We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Restaurant on the Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mariners Hotel and had dinner at The French Verandah. When you enter there is a bar area which also serves as the control centre for the hotel. It is never locked but there are always security and staff there even in the early hours of the morning. The bar has just about every beverage and then some. The main dining area is open and you can walk on the beach. Just be careful, the waiters don't like you taking sand into the restaurant. It's easy, just walk around the building and there is a swimming pool and foot rinsing. Then you just come back in through the front entrance. The view is nice and you can sit here all evening, watch the sun go down etc.

I couldn't decide whether to have the conch fritters or the lobster so I had both. I hope my rheumatologist does not read this or I will be in big trouble! By the way, the banana split is humungous; if you are watching your figure, you might consider splitting your plate in half or thirds.

Even if you are staying at the Mariner Inn at the Mooring/ Sunsail/ Footloose base, I would recommend dining here.

This review relates specifically to The French Verandah. I will the review Mariners Hotel separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
44
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is great, we went two times while we stayed on st vincent, there aren't many restaurants to choose from on the island but rest assured this is one of the best. The creme brulee is a must!!!! One of the best I ever tasted, pork ribs were excellent too!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pako1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What can I say....hmmm?!! This place was great! The staff are amazing and polite, which can be difficult at times when traveling in the Caribbean. From the reception staff (Crystal is great and very professional) to the ladies and gentlemen who work on the property and/or at the restaurant The French Verandah. French Verandah staff: Patrianne (love her), she's warm and welcoming, Ron (very fun), Harry (bartender and super pleasant) and Shawn (who owns the restaurant is absolutely knowledgeable and a great guy). I stayed for 6 days and wished I could've stayed longer. Not far from town and the bus (which are decorative vans) are easy to find and use to get around. I'll be returning in April, and without question, staying at Mariners!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400's are off to the side....and offer a little privacy as far as location, but the...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlGal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was excellent for our stay the night after we disembarked from our week on a catamaran. The restaurant is well-versed in French cuisine, and the sunset is gorgeous! I can't comment on all amenities since we stayed only one night. Pool looked clean and few people were in it which is nice. We used the i-net for a bit to check in at home; computer room had several terminals, AC was nice and cool, clean, etc. Rooms were decent, nothing fancy, but not shabby or old. They were cool, clean, and quiet. It was a bit of a drive into town, but town is pretty noisy so it is more peaceful to be farther off. We would happily stay again on another sailing trip!

*Beware of the local taxi-minivans filled with people headed to town. They are dirt cheap but the drivers are terrifying with crazy speeds and turns like a rollercoaster. I am proud to say I tried it and survived, but they really ought to sell T-shirts to this effect so you have some motivation to step onboard again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boombafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We did not stay at the Mariners hotel,but walked down to the restaurant for dinner. Despite being peak season we easily got a table. The restaurant overlooks the beach, but as it was dark, you could not see the sea, but you do get a great view of Young island.

We had a reasonably good meal. I ordered from the main menu and my other half wanted a pizza. The waitress said they were big, but to be honest it was a pretty small pizza. Not a great choice, but my fish was very nice.
Unless you are in Italy or have a real wood fired pizza oven, it's not a great idea to order pizza!!
Service was good and food was fine . I'm not raving about this restaurant, but everything was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Its our last morning am sitting on our balcony with a nice cup of tea (you can take the girl out of Britain ..) over looking the calm lapping sea and Young Island. The staff have been wonderful accommodating our group's 2 year old, the food has been exemplary and the most comfortable of beds! Had a wonderful stay and a fantastic island tour from Robert Gibson up to the Montreal Gardens up through the Mespo Valley. A real gem and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiv8jenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We wanted to do some diving in St Vincent and a friend who had previously stayed at the hotel recommended it. The French Verandah Restaurant serves the best food by far on St Vincent - not the cheapest.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 105 was exceptional. A wonderful view of the sea and Young Island. The diving was also good, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reporter_0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Vincent
1.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 18 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cobblestone Inn
The Cobblestone Inn
#2 of 6 in Kingstown
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing