We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time on Nevis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“First time on Nevis”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in early August.

Since this was "hurricane season" the rates were significantly less than in high season.We felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves! Good weather overall.

Room:
Stayed in a Deluxe Oceanview Room on the 2nd story of the Coconut Walk building.
Double bedded room had a pull out couch area and small table with 2 chairs. The room layout was exactly like the Four Seasons in Maui, but this one had tile floors. The porch area had two lounge chairs as well as other seating. Very nice quality and well kept.
TV - Great channels! All U.S network channels, plus Movie channel, HGTV, ESPN, Cartoon network, to name a few.
The A/C worked wonderfully in our room and really chilled the room to our liking.
iPod docking station, DVD player, and safe were available


Pools:
Very expansive grounds. The resort has 3 pools that are spread out along the beach side. 1 of those pools is an "adult only" pool, and it is at the southernmost point of the resort. There are multiple towel stands with complimentary sunscreen/cooling gel options for guests. Despite staying in the off season, our glasses were always filled with water by passing servers. Pools were clean and had plenty of lounge chairs/umbrellas to pick from. There is a large hot tub by the main pool area.

If you're a jogger, the resort map has 3 different trails you can pick from. There are 10 tennis courts on the backside of the resort near the sports facility which houses the 1,500 sq ft gym.

Arrival:
Our flight landed at 2:05pm from MIA, and we deplaned on the small St. Kitts runway. We waited 30 mins to clear customs in St. Kitts...We chose to be picked up by the Four Seasons staff so we paid $130 upon reserving the hotel, to be taken from the airport in a taxi bus to the dock where we boarded the small ferry. We did have to wait on 3 other groups of people before heading to the dock, so if you're the first one through customs...you may/may not be waiting for others. There are a number of other ferries that go back and forth from each island for $12 pp each way, but we did not check into that. The ferry process takes about 35-45 mins from dock to dock. They serve rum punch and bottled water.

Once you arrive you are met at the dock with a guest service rep who escorts you to your room. You never "check in" at a desk. Your luggage is delivered to your room after you arrive.

Wifi:
Wifi is included in the room rate with 1 device per room, per day. You can pay to upgrade your service if you choose to. No problems connecting; good strength. They even have wifi on the beach! Very helpful.

Dining:
Had dinner at Neve one evening. They offer a basket of bread w/olive oil and balsamic vinegar to start each meal. Opted for the margherita pizza and pappardelle bolognese. All purchases on the resort incur the automatic 15% gratuity and 12% VAT tax. Mangos was another restaurant directly on the beach that we tried. We did not need reservations, but went right when they opened at 6pm. Great music! Food was good too. Nothing extraordinary.

The Coral Grill is more of an upscale dining option. Although we did not bring any long pants, they were quite welcoming when we arrived in collared shirts and khaki shorts. This was our best meal on the island. Had the nightly special, "Surf N Turf" with 4 oz filet, lobster tail, mashed potatoes and vegetables: $48 usd. Also ordered the lobster mac n cheese as a side. Highly recommend having dinner here at least once.

Neve - Buffet Breakfast each morning is $34 pp, and includes the full spread from meats to cheeses, omelet station, cereals, pancakes, coffee/juices. There is a $24 option that consists of just cereals/yogurts and pastries.

Room Service:
All prices are the same as you would find in the restaurants except for the extra $5 delivery fee. Definitely recommend the Chicken Burger! Always on time or early.


Beach:

I'm a HUGE "clear, blue water, and white sand" kind of person, but here it's a little different. The water is, in fact, very clear and different shades of blue...but because the sand is comprised of volcanic ash...it doesn't pop like it does in Turks and Caicos or Grand Cayman. The beach at the Four Seasons is actually called "Pinney's Beach" and is about 3 miles long. The beach is very groomed and clean, plenty wide, and has a ton of lounge chairs and umbrellas for use. The servers were very gracious and accommodating. The sand is almost a light shade of grey. The water is VERY calm which makes it perfect for wading in the water or snorkeling. Snorkeling equipment is complimentary for 2 hrs each day at the water sports desk. Also, the sand is plenty soft so there is no reason to bring the water shoes.

Grocery Store:
Ask the concierge to set you up with a taxi that will take you to the ValuMart IGA nearby. It's $20 r/t and you get 15 mins to shop for groceries. Every 15 mins thereafter is $5. I believe it's open 9-8pm and is a about 10 mins away from the resort. Prices are in European Currency so though a box of cheez-its say $18, they are a little less than half of that. Currently $1us = $2.48EC.

Monkeys:
Green Vervet monkeys inhabit the Island of Nevis...mostly on the golf course. I was hoping that they'd be on the resort but that's not the case. You can take a long walk on one of the trails to see them. They will not let you get too close to them; they'll scatter once you arrive.

Happy Hour:
While we were there, the 2-for-1 Happy Hour was available at the Beach Cabana from 4:30-5:30 each day and at the pools. Drinks are normally $12. Definitely recommend the Nevisian Spirit Cocktail.

Misc:

Although the room has a small coffee pot, head to the lobby where you can partake in their complimentary "fancy" coffee machine each morning. A lot more options available here (cafe latte, espresso, regular drip coffee)

There is not much to do after the sun goes down. The resort is VERY dark; I actually think they need a LOT more lighted pathways. There is a flashlight in your room which I assume is for this purpose.

Hope this helps!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelerDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for coming to visit Nevis for the first time and for your thorough and informative review that I am sure other TA members will apppreciate! We especially enjoyed all the images you posted! They are great!

Also, we just wanted to note that we have do keep our night lighting on the beach adjusted for wildlife preservation reasons for endangered species and have been consulted by sea turtle scientists and experts to maintain a balance of lighting that can create a safe environment for both our guests and se aturtles. We do have sea turtle nesting activity and hatchling emergences on the Nevis beaches and the lights disorient the creatures. The flashlights are less harming as they are intermittent light patterns. Thought you might find that tidbit interesting though we appreciate your input and will continue to monitor the issue to ensure the right balance.

Sincerely yours,
Tara MacIntyre
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    220
    74
    34
    10
See reviews for
405
687
17
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Be careful booking things through the Four Seasons. We have stayed on the island twice previously so know what the locals usually charge for things. For example...a round trip taxi from the Montpelier to Nisbet is $50. Round trip from the Four Seasons (which is much closer) $60. A rental car on St. kitts for the day $66, elsewhere on Nevis $50 a day, booked through the Four Seasons $120 a day. Tip...walk to Sunshine's or Lime's for a $2 Carib instead of paying $5 - $7 for the LOCAL beer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyndiWilson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I just arrived home from an almost 1 week stay. From the moment that we were greeted at the boat by Bernadetter who then showed us to our room and then tracked us down on the resort to give her mangos from her home to the pool service from Nicole and Samuel, everything was incredible. The resort was beautiful - lush and very tropical. Being able to see Mt. Nevis in the background every day was pretty special.

Food at the restaurants was all very good, not cheap, but I was not expecting it to be.

We took a taxi tour on the island that the concierge arranged with Nal McDonald which was just so much fun, informative and the scenery was so different from that of the resort. Nal was great. I would suggest that you request him if possible.

We took a tour of the villa rentals with Arlene. Not only were the villas wonderful, she took us on a tour around because my kids wanted to see some more monkeys that we had seen the previous day when we went on a golf course tour.

From top to bottom, this was the friendliest and most beautiful resort that I have ever been to. I dont know what the critics, as few as they are, are thinking of. This is the Four Seasons at its finest.

Room Tip: Building 7 has a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Four Seasons Nevis lives up to the hype. The staff is remarkably friendly and the service is among the best you will ever encounter. The facility is extremely tropical and only contains about 190 rooms, so you will likely not be crowded unless you hit the peak December-March timeframe.
The hotel has three pools, one that is adult only, and each pool offers peaceful fun. There are pool toys for the kids and attendants will make sure that you have all the drinks you could want.

We dined at several of the restaurants and found Mango to be our favorite, the Cabana offers poolside cuisine that can make both adults and kids happy. We rented a cabana on two days and found that to be exceptional way to enjoy the beach -- Roslyn is top flight and makes sure that everything about your personal cabana is perfect.

The gym is world class, very clean with several televisions and new equipment. The tennis facilities and golf course also do not disappoint -- everything about the facility lives up to the Four Seasons brand of excellence.

Yes, it is expensive but certainly no more expensive than Hawaii or other nice resorts in the Caribbean. Meals are in the $25-30 per entree price range and drinks are $12 by the pool. There is alos this pesky 12% VAT tax that gets added to everything you buy.

But in the end, the stunning beauty of Nevis combined with the exceptional friendliness of the staff at the Four Seasons make this a five star facility that should be on everybody's short list if you are looking for a quiet and exceptionally beautiful beach spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly PA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Loved our recent trip to Nevis. Everyone at the Four Seasons was Wonderful. Really enjoyed The Cabana, Neve and Mango restraunts - was less impressed with the Coral Grill. Jacqueline was our server on the Beach and she was the BEST!!! She made our trip extra special with her amazing smile and hospitality! Also, the manager of the Cabana - Camilla Stahl - was amazing! Camilla was so always so friendly and helpful! Special Thank you to both Camilla and Jacqueline for making our vacation extra special!!!! We are so greatful that we got to share time with you!

Room Tip: -Try to get a room away from Ice/Laundry Room (high traffic). -Enjoy a nice meal at Neve (the pasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on your recent Mother Daughters Getaway. We are delighted you had such a fun trip and appreicate you taking the time to aknowledge our staff and the service. We have shared your comments as well with Jacqueline and Camilla and know this brightened their day. Please do come and visit us again.

Best regards,
Tara MacIntyre
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our vacation was wonderful. The property is gorgeous and the people are so friendly. Angela Henville is fantastic. She is so warm and welcoming. She went out of her way to make sure our vacation was perfect! We went with two other couples and had the most amazing time. we stayed in a villa and enjoyed watching the sunsets in our pool. We loved so many of the staff that helped to make our vacation wonderful. Jacqueline would welcome us to the beach with towels, flavored water, Evian spray, and cold peppermint washcloths (my favorite!). At the cabana bar, Erstine was great everyday at happy hour. Three people of our party played a golf scramble on Friday and thought Nigel was fun and full of good stories. We also had the best massages at the spa. I wasn't much of a massage person but after the massage by Ruthlynn, I've changed my mind. We recommend asking for Humpy for your taxi driver and take his tour of the island. It was worth it. We had great meals at Mangoes with the unbelievable sunsets. Off the resort, we had lunch at Golden Rock (get the lobster sandwich) and dinner at Montpelier. Some other staff member that were terrific were- Glendon and Desmond (he showed us where 100's of monkeys were hanging out). We walked the "challenging" course of the golf course a couple of times and saw the best views. Wonderful place. I had read other reviews that the food was expensive but we did not think so and was delicious. We did have Humpy, the taxi driver, take us to the drink depot and Value mart and Rams for food to keep at the house. It was the most amazing vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Yes, this is expensive and still worth it! Our room was large, with wonderful amenities from l'Occitane. Bed very comfortable and daily turn-down service. Everybody was friendly and helpful in a non intrucive way. The beach was good with free beach chairs with two towels and free water during the day (flavoured as an option) all restaurants we tried had excellent food and the breakfast was fantastic, with the best omelette I ever had. We had a compant event at the hotel and I think it was the best organised event I have ever joined.
The spa was a dream my husband and I took the swedish partner massage.
Someone wrote the it is so good that you do not need to leave the resort and that is a statemsnt I usually do not like because I want to experience the real county and not just a resort, but... This is really a lovely and very special place!
I recommend this to everybody!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatarinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.5 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
10.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#4 of 7 in Nevis
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Property: Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Address: Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Nevis. A tropical oasis located lifetimes away from the hustle and bustle of the Caribbean-flush with sugar-soft beaches and sweeping vistas of rainforest, discover equal parts serenity and tropical adventure around every bend. Set off to the little-known island of Nevis and escape to the farthest reaches of your imagination. Here, the island is your oyster. Tee off by sunset at our Robert Jones-designed golf course, catch your own lobster for dinner or fall asleep along a beach of your choosing. How it plays out is up to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Hotel Charlestown
4 Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Four Seasons Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Charlestown
Four Season Nevis
Charlestown Four Seasons
4 Seasons Nevis
Four Season Hotel Nevis
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing