We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great kids club, great breakfast - terrible restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, great kids club, great breakfast - terrible restaurants”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

i would like to share my experience about Coral Grill in Four Seasons Nevis. You come to an exotic location, travel by a boat to a beautiful island and are looking forward to allow yourself not to think about deadlines and responsibilities, you just want to treat yourself and be looked after.
Fist two evenings you are so jet legged that you order room service and fall asleep.
On the third night we went to Coral Grill to have a nice authentic Caribbean dinner with my son.
The waitress was very arrogant and not very professional, she took an order and disappeared for 30 min i had to jump 5 times to ask for bread and butter, kids cutlery and a drink for my little one. Waiting for food.... Asked three times when its coming? Got a very polite answer its coming shortly, after 35 min I said i needed a manager - who came into the restaurant offered me a free drink and was very apologetic as the rest of the staff. Sometimes - you do not need apologies or free drinks - you need your food and drinks not after 1.5 when you have already eaten all bread on the table and your child is falling asleep. Second glass of champagne never arrived. UPPS...
The quality of a lobster was not good, it was over cooked and was difficult to be separated from the shell. The manager apologised again and suggested that the lobster was removed from the bill. Which was fine - but to be honest when you come for 5 star resort you are not looking for free food or drinks. I must be fair - everyone was nice, apologised like crazy 25 times, offered free food and drinks - BUT THIS WAS NOT i was looking for. It would be nice to have just the right food in the right time. The same thing happened to me again at lunch the next day - simple kids pasta and tuna salad took them 1,06 min to be cooked. by the time it arrived the child was asleep , i was exausted , we got our next portion of apologies and suggestions of free drinks and the doggy bags to be delivered to our room. I am just wondering would it be easier to inform people beforehand that the restaurant is full - it will be waiting time of at least 45-60 min - would you mind?????? or suggest something from fast food menu. Look at WAGAMAMA i fast food cafe in London, they always tell you that the food comes at different time, unfortunately it will be waiting time.... and you decide.... Here you feel deceived when every 5 min they keep telling you that your food is on its way a nd its not coming . Perhaps i am demanding, high maintanance..... but people are different and different people come to the resort just to cover yourself - TELL people in advance that it will be long or hire more people ... or train them to mange the situation not just apologise non stop.... VERY DISappointing..

Room Tip: great place to be with kids, wonderful sea, great kids club, fantastic teacher Barbara, very nice ma...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Muratova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    220
    74
    34
    10
See reviews for
405
687
17
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I visited the Four Seasons Nevis for a getaway without our children. The service was fantastic- the staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything would could possibly wish for! My husband had arranged a surprise upon arrival for me- it was perfect! The pace of the resort is slow-not from poor service- but in a sense of relaxation and peace. It was wonderful to be able to slow down and enjoy time lounging on the pool and beach as well as leisurely meals on property. We had the meal plan- I would suggest this as there are not a lot of options close by and the a la carte prices are not cheap. We did walk down the beach for lunch most days to Sunshine's and Limes. One highlight of our stay was my paddle boarding lesson with one of the young men from the water sports desk. He did a great job and in no time I found myself standing and paddling quite easily. I would also suggest arranging to do the golf cart monkey tour and the island tour (through the front desk). Both of these tours were very informative and lots of fun!

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room for a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a week with my family in the Resort's villas.
Villas
The villas were amazing. Three bedrooms, living room and screened in porch. We had our own golf cart. Beautifully decorated and so spacious. We were able to get room and maid service.
Property
I question whether you can find a more beautiful property in the caribbean. It was just so beautiful and well maintained. The highlight for us was animal life on the resort. There are monkeys that come out at dusk. We took our golf cart and went to watch them a couple of nights. There were also wild donkey roaming the property. There were old sugar mills too.
Food:
The resort has some good restaurants on it but was very pricey as you might expect at a Four Seasons resort. We ate at all the restaurants at least once. Neve was the breakfast place and was pretty average. All the food was good quality but it was really overpriced for what was served. We loved Cabana for lunch. It is right off the beach and between the two main pools. They had good salads and sea food. Service was great and they made a big fuss over the children. Mango was excellent and had great sunset views for dinner. Really good seafood. Coral Grill was the steakhouse and also excellent.
Service:
We had nothing but the best service the entire time we were at the resort. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care. My sister asked about a certain flower in the landscaping. When we returned that night there was print out of the plant explain its origin. We used the kids club several times (ages 3 and 5) and kids had a great time. They did all sorts of activities and actually wanted to go back on other days.
Excursions:
We left the resort on several occasions. The tour of the island was not terribly exciting but it was interesting to see the island the two different climates (jungle forest and the more arid side). The island is tiny so you can do the tour in a couple hours. There was not a lot of culture, Alexander Hamilton museum had some interesting history. The best part was the various sugar plantations which are mostly resorts now. We also did a catamaran ride and snorkeling trip which was incredible.
Activities
Water sports were basically free. We snorkeled everyday. They have free equipment but for only two hours so you had to make sure you returned them. The snorkeling off the resort was amazing and we saw many fish. We also got to try paddle boarding which was great. The golf course was absolutely beautiful and a good challenge. It climbs from the ocean and gradually makes it way up to the top of the island. Amazing views. Lots of jungle so watch errant shots.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbncy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Haha..that is what my girl friend an I like to call it.

We stayed at the Four Season Nevis last year, November 2012. We had a time share over in St. Kitts and happened to take a day trip to Nevis. We stumbled upon the Four Seasons and ended up staying a couple of nights.

Loved the pool, service, sunsets and the food was amazing. We relished the easy going nature of Nevis. Romantic, relaxing, peaceful...

Room Tip: We had a view of the mountains. It was great having a morning mountain view for breakfast on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05152012gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband, our two teenagers, and I just got back from a five night stay in Nevis. Our favorite vacation ever was to the Four Seasons in Maui, so if you have been there, you may feel the same way. In Maui, we had so many WOW moments that we lost count, but in Nevis the WOWs didn't happen very often. I am not saying it was a bad vacation because we had a great time, but we were expecting a little more. It was our daughter's sweet sixteen birthday while we were there, and the WOW came when Vanessa brought our daughter a nevis sweatshirt as a gift. It made our daughter's day.

My rating is more of a good than a very good, but I thought that it was better than average. I don't like that the rating goes form average to very good. There is a big difference between the two.


Rooms - typical Four Seasons and very nice and large. We were in building three in an Ocean View/Front room. Our only complaint with the room - we paid $18 a day to have four devices on WIFI, and the only place we could get WIFI was on the balcony. Too hot during day and too many bugs outside at night. If we sat in a corner of the room and held up our device, we could get some spotty WIFI. However, we got great WIFI on the beach - go figure! The bathrooms are always great!

Housekeeping - was okay. They work on island time, so it happened some mornings early and at 4 pm other days. On the late days, it happened that we were back from an excursion and tired, and we got a knock on the door. When I asked if she could come back in 1/2 an hour, she rolled her eyes at me. But, our room was always cleaned well. We did miss turn down service some nights because we were already in the room and tired from the day. This was our fault, and not the housekeepings!

Food - okay. Nothing really blew us away. For what we spent (and we knew what to expect), it was acceptable food. We were never hungry, and we had a few good dishes - but nothing that I will miss when I am at home.

The breakfast was our favorite meal because the ladies who run the breakfast were amazing. These were some of the best Four Seasons employees at the resort. We enjoyed talking to them, and they even sent us home with some pastries for our long flight. Our kids were upset because there was no real breakfast buffet like other Four Seasons. There were only about 30 people total when we were there (in a resort they say is full at 700-800 people a night), so the buffet was just a cold buffet. This was something our kids looked forward to when I told them we were going to the Four Seasons. After a few days, the small selection on the breakfast menu got old. The breakfast food was good, though.

Same thing with lunch - the small menu was okay for a couple of days, but not for six days. We found that lunch service was not nearly as good as breakfast or dinner. Our lunches took an hour and a half, and dinner would be half the time. The servers at lunch were not as friendly, either.

We did find that there was no consistency with the menu. We ordered the same things on different days, and each time they were made differently. For instance, we ordered cheese quesadillas twice. The first day they were good with cheddar and other cheeses and peppers and onions. On day two, they were made with hot white cheese with pepper flakes only. Our daughter ordered penne pasta with tomato sauce - one night it was a cream tomato sauce with chunks of tomato. The second night it was a bright red sauce with whole cherry tomatoes.

Dinner - they alternated restaurants that were open, but we generally ate in the lobby and never had anything that we didn't like. We ate at Neve one night, and the pastas were our favorite. The desserts were all good wherever you got them, though. Our favorite was the Pizzelle with gelato.

Activities - we were a little upset that what is on the website is not necessarily what you get. We picked the resort because our kids loved the teen room at Maui. They advertised a teen room, but we were told it was closed when we arrived. Also, we went as a family to play shuffleboard (there is not a lot to do on the island). The concierge told us where to go. When we got there, the board was torn up and stacked, so it was completely out of order. It is a good thing that I packed UNO, and there was WIFI!

Golf course - played once. We were looking forward to a pristine course. Instead, the greens and fairways were not in great shape. The views were amazing, and the monkeys were fun to watch play in the sand and along the course, but the course needs a lot of attention. Good news is that if you bought $250 worth of golf clothes in pro shop, you got a complimentary round. So, we got some really great Four Seasons clothing.

Cabanas - rented one for two days. This was the best thing that we purchased on the trip. They were amazing. You have your own little house on the beach with a television, WIFI, refrigerator, and shade. This allowed us to play on the beach or in the pool, and get out of the hot sun while being pampered. This is where things were inconsistent, too. The first day, we didn't get great service. We were never offered the sorbet, flavored waters, mint towels, or Evian Spritz. We had to ask for everything that day. For $400 a day with tax, I don't want to ask. On the second day, we had much better service and we felt like the money was well spent. We even got a snack tray in the afternoon that we didn't ask for.

Excursions - we went on two booked through hotel. The first was a turtle walk at night. A taxi and guide took us to a beach to scout for turtles. They have people on all beaches, so when they find a turtle coming up to lay eggs, the turtle conservation people hold it to measure it and scrape off barnacles. They then call each other so that they know what beach to take you to. We saw a big turtle and even walked back to the sea with it when it was released. Be prepared to walk on difficult areas of the beaches. It is dark, there are lots of rocks to trip on, and when the tide is high, you are walking in the water at times because of the wall of sand.

We also did a catamaran snorkeling trip - great trip to St. Kitts. The guides were fun to be with, and they even had our daughter who hates boats at ease. We should have done this a second day because we had such a great experience.

Monkey hunt - one night we got our own carts to go and look for monkeys. We went too late and only saw a few monkeys. The next day, the bellhop drove us around, and we saw a ton of monkeys everywhere. There were so many little babies! They would even play fight in the sand traps!

Snorkeling at the beach - we did this one day. We saw some fish, but the water was not super clear like on our catamaran trip.

We loved that fact that there were days when we only saw a couple of other people at the resort. By the weekend, it was a little busier. On the other hand because there were so few people there, there were few food choices, restaurant choices, and activities. But at the end of the trip, we really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. We packed a lot of dressy clothes, but we didn't wear them much. I am sure in high season that it is more formal.

The people were all very nice, and they were always worried if we were having a good time. They love their island, and it shows. We loved to sit in the lobby at night and enjoy the breezes and atmosphere.

There are a lot of great picture spots around hole 15 on the golf course. It is on a hill that overlooks the sea. Plus, we saw a lot of monkeys around there.

Use the flashlight in your room when you walk down to Sunshines. There is a dark stretch of beach. We didn't go anywhere else off of property - some of the restaurants were still closed because of the season. Sunshine made us feel at home, and we liked hearing his stories.

We will probably go back because it is easier to get to than Hawaii. Take out the small hiccups, and we had a great family vacation. With the Four Seasons name, we just expect it to be better than anything else. It had its moments, but they were not all of the trip.

Room Tip: We were in building three on the second floor. The walk was short to the great house, beach, and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disneylunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff is excellent as well as the food and surroundings. Had great responses from every person we encountered in our stay at Four Seasons Nevis. The infinity pool and the surroundings were clean, the landscaping was beautiful and the bedding was luxurious.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are excellent. They even quietly clean the balcony while you sleep. I opened the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The customer service and location of this property are exceptional. After landing in St. Kitts we were immediately greeted and taken to a boat to take us to Nevis. On the trip to the dock the driver provided a lot of history and interesting facts about St. Kitts while pointing out landmarks. On the boat, you were greeted with rum punch or Carib (beer) and offered complimentary 10 minute massages.

The rooms were immaculate and you felt like you had the beautiful beach to yourself. The spa was great and the couples massage was amazing. We did the catamaran snorkeling and the bike tour, both of which I recommend.

The restaraunts on site are excellent but I also strongly suggest eating at Bananas which the concierge recommended. You are literally surrounded by fire flies and it makes it a very romantic setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.5 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
10.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#4 of 7 in Nevis
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Property: Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Address: Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Nevis. A tropical oasis located lifetimes away from the hustle and bustle of the Caribbean-flush with sugar-soft beaches and sweeping vistas of rainforest, discover equal parts serenity and tropical adventure around every bend. Set off to the little-known island of Nevis and escape to the farthest reaches of your imagination. Here, the island is your oyster. Tee off by sunset at our Robert Jones-designed golf course, catch your own lobster for dinner or fall asleep along a beach of your choosing. How it plays out is up to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Hotel Charlestown
4 Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Four Seasons Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Charlestown
Four Season Nevis
Charlestown Four Seasons
4 Seasons Nevis
Four Season Hotel Nevis
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing