We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My opinion of Dark View Falls”
Review of Dark View Falls

Dark View Falls
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dark View Falls are two spectacular waterfalls, one above the other, cascading down high cliff faces and plunging into natural pools. The waterfalls flow all year from a tributary of the Richmond River. A natural Bamboo bridge spans the tumbling river, luring you to the two majestic falls. Facilities at the site includes restrooms, gazebo, viewing platform and changing rooms.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

It's really the ultimate trip for any person out sight-seeing, because of the distance I got to see a lot on the leeward sight of the island, if you are uncomfortable in the heat, Dark View is the place to go because it is really cool. I am an adventurous person so I Enjoyed crossing the bamboo bridge.

1  Thank DennikaPrimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at Dark View Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you enjoyed the waterfalls and had an enjoyable time at our site. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

On a day trip along the Leeward side of the island we stopped off here and were not disapointed. We first risked the bamboo bridge (conventional bridge available further up) then saw the lower falls which were impressive.
We decided to walk up to the upper falls, which was a huge treck and not for the less able bodied as steep, uneven steps and then a risky climb over rocks and through rock pools to get to the falls. Once there, well worth the effort and bathing in the pool is refreshing
(i.e. COLD!) but MUST be done.
Be carefull on the walk down as wet feet/shoes make it even more scary!
I'm not the adventurous outdoors type, but would recommend this to anyone as long as fit and healthy.

1  Thank MarcusT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at Dark View Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience with us, we are happy that you had a wonderful time at our site. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We've been on St Vincent for 4 weeks now and Dark View falls were definately a highlight. As aforementioned, these are "proper" waterfalls of around 10m each, unlike the ones at Wallilabou. There are two accessible falls, one on top of the other. I'm told there is a third on top of that, but building steps up to that one was too difficult. The first fall is easy to get to by all. The water is shallow and they have built a concrete bathing pool around it. Although you can use a bamboo bridge, if you walk a little further there is a "real" bridge made of wood and metal, so don't worry. There are changing rooms and toilets and vendors when it is busy.

The second set of falls are more difficult to reach. There are many large and uneven steps to climb to see the falls, so the unfit/elderly should give it a miss. There is no path to get to underneath the falling water, therefore you have to scramble over 20m or so of jagged slippery rocks. The splash pool underneath the top falls is deeper, and therefore is better for bathing, but those who are unsure of their abilities should only view the second falls and not take a dip - I struggled to get over the rocks and I'm a fit 21 year old female. Apart from the stubbed toes, the whole thing was brilliant and we really enjoyed our time there!

7  Thank lillyjane26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at Dark View Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Thank you for visiting, we are happy that you had an amazing time at the site and enjoyed both falls. We are sorry about your toe incident but we are happy that you managed to still enjoy yourself. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Bjørn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParksAuth, Public Education and PR Assistant at Dark View Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark View Falls also viewed

St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Caribbean
 
Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Dark View Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing