We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had dinner at Montpelier for my birthday while staying at nearby Golden Rock Inn. The setting was lovely as this part of Relias & Chateaux group, it did not disappoint. We were greeting at the front by the owner, who was kind enough to show us around to the three available spots for dinner. We decided on Indigo, which is by the pool and casual, although we were dressed for a proper dinner. The menu is more broad. The Terrace dining had a fixed price dinner which looked wonderful, but we decided for more selection.
The bar and pool are gorgeous, especially at night where they are lite perfectly. There is "modern" artwork all over the hotel, which is a nice contrast to the stonework. I wished I had learned more about the artist as I admired the work a great deal.
After drinks at the bar (we had reservations, but we were not rushed into them), we sat down to a lovely meal. The sweet potato fries seemed very popular with nearby tables so we tried them out and were delighted.
I had Wahoo, which was excellent. For desert my husband had the warm browning and I had the coconut ice cream (lovely!). The service was friendly and efficient.
I think we may stay here the next time we visit Nevis :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    53
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
213
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at the Montpelier and loved it! The grounds are amazing and the entire staff is welcoming and pleasant. Plus they have 2 dogs that love to play fetch and relax by you on the hammock. The beach is a short van ride away but once you are there they have everything you need to enjoy your day. We had a package where we had breakfast every day and the food was always fantastic. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking to get away from it all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were a little distressed when we arrived at Montpelier due to an unfortunate incident at another hotel and found the peace and tranquillity (at least for the first few days) a delight. Cady, the barman at the Indigo restaurant was wonderful with the most beautiful smile and laugh and the food at the Indigo was great. The disappointment came from the food at the 750 Terrace Restaurant. We are used to fine dining at Michelin starred restaurants in England and were led to believe the food was superb. It actually wasn`t up to its reputation. The set meal is 75 US dollars per head, with three choices of main courses, one being vegetarian, one being some form of meat and the other some sort of fish. My husband found the meal very poor on both occasions that we ate there and my lobster on the last night was only part cooked and really tough. We had ordered wine, and it didn`t arrive, but after a poor amuse bouche and a poor main course, we decided to leave anyway. The indigo restaurant food was another matter, with the pasta to die for, but unfortunately on two nights out of the week it was closed, leaving no alternative but to eat in the Terrace Restaurant. The atmosphere was view was great, pity about the food!!
The other problem was a wedding that took over the bar and pool, leaving nowhere for us to go. It was very disruptive and it would have been nice to have been forewarned so that we were prepared for the noise of the group and realised that it didn`t go on too late. As it was we were left to wonder what time we could expect it to last until. I did feel it was only good manners to inform the residents. Having said all this the place is really good apart from the food. The pool is great and the grounds are great to wander around and play ball with the two labs. If the food was better it would be perfect, but at the price you pay you do expect better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and I honestly don`t think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz190739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Another member of the Relais & Chateaux network, where just about everything is perfect. About 17 rooms, capably run & owned by the Hoffman family in every fine detail, one of whom is likely to welcome you at check in. Seductive tropical landscaping surrounding the reused portions of a sugarcane refinery..including a windmill, now a gourmet restaurant. All on a hilltop 750 feet high with rooms all facing a lawn dotted with fruit trees (like mango) bordering on a rain forest..and then a steep drop to the Caribbean..what a view !! Exquisite food...an open air bar by the pool, where very friendly staff know you right away, so no need to even sign for your drinks ! Airy, but slightly-spartan, nicely air-conditioned rooms.

Here's the "problem". There's basically nothing else on the 40 square mile island of Nevis (population 10,000). To their credit, the islanders are uniformly courteous and don't have "attitude" so common on other islands. But right outside the picturesque plantation property reality sets in..a pot-holed, semi-paved two-lane road populated by sheep and goats. Scruffy pasture..occasional unattractive vacation homes for North Americans. Second growth greenery over former sugar fields is less than spectacular. Charlestown, the so-called capital city, can be missed in a long sneeze ! No shopping. Most Nevisian beaches are short on wide sandy expanses and clear turquoise, travel-poster, water. Very few off-premises restaurants (one interesting one is called "Lime"). The largest resort on Nevis is a golf resort as exotic as a country club in the Chicago suburbs ! Arrival from the St. Kitts Airport is also a bit of a downer..Basse Terre, St. Kitt's capital, is a dump ! And the 3 mile ferry ride to Nevis is also forgettable (and expensive)

Conclusion: if you accept Montpelier's own description that it's a "boutique hideaway"..i.e., you go there and stay put..this Shangrila is definitely for you. And we met a number of folks who come back year after year to rendez-vous with other guests they first met here.

Room Tip: They're all first story "cabins" facing the lawn and drop-dead ocean/rain-forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find the Montpelier Plantation even more sophisticated and welcoming than we imagined from reviews and online research! I would call it Four Seasons type style with personal, friendly service and low-key relaxation... The restored sugar mill is the heart of the main social area where guests are treated to an exquisite gourmet dinner exclusive with only 5 tables possible in the candle-lit Mill Privee' (book this in advance for a perfectly romantic evening). Breakfast of fresh pastries, granola, yougurt (to die for) - all made in-house by Nevisian cooks - local fruits & entree choices from a menu - all made getting up and over to the lovely breakfast area much anticipated!
The family that owns the Montpelier live on the property and they & their staff are friendly, efficient and eager to make you feel welcome and happy. What a great place to totally relax, do some exploring around the laid-back, scenic island and enjoy excellent cuisine in a gorgeous setting. Soooo glad we stayed here. Visiting other properties on the island during our exploration by rental car told us the Montpelier was the BEST choice for us~~

Room Tip: Since rooms are bungalows spread around the property on the mountain side, all give great views of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Montpelier for 4 nights on our honeymoon. I am SO glad we booked at this beautiful resort. Our room had an amazing view of both the mountains (Saddle Hill) and the ocean. My favorite part about this resort is the pool area. They take such good care of maintaining the property - everything is clean and well-groomed. Fresh towels available every day and the bartender even brings glasses of ice water to the guests who are laying out in the sun. Every detail is taken care of and you don't have to worry about a thing. There is no comparison between an all inclusive resort (like Riu, Iberostar, etc) where you have to fight to get a chair by the pool and the service is lousy. At Montpelier, there are few guests, so you never have to fight for a chair and the staff actually learns your name and takes care of you! Breakfast each morning was included in our room rate (it's a English continental breakfast, which did the trick almost every morning). If you wanted more food, you could order from the full menu which had eggs and more.

We drove to the private beach one day - the water and the views were nice. Not much to do there though but sit. There were maybe two other couples there besides us while we were there.
I'd definitely recommend renting a car on Nevis - that is the way to go. Much easier to get around at your leisure and explore on your own. We enjoyed this little luxury so we didn't have to wait for the shuttle to take us back and forth to the beach.

We rented a car for our stay, and the only complaint I'd have is that the road to the car parking area is extremely bumpy! We had to endure the rocky, broken road in our car twice or more a day, and it was a pain. Wouldn't hurt to re-pave the road a little.

Lastly - the prices are definitely a little high for the portions. But I was sort of expecting that. I ordered the scrambled eggs with lobster (was $25) and there were tiny little morsels of lobster next to the eggs. Not filling for the price. Also - the dinner at the Mill was lovely (which was 4 courses of food), but my husband was hungry later that evening, as the portions are not that filling. That came out to about $90 per person.

Other than that, I would definitely return. Thanks to the staff for making sure we were comfortable at all times!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great view of Saddle Hill and the ocean. Very close to breakfast and the pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Really beautiful place. Relaxed, tastefully decorated, wonderful staff, happy to help with any request and the best food on the island (we visited all the top trip advisor restaurants on the island). The owner is such a lovely lady, always spend time speaking to the guests if she is available and has some fantastic stories. One day the staff organized cricket on the beach with an amazing lobster BBQ, the owner discreetly took some photos and then printed them out for us the next day, which was so kind. The manager is also great, very personable and happy to help.

Rooms and large, with a big bathroom and our had a view down to the sea

Thoroughly recommend. You are treated like the very welcome and important friend, rather than just a guest as with some larger hotel chains. It makes all the difference.

Ps we were is Nevis for the Triathlon which was also amazing. Such a brilliant community feel, and the water is so so clear and blue. Simply paradise.

Room Tip: We had room 16, beautiful view to the sea and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
5.1 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
19.3 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
13.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
5.6 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpelier Plantation & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Property: Montpelier Plantation & Beach
Address: Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montpelier Plantation & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpelier Plantation & Beach is an elegant hideaway in the heart of the Caribbean. Nevis is an unspoiled island with stunning natural beauty. Only 6 miles from the beach, the hotel is idyllically situated 750 feet above the Caribbean Sea in the foothills of Nevis Peak. Surrounded by 60 acres of lush tropical gardens and built around one of the island’s original 18th century sugar plantations, this charming getaway is delightfully secluded. Carefully designed to let the fresh sea air and tranquility connect you to a simpler way of life. This unique getaway proudly offers Relais & Chateaux hospitality including fine wine and food with wellness that is both active and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montpelier Plantation & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpelier Plantation And Beach
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Hotel Charlestown
Montpelier Plantation Hotel
Hotel Montpelier Plantation
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Nevis/Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing