We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!”
Review of Greg's Safaris

Greg's Safaris
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greg was born and brought up on St. Kitts and Nevis and following his return home from College in Nova Scotia Canada in 1980, started working at his Parents hotel, the Ocean Terrace Inn, with one of his jobs being to do tours for the hotels guests. While growing up on St. Kitts, Greg's parents became leaders in the local Tourism Industry, starting one of the first hotels in the islands, with Greg's Dad, eventually receiving the "Order of the British Empire" (OBE), from the St. Kitts Government for his outstanding achievements in local Industry. This has given Greg a unique grounding as well as a deep sense of understanding for his home country and coupled with his tourism training abroad, has allowed him to become one of leading and longest serving tour guides in the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg and his team of certified Tour Guides have won many awards from the Tourism Authority for their businesses high standards of service. From the very beginning Greg has used modified, 4X4 Land Rovers to do his "unique" island Safaris with. Being specially made, the 8 Land Rovers he uses today, are all open sided with mostly forward facing, stadium orientated seating, that provide his guests with the best way to experience exploring beyond the shores of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg's Safaris is the only tour company in the Federation that uses 4X4 Land Rovers for touring on both islands! For your private, half days hiking pleasure, Greg has created two "unique looped hiking trails", one at the Phillips Mountain Valley (2 miles long), and at the other at the Wingfield River Valley (2 1/2 miles long), on St. Kitts. His company is also the only one on St. Kitts to offer driving tours from coast to coast through the lushly forested interior and while traveling through the mountains his guests would have access to a private 5 acre "mountain top property", perched1000 feet sea level, a place of cool temperatures and breathtaking views, that can only be experienced on a "one of kind" 4X4 Safari Tour with him and his guides. Greg is one of the founding members of the St. Christopher National Trust and as well, sits on the Central Forest Reserve National Park Committee. He is also a Life Member of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, The Brimstone Hill National Park and is also part owner of Sky Safaris, a company he started in 2009.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We took Greg's 'Off the Beaten Track' 4x4 safari as I wanted to see some of the rainforest (and hopefully some hummingbirds). I did both and a lot more besides! The history of the sugar industry on the island was eye-opening. Greg's knowledge of the island, its history and the wildlife is extensive. Best of all the whole tour was delivered with warmth, humour and respect for the island and its people. Thanks Greg - good luck with your future ventures!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    78
    21
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fun ride and beautiful views”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I chose this because we wanted to see as much of St Kitts as possible during our port stop there.

Cass, our driver, did a wonderful job telling us about his island and driving us through the rainforest and up to 1000 feet where the views were lovely and we got to sample some of the local rum - very tasty.

We also made a stop at a beach where we were given the opportunity to change and swim. Many of us ate at the restaurant there. The food was quite tasty and the view very nice, but it was pretty expensive for what we got. If I were to do this tour again, I would wander down the beach and check out where the locals eat as opposed to where the tourists eat.

This tour gives you a great way to see the island in a short period of time and get some beach time in as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cab514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 4 x 4 Plantation House safari”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We discovered a report on Greg's Safaris in a British Newspaper weekend review on holidays in The Caribbean. On arrival in Nevis, we followed up this lead as we wished to extend our knowledge of the Sugar Plantations following a trip on The St Kitts Sugar Train whilst on holiday a couple of years ago. Our email requests were answered promptly and personally by Greg which was most comforting. We were met at the Nevis to St Kitts ferry terminal and experienced a superb and informative tour of an old plantation house and a sugar mill using old tracks and dirt roads way off the main highways. Greg's vehicles are ideally suited for these tours, he and his drivers keep a steady and sedate pace allowing plenty of time to view the surrounding countryside and local villages. Greg has a nice way of delivering his talks and obviously well versed in local history making the whole tour a real pleasure. We would thoroughly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheppenstrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great & informative tour”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Greg gave us great info. on the history of the island and culture during the tour. We saw the rainforest and only a glimpse of 2 monkeys on that day. The beach where we stopped at the end of the tour was beautiful with clear water. Be sure to use bathroom before start of tour because it's awhile before you arrive at beach where there's facilities. Very worthwhile!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Sandrad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KITCHENER
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greg's Tour to the Rain Forest”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We did the tour to Philip's Plantation with Bernie. Unfortunately the tour did not meet our expectations based on the write-up. Bernie did his best but I do know what a carrot and potato plant looks like. The actual rainforest walk was fairly barren of any animals and we only did a quick loop. The pool for cooling down was a puddle. The exotic fruit were oranges and grapefruit. Very poor value for the cost. The rum punch at the end was the highlight of the tour! The dog that ate the bananas at the plantation kept everyone amused. I would not do this trip again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BEA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greg's Safaris also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Greg's Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing