We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends reunion”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friends reunion”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

large rooms in a beautiful setting, beverages replenished daily in rooms, air conditioning, the hotel is in a lovely setting, with its own pool and small beach.
Beautiful restaurant with a wide menu choice for breakfast lunch and dinner, Sunday dinner selection is vast, beautifully presented and at very reasonable prices, the staff are very friendly and attentive to ones needs. The Grounds are beautifully kept with many vartieties of flowers etc. Would go back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilliebet218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
54
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good hotel with very good restaurant, not inexpensive but it's good.
Breakfast is good you get all kinds of tropical fruits if you ask for fruit plate.

Rooms are clean, beds are big and confortable, not far from the marina if you're sailing.
Just avoid going by walk to the marina people drive like crazy in the road, you might want to get a taxi for that.

People in the hotel was nice, i did not try the pool but it looked nice too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent a week at Mariner's Hotel in St. Vincent; less than 50 feet to the ocean and a fresh water pool on site. Restaurant is great (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and the rum punch is the best we found on the island. They offer wonderful yogurt made by the hotel chefs for breakfast. It's a short walk to Dive St. Vincent; diving was our principal activity for the week. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the air conditioning stays ahead of the outside heat and humidity. Staff are friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms 201-203 are first floor and pool-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here pre-sailing excursion around the Grenadines and were very impressed with the friendly courteous staff, the gorgeous views, the nice restaurant and the general feeling of the hotel. Our flight was delayed coming in and we missed our first night - they were very accommodating in our situation and made a long travel end on a very nice note. It's not a large hotel but has cute grounds, nice rooms, wonderful staff and good food. There is a small beach that we swam and snorkeled from, a small pool which our daughter loved, comfortable rooms with good shower and nice view of the beach and Young Island across the way. Food is very good (though dinner is pretty expensive). They are very accomodating if you take a sail excursion for the boat to drop you off and pick you up there. Can't say enough good about the friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again if back in St Vincent again.

Room Tip: Veranda with beach view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wonderful setting, ocean front dining, and the food was superb. I had Tuna Tartare to start, followed by Poached Salmon in a Zucchini Sauce with Baked Aubergine, Roasted Pumpkin and Steamed Rice. To finish, Exotic Fruits flavoured with Rum, with a Vanilla Ice Cream. Washed down with 2 glasses of Pinot Grigio. Lovely, would definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mariners Hotel and had dinner at The French Verandah. When you enter there is a bar area which also serves as the control centre for the hotel. It is never locked but there are always security and staff there even in the early hours of the morning. The bar has just about every beverage and then some. The main dining area is open and you can walk on the beach. Just be careful, the waiters don't like you taking sand into the restaurant. It's easy, just walk around the building and there is a swimming pool and foot rinsing. Then you just come back in through the front entrance. The view is nice and you can sit here all evening, watch the sun go down etc.

I couldn't decide whether to have the conch fritters or the lobster so I had both. I hope my rheumatologist does not read this or I will be in big trouble! By the way, the banana split is humungous; if you are watching your figure, you might consider splitting your plate in half or thirds.

Even if you are staying at the Mariner Inn at the Mooring/ Sunsail/ Footloose base, I would recommend dining here.

This review relates specifically to The French Verandah. I will the review Mariners Hotel separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is great, we went two times while we stayed on st vincent, there aren't many restaurants to choose from on the island but rest assured this is one of the best. The creme brulee is a must!!!! One of the best I ever tasted, pork ribs were excellent too!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pako1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Vincent hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
104 reviews
12.6 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing