We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”
Review of Bessemer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bessemer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

£65.00 for one night and the room was spotless the staff friendly food excelent the only problem was the old floor boards in certain rooms creaked but it didnt bother me infact no place is perfect but the bessema hotel was clean very clean lovely crisp white sheets and plenty of white towels beds were very comfy will be staying again tastefully decorated
down stairs bar and eating area very nice outside has a lovely outdoor seating area to soak up the sun and lovely views

Room Tip: its very quiet area anyway
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsteph1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Bessemer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very popular due to fantastic carvery. Open most nights of the week but ring as I believe it does close for one night. There is a more extensive menu but extremely popular with the 'carvery crowd' delicious!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASTONMARTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Location is a bit strange-housing estate directly behind, industrial units directly in front! Once you get over that then the hotel is lovely. We stayed for 4 nights and for us the location was great, close enough to our family we were visiting and just a short drive away from local attractions including the 'Big Pit', Brecon Steam Railway and the Brecon Beacons. Also only half an hour or so to Cardiff. The hotel itself, well, the decor is very dated but it was spotlessly clean, the staff are great(very friendly and informative with directions etc) and the food lovely, especially the carvery. It must be good as it was very busy with local families every night we were there. All in all, a great 'base' hotel if you just want to eat and sleep there and tour around the local area-we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the carpark can be a bit noisy, especially in the mornings as there seem to be a l...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here one night. The decor hasn't changed for decades but the room was good and clean. The evening meal was good. Some negatives - we couldn't get our laptop to work, despite some assistance from the receptionist, no soap was provided and there were no dining options during the day. Inexpensive so reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Service was excellent and the staff were all friendly and very helpful. Room was excellent value and very clean. The restaurant was a little dated but the steaks were very good. Would definately stop here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sutty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This place is a real Jewel.Look it is in the historic village of Dowlais which 150 years ago was in the iron capitol of the world(Merthyr valley full of iron foundries hence the name of this hotel).The carvery has a superb reputation and you wont find better grub in the country.Yes the criticism of the location is a point but it is on the main road into the town of Merthyr Tydfil yet literally 2 minutesoff the A465 and this is the main link into the Brecon beacons A470 and it really is a fantastic base.The Brecon mountain steam railway is just 5 mins up the road one way,Cyfartha Castle and the Merthyr town and retail park not much further away in the other.You can be walking in beautiful beacons in ten minutes.The rooms are very clean,staff marvellous and I would have no concerns whatsoever about this jewel.The critical reviews no longer apply as the housing behind is now complete and new parking and landscaping is now completed so there are not any issues.No it does not have any grounds as such but has patio/play area and for grub and a clean base you cannot beat this hotel.Try the carvery and you will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwionmat314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here in May for our wedding night as it was the closest hotel to our wedding reception venue.
We arrived late in the evening and were given a triple room by Kevin the very helpful receptionist,
Our room décor was a little like something out of a 80's catalogue picture however it was very clean the beds a large double and single were comfortable and the room well equipped with Flat screen TV, Coffee making facilities, Radio alarm clock, telephone, air con and trouser press. there was a comfortable seating area with armchairs a coffee table and ample closet space.
The bathroom was large and fitted to a high standard including a hair dryer and a selection of complimentary toiletries.
We went for a late night cap as several of our family were also staying in the hotel, The bar was small and cosy with a homely feel the prices were on a par with the local pubs, Kevin our versatile receptionist was also the barman and happily served our party late into the night even arranging snacks for some of them although by then we had long retired to bed.
At breakfast served by the omnipresent Kevin (does this man ever sleep) and a very friendly waitress there was a selection of bread, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit and fruit juices as well as plentiful tea and coffee. a cooked option was also available to order and was of a very high quality.
Overall a quirky and little dated but comfortable hotel with very good staff and customer service where nothing seemed to be to much trouble. would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Merthyr area.
One extra mention for Kevin he really is a great asset to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a slightly better view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostyeti73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dowlais
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
322 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
11.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bessemer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessemer Hotel

Address: Hermon Close, Dowlais CF48 3DP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Dowlais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Price Range: $79 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bessemer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 20 bedroom family run hotel on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bessemer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessemer Hotel Dowlais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing