We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocktails @ sunset; Charmed dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated on the edge of the Rainforest Bananas is casual fun dining in a magical setting. We take our food very seriously but it is good home cooking prepared by hard working local ladies, not fancy or Gourmet.. However our menu is very creative and we use only fresh ingredients and where possible free range organic produce and meats. We have Magnificent Sunset views from our Firefly lounge and a superb selection of cocktails and old rums and a small selection of cuban Cigars.
Nevis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cocktails @ sunset; Charmed dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Al's specialty cocktails pack a wallop so be careful. The trees and foliage have matured over the last two years, so one can hardly glimpse the sea any longer until some pruning happens so enjoy being surrounded by the lush tropical rainforest. We enjoyed spicy Shrimp Red Curry and well seasoned pan seared Wahoo. Very satisfying. Would definitely again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    99
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“A WONDERFUL and one-of-a-kind experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We visited Bananas restaurant on our vacation in Nevis and was nothing but satisfied and pleasantly surprised! We had heard about the place from other people who had visited before and was encouraged to have dinner here during our stay. From the moment we walked up the intimately lit walkway to the group photo taken with the entire staff at the end of our meal... the entire experience was incredibly special. The restaurant owner, Gillian was present and attentive to our every need and very friendly. She shared stories with us and opened her restaurant and heart to us during our entire visit. I was also impressed with the food. I had the lobster and a pear and goat cheese salad for dinner. Gillian recommended many special additions to our meals. I have never had lobster prepared the way I had it at Bananas. She added a spicy tomoto salsa to the lobster and the salad dressing was homemade in house:) We were with kids (13 and 16) and the entire staff was helpful, friendly, and so very attentive to their every need. We had a wonderful time and even considered returning to eat at Bananas again during the next 3 days of our stay in Nevis. I had a special and memorable night at this restaurant and am happy to share this story. I hope that anyone visiting Nevis will definitely visit this special place. Gillian and her entire staff are wonderful people and I can't imagine anyone having a bad time here:)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jess901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
“The absolute highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I went to Bananas with our two teenage-children and two family friends. We had heard wonderful things about the food but had no idea what to expect. The owner, Gillian Suiter-Lowe, sets the stage by warmly welcoming her guests personally into the colorful, eclectic house that is Bananas. She lives in the back in a charming cottage with her 8 dogs, a few of whom wander through the restaurant to greet guests. Everyone, from the waiters to the chef to the bartender, felt like family by the end of the evening. Gillian offers an international menu with a Caribbean twist. The pear, goat cheese and walnut salad and the lobster with a side of curry and basmati rice were absolutely delicious. And the coconut cake was the perfect ending to the perfect meal. The atmosphere is so relaxed and inviting, we felt like we were having dinner at a friend's home, albeit one who cooks amazingly well!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very fun, with delicious food - an excellent island experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a lovely meal at Bananas. It was our first night in Nevis and we wanted something that would give us a local flavor. The food was delicious and the hospitality was excellent (although it was a bit odd to have a dog walking through the restaurant.) A very fun, delicious meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimABerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel tucked in the Queen of the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Without a doubt, our honeymoon in Nevis would not have been as special had it not been for the wonderful dining experience at Banana's Bistro. We loved it so much; we went twice on our 10 day trip. Banana's has a warm romantic Caribbean ambience whose view peaks over the island through swaying palms and native trees. The restaurant is splashed with beautiful paintings and mosaics from local artists. The service is some of the best we had on the island and don't be surprised when the owner comes by for a quick chat. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lobster was delicious, the lamb was succulent, and the Snapper and Mahi were fresh. As far as desert is concerned, we recommend the coconut cake with some homemade banana ice cream. Without a doubt, Banana's is a must visit for any traveler's trip to Nevis to be complete.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SSHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananas also viewed

 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing