We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Yachtsman Grill

Yachtsman Grill
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on pristine beachfront with uncluttered and spectacular views of St. Kitts. Open daily for lunch and dinner 12pm-9pm. Located only minutes from the Four Seasons. Certified Black Angus Steaks, fresh lobster, fresh seafood and pasta and thin crust pizza oven using only the highest quality tomatoes for our sauce and toppings. Enjoy an extensive selection of wines by the glass or by the bottle and specialty drinks and cocktails always available. Relax in comfortable beach lounge chairs with umbrellas available daily. You'll find our friendly and attentive staff eager to serve you.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

And make sure that you try the lime smoothies!

This was a real treat to come upon on the shore. The hostess/waitress was very welcoming. And the blackened snapper sandwich was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSP10504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynYachtsman, Owner at Yachtsman Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I'm glad you found us! The lime smoothie you had is made from fresh limes and lemons - glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for posting about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    101
    29
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service, food and owners”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I went to this place, all it does it to attract drunk students - their PR is Medical students come for a cheap beer and they old are drunk and loud. Talking about food, like an advanced McDonalds, who goes to an island to eat McDonalds? Food is not worth it what so ever, (it is a rip-off) also service is SUPER slow let's say they go beyond taking their time. Looking for a fun place and great food go to Golden Rock, Indian Summer, Banana etc.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynYachtsman, Owner at Yachtsman Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you had a bad time at YG. It sounds like perhaps you came in on a Tuesday when we do cater to medical students by offering unheard of low prices - $5 for a generous portion taco and a beer! The fish is freshly breaded and fried to order. Locals and tourists also enjoy 'Taco Tuesday' making for a fun-filled atmosphere. On occasion some of our guests (even including the tourists who stay at the hotel on premises) get a little noisy - they are having fun - most are Americans craving American food. On Friday's we serve all-you-can-eat fish 'n chips for only $20usd - our British guests have said that they're better than home! Perhaps you would give us another try on a different night - our local chefs are always prepared to serve our fish 'local' style - just ask! 869-469-1382
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great laid back Steaks on the beach”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Took the family to this restaurant on a recommendation, what a great night we had. I was apprehensive when i got told Steaks on the beach but that was soon dispelled when i seen how many they where cooking on the charcoal grill, the steaks where very good, i thought they had a special chef's rub on the meat but was told this was actually the grill and the local charcoal, amazing, the staff where brilliant and my daughter left her teddy in the restaurant and it was returned the next morning, great night out and a very friendly patronage and staff, we will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvelynYachtsman, Owner at Yachtsman Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank-you for your kind words. Yes, the charcoal is made locally, not too far from the restaurant, from the Acacia tree. We're glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The beach was always clean and well maintained. The staff were always polite and helpful. This is one of the more expensive places to eat, but it has a good ambience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniJohn-MrCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Extremely tasty! The fishcakes were divine, and the location is stunning.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PetraJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yachtsman Grill also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Yachtsman Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing