We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel”
Review of Bessemer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bessemer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely little hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights and really enjoyed it although it was a bit noisy our first night (Saturday) as there was a wedding reception on, but the music was turned off at midnight so it wasn't too bad.

Excellent breakfasts, clean rooms and friendly staff all at a reasonable price.

Probably would not recommend it for a family with small children, especially at the weekend though due to the noise if something is going on in the function room.

Room Tip: Probably not best for family's with little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    42
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
38
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A nice surprise to find a good hotel in the Heads of the Valleys area. Very friendly staff, good sized, clean rooms and excellent shower. Breakfast was as good as most and better than many. I did ask the staff where they bought the mushrooms as they were the nicest I have ever tasted and the bread was lovely too. We arrived around 3.00 pm on Sunday and it was controlled bedlam with the Sunday lunches which carried on until they finished around 6.00 pm. We were told at breakfast the following morning that they had served around 500 carvery lunches in the 6 hours on Sunday. Shows how good the food is !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rooms spacious and modern. Awesome shower in bathroom. Very clean. Good parking. Breakfast cooked to order but quality of produce was very cheap. Avoid the sausages! Basic cheap bread. But overall good standard of room and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

i didnt stay in the hotel but went for a birthday celabration dinner. my niece was 18 so we thought it would be nice to use local hotel for the meal. the dinning room looked old tired and dated.the waitress who served us was quite pleasant unfortunately the was one who lookes like she hated the place. not once did she smile.service was really poor normally i tip but on this occasion i felt they should have paid me to eat there. the carvery food was great and reasonably priced wish i could say the same for the rest of the menue.The carvery server was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited here for a friends birthday which was very good... Carvery was superb and plenty to choose from... It was very busy and had to wait a while but all worth it.....The place was very clean... And staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have just got home from a 2 night stay here and I would highly recommed here for overnight stay or just dining. I have no complaints re cleanliness at all, bedrooms were smart and modern decor, fresh towels daily, rooms tidyed every morning only qualm was fairly thin walls but more annoyingly the floors and doors all creaked. I think the doors especially need some WD40. Food and service were top very friendly polite & welcoming staff. Dinner was divine whether carvery or main meal. Location was ideal for everywhere we visited.
Great value for money!!!"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a very snap rooms spacious and spotlessly clean especially the bathroom it gleamed! and lovely and warm. Greeted warmly by the very hard working receptionist who done any other jobs that needed doing who offered to help with anything else we needed. All staff very friendly and helpful and the value for money Carvery was really delicious with very generous portions which were enjoyed by guests and locals alike. We ate there every night. We were even told about the Labour club which has good entertainment on and the receptionist arranged a taxi for us to get there. Overall a brilliant stay great price good rooms delicious breakfast and made so welcome by all the staff we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dowlais
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
11.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bessemer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessemer Hotel

Property: Bessemer Hotel
Address: Hermon Close, Dowlais CF48 3DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Dowlais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bessemer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 20 bedroom family run hotel on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bessemer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessemer Hotel Dowlais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing