We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanical Gardens of Nevis

Botanical Gardens of Nevis
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Queen City Nevis Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Holds a wide variety of tropical plants & fruit gardens, orchids gardens;Amazonian Rainforest with Birds, Parrots & tropical fish; Waterfalls, Fountains, Vine Gardens. ON premises, Oasis Thai Restaurant and the a well-stocked and reasonable Galleria Gift Shop
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The orchid gardens and the thai restaurant are terrific. It is a lovely place to stroll and then have lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pampurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    84
    31
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am an avid gardener. so I was very excited to visit the gardens. It was nice but I have been to better. Seems like it is not being kept up…..very few of the fountains were working. It was like they just did not bother to turn them on. This had an impact on visitors, as there are many water features which would have been very nice to see, if they had been working. Also, they could do with more detail and plant descriptions. Some plants were labeled and some were not. Also, they promote a garden shop, which I was very excited about. However, it was just a gift shop and not much garden stuff. Suggestions would be: books on local plants, small decorative pots (not giant ones locked in a container), garden tools, etc that one could purchase and take back home. I once visited a similar type operation in Ireland, and it was fabulous. They could do so much more!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank aggiemom4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a relaxing morning exploring these lovely gardens. There is a thai restaurant there which we didn't et in but had a good selection of home made refreshing drinks and the balcony overlooked the gardens.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent a couple of hours there - it's not just the tropical plants but also the variety of statuary. Beautifully tended and laid out. And when you are thirsty the restaurant in the former Great House serves hand pressed juices to order.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

While on holiday in Nevis we visited this little botanical garden a little way off the main road and well worth the detour. From the moment you enter the gates a feeling of peace overwhelms you, it is pleasantly shady with beautiful planting much of it clearly labelled, intriguing statues artistically placed and water features to complete the ambience.
Make sure you time your visit to allow yourself lunch in the restaurant as apart from the views the food there is above and beyond anything we have ever experienced in a botanical garden before. The gardens are owned by a Thai family and they are very much involved in working in the garden, shop, restaurant and ticket booth so they are anxious that every visitor is made to feel welcome and able to enjoy the gardens to the max.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank whitesheilagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens of Nevis also viewed

Charlestown, Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Botanical Gardens of Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing