We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Young Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Young Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga,Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went to Young Island twice for lunch and to spend the afternoon with family and friends. A minute ferry ride across from the mainland, it was perfect as we were staying in the Villa area. The beach is beautiful and you immediately feel relaxed and in a special retreat once you step foot on the island. The prices for lunch was reasonable and you can also order smaller snacks such as french fries and sandwiches. The bartenders are friendly and make delicious cocktails which are also at a great price. The beach, the hammocks, the drinks, the scenery, the view. Definitely my favourite place in St. Vincent now. I can't wait to go back, a must visit every time I'm in St. Vincent from now on. Note it is advisable to make reservations in advance. Also note lunch ends at a certain time so inquire about that if you are interested in having lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    51
    13
    16
    4
See reviews for
32
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I took the ferry across to Young Island from the mainland just to have lunch. Since the hotel is made up of private villas, it was not possible to explore the island. However, since my only purpose for going there was to have lunch, it did not matter. The buffet style lunch was excellent, service was great and the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandrina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a terrible journey due to delays and lost luggage we arrived at young island in the dark to a great welcome, the restaurant had been kept open especially for us and we were instantly upgraded from a luxury suite to the Duvernette cottage, although it wasn't until the next morning that we really appreciated it. Walking out of the door to our private decking and infinity pool over looking the aquamarine Caribbean sea was jaw dropping, the cottage was lovely and well equipped set in stunning tropical gardens and for the whole of our stay the food, staff & service were second to none (being a chef I am always the first to complain if the foods not up to scratch) but I found every meal fresh and really tasty. Lots of fresh fish, amazing fruits and totally yummy breakfasts! One of the most important things was that we were given the space to totally chill out and we did big time! From our fantastic taxi man Rik who took us absolutely everywhere to captain Orlando who took us sailing in a luxury catamaran to the Tobago cays, Our stay on Young island was just perfect. If you want to experience the real Caribbean St Vincent has it all and tourism is a very small part of it. It is still real life there. I really can't recommend Young island enough and will 100% be returning whenever possible

Room Tip: the duvernette suite has the sun from dawn to dusk with views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

After seven nights on Palm Island, we arrived at Young Island after a very short 30 minute flight and a 200 yard boat ride. The island is relatively small and an All Inclusive option is available. I would recommend going that route as our experiences on St. Vincent mainland leaves it seriously lacking. It did include all our cocktails, which is always welcome.
We discovered that some of the rooms on the beach and lower flat level have A/C. We chose a hilltop Villa option with it's own plunge pool for it's privacy. We were not disappointed on the privacy front. Villa 30 is the last room and up a fitness inducing 120 handmade steps of varying twists and turns. This room didn't have a/c. I was initially worried about this fact, but it proved to be of no worry. In April the trade winds are very strong and the room has over half floor to ceiling windows. We slept well. A note of serious consideration is the noise form the very close mainland. We were treated throughout the day with various road noises and dogs barking. Not such a concern during daylight hours, but nighttime was another story. There is a nightclub or two on the beach across from the resort that plays music, loud base, preaching sermons on Saturday and Sunday, and generally makes an irritation of itself. I don't know if the closed up a/c villas are better because they are closer but windowed or if we got more up the hill due to location or open windows. I travel with a noise machine and we used it-we needed it. Don't let this deter you from a visit, just be ready. This room, with brick floors, lots of windows and wood rafters, is in some serious need of furniture updating. A minibar would also be nice. They fill your ice bucket early in the day and it melts quickly. If you want more ice, the machine is by the bar. The room is huge and the deck and pool area are great, although with some weird roof lines. The bathroom is big but weird. Lots of step downs that get precarious in the dark. The towels are plush but non absorbent. Since we had our pool, we didn't use the large pool but it looked nice.
The food is so delicious. I think the chef was trying to kill me with the large variety of cream based soups. My husband thought they were attempting death by bread! They make their own and have at least six choices at every meal. The mahi mahi was to die for. Everything was so good. They seem to run the same two lunch menus for three days each with Sunday being a buffet. But dinner always varied. Such great food. Don't visit on a diet.
The resort could be run tighter and the front desk is a hit or miss on information. Be prepared to have to ask again later to get info that makes sense. Example: When we were asking about our departure time/schedule, the first pleasant lady we spoke with told us that we would need to be there two hours before our 6am flight. We were only going to Grenada. Technically international, but still less than a 30 minute flight. There was no way that we were going to such a little airport to fly at 4am. When we questioned this, she asked us when we were thinking of going. When we said 5.15 she said "well, if you're not going to go the requested two hours early you might as well go at 5.45am." We opted to leave the resort at 4.45am. Later that evening the next pleasant lady was in confirmation, and agreed that plan should be fine, although two hours is requested! A stock answer, I'm guessing, but she did take the early time into account. Absolutely unnecessary. We checked in by 5.10 and waited for 50 minutes in an empty unentertaining airport.
The hotel needs to advertise more and better. They seem to be relying heavily on word of mouth and returning middle aged Brits. The bartender runs between the bar and the eating tables, so if you're in the bar you will have to wait sometimes . I laughed one night when his tux shirt was unbuttoned about three buttons and his undershirt was in full view all evening. It is a little stuffy and reserved, but the scenery is well worth the trip.
Lush, green, flowering, and running with all variety of island animals it is just like your own private rainforest. It is beautiful. We got several rain showers, but it kept it pleasant and relaxing.
We took a taxi into Kingstown with the intention of doing some little souvenir shopping and maybe getting some lunch. We used Smokey to shuttle us everywhere. He's great! We left the town in 30 minutes and returned to Young for lunch. Inland St. Vincent has several excursions I'm sure are lovely, but we weren't in the mood to drive a few hours so we were very disappointed by Kingstown. We stayed five nights and really enjoyed it, but are unsure if we will return.

Room Tip: For privacy go for a hilltop villas, but consider the season and the lack of a/c. I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Young island is a beautiful resort with cozy cottages and excellent dining. BUT, the ocean water between Young Island and the mainland of St. Vincent has sewage contamination from boats and beach front hotels dumping their septic into that area. Several cases of Giardia, ear infections, and other illnesses have occurred from persons swimming in the water. Since the Governed General of St. Vincent is one of the Young Island owners, maybe he needs to rectify this problem to avoid hurting his business with sick travelers!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank InTheKnow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great place to really wind down. When you first reach the Island you are greeted by Bianca, the General Manager, and with a fruit punch in hand. It is quiet, beautiful place where you can hear the gentle waves of crystal clear water reaching the shore next to your cabana. The rooms are excellent, the hospitality is fantastic, and all the staff know you by name. On Saturday night, the general manager hosted a cocktail hour which allowed us to meet other people staying at the resort. It was delightful and we made new friends. This is our second time staying at Young Island, and we will do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great hotel for a romantic / beach vacation. Not recommend if staying for business (because of convenience of transportation). Hotel is located in an island about a 5 minute ferry boat drive our of St Vincent (main island). Hotel offers great service and food.

If you want to be isolated, it is great if you want to stay on the beach, relax, read a book, etc.

Not your typical hotel, you will stay at a villa / bungaloo (which has all the amenities, AC, TV, but limited internet access).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gs07jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Vincent
2.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Island Resort

Property: Young Island Resort
Address: Young Island, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Young Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Young Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young Island Hotel St. Vincent
Young Island Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing