We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but there is better on svg”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Innisfil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok, but there is better on svg”
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Stayed there for 2 nights, had 3 rooms that where just ok. One room had a leaky drain in the sink and was told to put a bucket under it, I guess nobody could fix it. If you wanted ice you had to go to the bar and after hours would be out of luck. Seemed like I was always being watched (kind of unnerving). At 10:30 pm the night before we where to leave the front desk called all 3 rooms to find out what time we where leaving, don't know why as we had paid in full at check-in. Check-in did not go well either, thank goodness I had a copy of the e-mail confirming price as they tryed to get us for another 20%. All in all, not terrible but there is much better places nearby in the same price range.
Rick

  • Liked — breakfast was good
  • Disliked — not good value for money
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelprorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
54
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We spent a week at the Mariner in January that was part of a two week vacation that also included Grenada and Barbados.

As frequent visitors to the Caribbean, we had wanted to visit St. Vincent as we had never been there before. Travel information to St. Vincent itself, unlike Bequia and the rest fo the Grenadines, is a little bit difficult to come by so we weren't sure where to stay. We booked the mariner because they had rooms available and the few comments we could find online about it were generally favorable.

If you are thinking of going to St. Vincent itself, it's not a big destination, so tourism is not highly developed. This works both ways as it can be part of its charm but also makes staying a little bit more work than some other islands in the Caribbean.

The Mariner fits in with this theme. The facilities themselves are nothing special, but they are better than several of the other hotels on the island that we either saw or heard about from about other people.

The rooms are pretty standard, a little shabby, although clean and comfortable. They could easily be mistaken for a 1960's American motel room from the inside, except of course for the view. You want to make sure that if you're in the main wing, that you're on the second floor, as the first floor is in front of the pool, whereas you'll have a better view of the ocean form the second floor. The so called suites are behind the main building and closer to the road, so they are not worth the extra money. There are also a couple of refrigerators around that can be put in your room, but you have to ask for one.

Among the good things to report about the hotel are the staff. The women who work in the office are all nice and helpful, and will assist you in making arrangements. We found Keisha to be especially helpful. Everyone else we encountered at the hotel, from housekeeping to security, was nice, too.

The clientèle is a mixed group, unlike a previous poster, we didn't meet any divers, but there were a lot of people who were chartering yachts and staying in the hotel for a couple of nights, people on their way back from other islands in the Grenadines, and business people and flight crews. We ere there to do some hiking among other things, but perhaps because of its higher price, the Mariner didn't seem to attract too many other hikers

The hotel is known for its restaurant, and rightfully so as it's the best on the island for fine dining. However, as mentioned below, it is not particularly Caribbean and shows a very strong European influence, as befitting it's name. If you go for breakfast, try the homemade yogurt, which is delicious. Breakfast is ala carte, so you need to factor that into your estimates if you're worried about expenses.

The hotel is right on the water, but there is no beach there. The closest beach to sit on is about a 10 minute walk along the water over to Indian Bay. The pool, while pleasant to sit at or have drinks by, is really too small to do any serious swimming. If you want to go to the beach, you should have the office call over to Young Island and you can take their little private ferry to the island. The water is warm, the snorkeling is very good, and you can look back at St. Vincent.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Funishings in the room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We started our recent holiday with four nights at the Mariners. We had a room with a lovely sea view across to Young Island. Hotel was very quiet - no noise and very few guests (it is the low season). Our triple room was good with air conditioning. We used the restaurant and enjoyed the food but would have preferred more authentic carribbean and less an attempt to give a French menu.
Not alot to do in area (free internet is a plus) except relax but had a very enjoyable but hard climb of La Soufriere

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Mariners (rooms 105, 106, and 404) at the end of a week on a sailboat and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, the mattresses were a bit thin, the pool could have used a better cleaning, the trim and cement walls here and there a bit of paint, but overall it was very nice.
Don't expect luxury in most areas, although the food was very good.
My only complaint was that it was across and down the street from some sort of a nightclub that suddenly must have turned its speaker system to 10 and pointed the speakers at the hotel at 5am. I was on the other side of the hotel from this and could not speak to my wife in our room without screaming. The security guy just laughed when I went to find out what was going on, and THAT upset me more than the music.
I would stay here again, but not in June.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2006

I stayed at the Mariner's Hotel thru a dive package with Dive St Vincent, and was very pleased with my choice. We were in rooms 404 and 403, which were two upstairs rooms within 20' of the beach and a lovely ocean view, just to the one side of the well-maintained pool. Much quieter than the rooms near to reception (say, 208) as well.

Everyone we met took wonderful care of us. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. Staff was responsive to any requests.

If there was one thing I would suggest Mariners could improve upon, it would be the beds. The room had two twin beds, each with a thinner, older mattress on wood slats. Would I sleep on it again? Absolutely, given the location of the room and the quality of our stay. Softer beds would just improve the experience even more.

You absolutely must eat at The French Verandah, the restaurant associated with the hotel. Small restaurant with open seating near the ocean, fabulous food. Chef made a point of making sure everything was served hot, even if it meant delivering the plate himself. We stayed on the seafood side of the menu, between all of us, probably sampled everything at least once, and were always pleased. In a word: YUM. We tried Xcape (two restaurants down) and Lime N Pub (next restaurant down), but neither came remotely close to matching the service and quality of The French Verandah.

For you divers out there: Mariners is indeed within walking distance from Mariners, just shoot down the 'sidewalk' on the shore to Dive St Vincent. We loved the boat and divemasters (Don and Callie), and would go back. Favorite sites (besides "All"): The Wall, and Orca Points (1 and 2).

Have specific questions? Just email me.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jannaqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2004

I travel frequently to St Vincent on business and I have stayed in multiple hotels. I cannot say enough about the Mariner's Hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The rate is competitive, the view is beautiful and the restaurant is excellent. The delux rooms are worth the small bit more..you get a patio overlooking the pool and sea. It does not have all the ammenities of a north american business hotel, but I appreciate the charm and this is why I travel to St Vincent.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2004

I discovered Mariners Hotel when I arrived on St. Vincent and hired a woman taxi driver to help me find a nice, but not expensive, hotel to stay at while I waited to meet up with my sailing group. Amenities included free internet access in an airconditioned office, superbly helpful management (The manager radioed the sailing vessel to locate them when I worried about their whereabouts.) The restaurant was excellent, the lounge attractive and comfortable, and the location across from Young Island very pleasant. I loved staying there.

Helpful?
11 Thank SheilaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Vincent hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Arnos Vale
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
103 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cobblestone Inn
The Cobblestone Inn
#2 of 5 in Kingstown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing