We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The oldest Garden in the Western Hemisphere!”
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: The Best of St Vincent and the Grenadines
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens are one of the most important and popular sites in St Vincent. They are the oldest botanical gardens in the Western Hemisphere (established in 1765) and are also an important conservation site (particularly for the St Vincent parrot). The Botanical Gardens are in Kingstown, a short journey from the town centre.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The oldest Garden in the Western Hemisphere!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

You wouldn't really think that visiting a botanic garden would be a big deal, but if you go AND Sinclair gives you the tour it is like getting a degree in plant history and natural supplements. Not kidding. I learned more on that visit that I could have anywhere else. Sinclair really cares, and loves to talk about everything in that garden. Glad I went!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ANF1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
We express our gratitude for visiting the gardens and sharing your positive views with us. We are also glad that you enjoyed your tour and your tour guide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    148
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Nice gardens but beware pop-up guides”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Lovely gardens that are well cared for and with view over Kingstown to the bay. However, the place is crawling with would-be guides that start by telling you a little about the interesting plants and if you let them, you will get a the full tour but are expected to pay them after. So, either agree a price for a tour when they appear or politely tell them that you don't need a guide.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
Dear Valued Visitor,

Your review on our gardens is very informative to us.

Tours offered by guides are OPTIONAL, and carry a fee of EC$10/ US$4 person for 45 min to and hour. We encourage all visitors to report any issues they may have with our service, while at the site, so that we may promptly deal with it and ensure customer satisfaction.

We thank you for your review on our site as this helps us to improve our service for others.

Thank you

Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it Including our Guide”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I and a friend visited the gardens one afternoon and enjoyed the experience because of our guide. He described trees and flowers but also showed us the grasses and herbs that we never would have noticed looking by ourselves. We were also there for feeding time for the parrots so got to feed them. I have visited many zoos and gardens but this was special. Our guide grew up right there and knew everything about everything from the names of the trees to what the school children call the muppet flower and why. We had fun. And yes we gave him a nice tip. You do not have to use a guide and I do not know if others are pushy but he made our day and I hope we were able to make his.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandSue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
Its good to know that you enjoyed your guide and made the experience so great for you, thank you for the wonderful review and for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“expansive”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

trees, plants, gazebo and the national bird the St Vincent parrot.
not as tropical as I would have thought but it doesn't claim flowers.
Still a nice "thing to do/experience"
tour guide $4usd

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank liberatedbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, May 9, 2016
We would like to thank you for visiting our gardens. We have developed the gardens even more since then, and have even more to offer now. Thank you for sharing your views with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A big disappointment! The guide was a total ripoff artist.”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Visited the gardens in Feb. 2010 during a drought. It was pathetically dry and depressing. We were accosted by a "guide" who claimed to be a horticulturist who had an internship at Kew Gardens. I ACTUALLY AM a horticulturist and when I told the guide, he blew me off - maybe he wasn't even listening to me. I tried to talk plants with him, but he was full of you know what. After our tour, he tried to charge us $30 per person (3 of us total), and when we told him that was outrageous, he got furious. It's too bad there aren't signs posting the botanical names of the trees because I would have liked to have learned more about the garden on my own. Don't waste your time here, go to Montreal Gardens if you have the chance. But if you do, negotiate before or don't even get a guide.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lupea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Manager at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Valued Visitor,

Your review on our site is valuable to us. We take this opportunity to highlight a few things to you.

The dry season of 2010 was a very severe one for the whole country and resulted in a drought. This by no stretch of the imagination also severely adversely affected The Garden. To date we have since put measures in place to mitigate the effects of drought in most of The Garden.

Tours offered by guides are OPTIONAL, and carry a fee of EC$10/ US$4 person for 45 min to and hour. We apologize for the less than slandered behavior of the guide that accompanied you, and assure you that the matter has been dealt with. We encourage all visitors report any issues they may have with our service, whiles at the site, so that we may promptly deal with it and ensure customer satisfaction.

We are currently working on updating our tree labels, so as to better accommodate visitors that may choose to walk with tour guides.

We thank you for your review on our site as this helps us to better our service to others.

thank you

Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing