We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Burger on Nevis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Burger on Nevis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you are visiting Nevis I highly recommend eating here. The burgers are very good, especially with goat cheese. I also drank the fruit smoothie and it was amazing (although it could have been cheaper). The atmosphere and view is great while the service is average to below average (slow lifestyle of Nevisians, everything is going to be on island time there).

Room Tip: Get the burger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A truly magnificent setting that has been undergoing renovations in the past few years. The grounds and restaurant area have been the focus though. The rooms haven't been significantly upgraded. They're nice but not high-end luxury like Four Seasons, etc. However, it's such a stunning property and the garden and restaurant area renovations are so magnificent it more than makes up for the casual nature of the accommodations. The innkeeper Peter works his butt off making everyone comfortable and informed. The new owners are pouring lots of love and energy into the place and it has become a major destination for Nevis visitors. The restaurant is superb. We had our honeymoon meal right out in the middle. It was the most romantic and touching thing about our whole holiday. We would return in a heartbeat. Nevis is a relatively untouched island with a charm all it's own. Golden Rock seems to be trying to maintain that. One downside is that there is no air conditioning (at least not in our bungalow). I don't think this is a problem for a lot of people and there are breezes generally. But just an FYI.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms that are higher up may get a better breeze than those down low. The windmill r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadamBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
598 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This really is a must see venue for lunch or dinner. Outstanding landscaping around the fish pools and truly a unique setting. i imagine it is stunning at night too. Best wahoo fish sandwich on nevis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Golden Rock is the most beautiful resort I have ever seen. Walking into the outdoor dining area took my breathe away, the details that the owners have out in are second to none.

I hope to get the chance to visit here again, I must stay in Nevis!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coca905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had dinner as a group at Golden Rock. Originally it was a sugar plantation and still has the sugar tower which looks like it was transformed into a room for rent. We walked around on the paths at night and could tell that there was more to see in the day so we came back the next day and it was great. The grounds are full of great tropical foliage and well worth the time to walk. Dinner the night before was good and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Golden Rock is golden...the decor, views, staff at the restaruant where we had lunch..I just wanted to stay forever. Unfortunately all we could do was lunch, but it was heavenly. If I could go back I'd definitely chose the Golden Rock for a few nights.

With a party of six, everyone chose differently; however it was my Tuna Nicoise that was the star..everyone else wanted it. Our waitress was a lovely local woman we so enjoyed talking to, another one was younger and very outgoing and fun. Very welcoming to non-guests.

Such a great spot; they all loved working in the beauty of the restaurant among the gardens, fish ponds, decor...outstanding!

Service and food was top notich. If you have a chance go for the beauty of the mountain side of Nevis. Hopefully it will never change.

Tranquilty with a splash of eccentricity....I sure wish I could have met the owners!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous and amazing!! So quiet and tranquil. A must go to place if you want peace and quiet. And the views are amazing!! Very zen-like and serene. There are so many trails and hidden little gems to discover. Very romantic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DawnN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.5 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
5.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#3 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
6.0 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in New Castle
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
#2 of 6 in Charlestown
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Property: Golden Rock Inn
Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing