We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great food”

Chevy's Calypso Beach Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place with great food”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A year on from our last visit and Chevy's has grown with a new bar nearer the sea. Same lovely people, food and atmosphere. Pick the right day to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“They must have seen me coming!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went on catamaran trip to PInneys beach whilst on cruise which stopped at St Kitts last week. Whilst on beach, middle aged Rasta man suggested we try Chevy's which was more than happy to do. Said man then charged us 15 US dollars for 2 Carib beers and bottle of ting, which is grapefruit pop for those who don't know. Thought it expensive but didn't say anything. 2 other Brits then came in and were served by another chap and charged 4 US for 2 Caribs! Still didn't make a fuss though but didn't get another drink there. Cool place though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice spot to have a quiet conversation, Chevy the man is quite personable. It was my first visit to this location,”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I would not hesitate to visit when next I am in Nevis. Because I am a lover of calypso music and I have great respect for calypsonians, meeting and chatting with the man Chevy was truly informative. Walk Good folks. Chevy is the place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Jerk Chicken in a friendly, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Definitely worth heading here for lunch. Food is fresh and flavorful and Chevy himself is there to say hi. Bring a flag or license plate and help decorate the walls, which are covered with these from past visitors. Night life is supposed to be great too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Touring_Foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's an island ting!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Brilliant place to drink and the buffalo wings are amazing. Sunday night is an experience with a local reggae night, very amusing. Chevy couldn't do enough for us and helped us out with all sorts of things around the island. Definate must do on Nevis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chevy's Calypso Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing