We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap as it should be - bad service, rooms, food, attitude”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Cheap as it should be - bad service, rooms, food, attitude”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

IMHO - This hotel's only advantage is its low price.

When I looked at the hotel's web site, I thought it was a paradise resort. It looked so clean and beautiful. The reality could not be different.

The hotel should not be called hotel but B&B or cheap motel, at best.

Rooms are very dirty and very very run down. I entered my first room and saw a lizard walking on a wall. I wanted to change the room but the hotel was unwilling to help until I swapped with another person who did not mind lizards in the room. The second room was equally dirty.

Pool - looks so beautiful on photos - was so dirty killing any desire to use it.

Breakfast - very low quality food. The bigger problem was that it took 15 minutes to make an order and once the order was given, another 15 minutes to get my omelet. When I politely tried to speed up the process, I was given a look that I should be happy I was served at all. My colleagues have received a similar treatment so at least we could joke about the perception (hotel's web site) vs reality.

Rude, unwelcoming staff, with an attitude 'you are here, you can't escape, and we don't care'

There seem to be so many nice hotels in this island, why did I go to the worst? you have been warned.

Room Tip: Run! don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
54
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Mariners Inn about 4 times, usually for one night, before boarding a yacht rental for 2 weeks to sail in the area. It is clean, comfortable, and easily accessible from the main airport. Rates are very reasonable, at around 150 $ USD per night in low season. There is a pool right in front overlooking the sea. No Beach to speak off at all. The restaurant is quite nice, and the food is good, but very over priced for nothing. Everytime I have been with my husband, they always give me the menu with no prices (I am the wife!!), and I always hand the money or CC over, which baffles them every time without fail. The bar outside, can get quite lively with locals, and a good time is had by all. This is also conveniently situated from the Sunsail, TMM and Barefoot yacht charter bases.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsNWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Graet place,good staff and great restaurant,on the water

Room Tip: all are facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had a few meals here and most were quite good (Sunday BBQ the best). We were overcharged for one the meals though, check your bill. Good menu selection from basics like pizza right up to ala carte continental cuisine. Cold beer at the bar essential.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinsinamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Spent six nites and loved it. The staff is exc eptional, the food outstanding. Rooms are a little small but clean and nicely appointed. Would definately recommend. Pool small but clean and not crowded.

Room Tip: Electricity is 220 vollts, some transformers are .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reporter_0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I stayed at Mariners for just under two weeks with my sister at the end of April 2011. The hotel is situated in a great location with lots of local bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel staff were friendly and efficeint and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was extremely pleasant . I would definitely stay at Mariners again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Originally we were booked for a 5 night stay at the hotel,however we checked out after the first night .The hotel looks nothing like the picture and needs some serious reservations .You are given a small key which is attached to a huge cardboard for your room and the girl at the front desk appears to be house attendant ,kitchen assistant along with the security guard who helped carry the luggage upstairs.It could have been bearable had it not been for the musty smelling room and dirty bedspread which had me scratching all day .Initially there was no kettle or ice in the room and due to our requests ,this was rectified after we tried to get our deposit back.None the less i would not recommend this hotel to anyone ,who is accustomed to certain basic amenities .The pool was also small and dirty .My advise would be to explore other options cause comfort comes before any view ,which isn't that great ,but then hey i live in the Caribbean .On a better note ,the food was good a bit pricey though .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Vincent hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
104 reviews
12.6 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing