We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting”
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: The Best of St Vincent and the Grenadines
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens are one of the most important and popular sites in St Vincent. They are the oldest botanical gardens in the Western Hemisphere (established in 1765) and are also an important conservation site (particularly for the St Vincent parrot). The Botanical Gardens are in Kingstown, a short journey from the town centre.
rye
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great gardens, mostly interesting trees, but if you manage to get Daniel as a guide, he is hilarious and had us in stitches! The diarrhoea tree had us giggling!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    150
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting with Guide”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a small botanical garden - very well maintained. Not much information on the plants available without a guide. Our guide was informative and entertaining. There is no entrance fee to the garden, but a guide will expect around $20 US per person at the end of the tour (not worth that much). The St. Vincent parrots are worth seeing (for a donation to their upkeep). That was a highlight for our son. We didn't visit the Montreal Garden, so I can't compare.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Su-sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for visiting us at the gardens, hope to read of a new experience soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant airy gardens with many trees and shrubs”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Some very old but well-kept gardens. Similar in some ways to the Botanic gardens in Roseau, Dominica. Nothing overpoweringly special, but a relaxing walk in panoramic surroundings. The Montreal Gardens are much better, though

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartycuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
Thank you for visiting us at the gardens. We look forward to reading of another experience from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The oldest in the western hemisphere”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every plant there has a purpose, brought by the British, but it's very hard to get a good guide. They mostly rip you off. You can get into the cage of the Vincentian parrot for a minimal fee. Great for photos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
Dear Valued Visitor,

Your review on our site is valuable to us. Thank you for visiting us at the gardens.

Tours offered by guides are OPTIONAL, and carry a fee of EC$10/ US$4 person for 45 min to and hour. We encourage all visitors report any issues they may have with our service, whiles at the site, so that we may promptly deal with it and ensure customer satisfaction.

We thank you for your review on our site as this helps us to better our service to others.

Thank you

Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horticulturalist's Dream”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were welcomed graciously by a hostess who informed us that the gardens have free entry. We hired a very well informed guide, Alvin, and paid him generously because he gave us such a good tour. We crisscrossed the park and he told us very interesting facts about the history and uses of all the plants there. Most of the specimens are labeled, but we learned so much more with Alvin. He spoke eloquently and learnedly.
The tour was a nice change of pace from the rest of our holiday. It is probably not of interest to people who do not garden.
My friend got insect bites on her legs, so rub on repellent if you are susceptible.
We finished as work was ending for the day and as we sat in the little lobby waiting for our ride back to our hotel, many people passed through to walk in the gardens or take a shortcut home. Every one of them said, "Good Afternoon," to us and the receptionist!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John181730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
Thank you for visiting us at the gardens and your wonderful feedback. We are elated to know that you had an enjoyable time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing