We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Rock, Nevis”
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

December 2013. Nevis is a little jewel of loveliness in the Caribbean Sea and Golden Rock is the extra sparkly bit on the top. It is exquisitely pretty. Situated on the mountain above Gingerland it is high enough to be above the mosquito line with a lovely gentle breeze to keep you cool; no need for mosquito nets or air conditioning. The views across the sea to Redonda, Monserrat and Antigua are quite stunning.

In the day eat a lobster sandwich in the courtyard, enjoy a swim in the generous sized pool or go for a mountain hike. Watch out for the monkeys!

In the evening eat in the excellent terrace restaurant.

This hotel is delightfully un-hotelly. It feels exclusive and friendly. The staff are charming. I couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Annabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this place. For starters, the staff is first-class. As others have noted, Peter, the GM is incredibly kind and gracious. He always has a way of appearing when you need him. Sarah went above and beyond for me to retrieve something I had left at the Marriott on St. Kitts, lined up restaurant reservations and the water taxi and cab back to the airport for our departure.
The gardens envelop you from the moment you arrive on the grounds. The views the peer out behind the gorgeous foliage are spectacular. It is clear that the owners have meticulously attended to every detail... and spared no cost.
It is serene and peaceful with quiet nature hikes to enjoy... which was right up our alley. The pool is a great hangout spot also with great views. Note: adventure seekers looking for lots of action will not find it here.
We absolutely loved the food and enjoyed great wine. The restaurant has inventive dishes with something for everyone. The chowder, mahi mahi and lemongrass shrimp dish were the standouts. We were traveling with our newborn and found this to be the perfect, romantic and therapeutic 4-day vacation.We stayed in the Sugar Mill which is a 2-story, 2 bedroom and provided us with more than enough space.
There were many guests from the Four Seasons who came to dine at the restaurants while we were there. They all remarked how beautiful it was and wondered how we found it! I think they had hotel envy :) We are so looking forward to our next visit back to Nevis and, more specifically, Golden Rock. Thanks to the entire staff for a magical, memorable stay.
Note: I highly recommend the water taxi over the ferry to travel from St. Kitts to Nevis. Well worth the extra $.

Room Tip: Sugar Mill is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stlbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Golden Rock has figured out how to do the “boutique hotel” thing, beautifully. It is charming, and completely unpretentious, but understands the benefit of a great mattress. Picturesque doesn't begin to describe the setting. The food is really excellent – as I write I am craving a slice of pumpkin “sweet bread”. The facilities are well maintained, but if you are looking for a "resort", this isn't it. For me, that is a compliment. I am not a good resort “camper”. A rental car is key, unless you are happy just hanging out. The staff is friendly,very attentive, and really gives personal attention to every guest.

A highlight for all of us was the "Source" hike. The trail begins at the hotel and goes through the rainforest to the source of water that established the island. It was a hot, steep hike that we will all remember. Maps are available at Golden Rock's office. The hike takes a few hours. We ran out of time before we got to the more challenging Peak hike. Next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontrealTravelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went for dinner last night with my girlfriend, we both had the chicken and crushed green olives which was superb - easily the best food I've had on the island during our stay. The setting is also wonderful, views of the eastern beaches and great garden landscaping littered with candles made it hugely enjoyable. Like everything else on this island though you pay for what you get - a meal for two set us back around 100USD without dessert!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As the sun sets over the beach, head up the mountain to Golden Rock - THE place to go for the best cocktails on the island, and the most beautiful scenery. The feel of the restaurant is like a castle with a secret garden with koi ponds, sliced with modern elements throughout. We have been here three times, and have tasted nearly everything on the menu. I recommend the chowder, the beef, and the mahi mahi. The chicken leaves something to be desired. We had our rehearsal dinner here with 27 attendees and everything was flawless. The service is great. Take time to speak with Peter, the manager, he has some great tales to share. Budget around 3 hours for dinner - take time to explore the grounds and expect the food to take some time.

If you have children age 3-7 that will be running around, consider finding a sitter for the night. The rocky steps aren't safe for running. And although there is a small kids' area inside, the koi ponds will be much more appealing for that age.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Darcie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Came here for lunch, eating in the outdoor area, overlooking the koi pond and small stone gazebo. Wow -- the landscaping and architectural design are unlike anything we've seen in the Caribbean. Its grounds are lush and rainforest-y but also have touches of Asian design elements, especially in the Chinese red doors and shutters which just pop against the gray stone buildings. There are also quirky, artistic furnishings. And, the ladies' room was so stunning I wanted to take a photo. Seriously! We both had a lobster roll sandwich - delicious. I highly recommend the Golden Rock for a memorable meal in a very unique setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons but came to this absolutely charming property for dinner one night. The service was excellent. The waitresses were charming and knowledgeable about the menu. My husband had the conch chowder to start and he reckons that was the best thing out of many good things that he had eaten during our stay on Nevis. The whole meal was a success from the fish that I had as a main course to the succulent rack of lamb enjoyed by my husband. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woldtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
2.1 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
4.1 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
197 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
#2 of 6 in Charlestown
144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: $243 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing