and were very disappointed, the setting is charming, although probably lovelier by daylight. The food however was just not very good, we had the jerk dinner and the conch chowder served as a starter looked and tasted like washing up water, the main was OK and the dessert was alright but nothing special. Our total bill was 360EC, the most we paid for dinner by far and for the worst meal so we were less than impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smellycat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to Firefly for the 3-course Sunday Curry Lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The setting is lovely, very 'plantation Caribbean' style, great views through the palms down the hill to the sea. We had the set 3 course lunch (30US$++pp) including chilled coconut and pineapple soup (unusual but delicious), one chicken and one veggie curry with trimmings, and fruit crumble with ice cream for pud. A La Carte was also available. Cost with two G&Ts and a guava juice 222EC. I imagine the atmosphere would have been better had it been busier (only two other quiet tables eating) but there again if its peace and quiet you're after . . . . . .!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Platsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Dreadful Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from an overpriced lunch with dreadful food and poor service in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable on the island of Bequia. We stopped in this morning to make a 12:00 reservation and were greeted by a delightful young waiter. Since we are staying in a villa, and they grow their own fruits and vegetables on the plantation, I asked if they might be willing to sell me some produce to enjoy while we are here. He was incredibly generous and accommodating, even offering to give us a sampling of the fruits and vegetables they have available and in season. I left with a very good feeling about the place.

We arrived shortly before noon and sat at the bar of a beautiful open-air stone plantation house looking over the grounds with the ocean in the distance. We ordered one drink each, a rum punch and a guava margarita, both of which tasted of nothing but sugar. The bartender/waiter was unfriendly, bordering on rude. He recommended the special of the day which was Creole fish or chicken. I ordered fish, my husband ordered chicken. We only ordered one course and waited 50 minutes for our meal to arrive. The kitchen was overworked and understaffed. I got the chicken, my husband got the fish and it was difficult to differentiate between the two. Both were overcooked, dry and flavourless. The vegetables -- banana salad, breadfruit, plantain, sweet potato and spinach cakes were too many, too ambitious and, like the protein, without flavour.

The bill for one drink and one main course each was $71 US before tip. Outrageously overpriced. Disappointing since the setting is probably one of the nicest on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 141051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing