We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greg's Safaris are the greatest”
Review of Greg's Safaris

Greg's Safaris
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greg was born and brought up on St. Kitts and Nevis and following his return home from College in Nova Scotia Canada in 1980, started working at his Parents hotel, the Ocean Terrace Inn, with one of his jobs being to do tours for the hotels guests. While growing up on St. Kitts, Greg's parents became leaders in the local Tourism Industry, starting one of the first hotels in the islands, with Greg's Dad, eventually receiving the "Order of the British Empire" (OBE), from the St. Kitts Government for his outstanding achievements in local Industry. This has given Greg a unique grounding as well as a deep sense of understanding for his home country and coupled with his tourism training abroad, has allowed him to become one of leading and longest serving tour guides in the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg and his team of certified Tour Guides have won many awards from the Tourism Authority for their businesses high standards of service. From the very beginning Greg has used modified, 4X4 Land Rovers to do his "unique" island Safaris with. Being specially made, the 8 Land Rovers he uses today, are all open sided with mostly forward facing, stadium orientated seating, that provide his guests with the best way to experience exploring beyond the shores of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg's Safaris is the only tour company in the Federation that uses 4X4 Land Rovers for touring on both islands! For your private, half days hiking pleasure, Greg has created two "unique looped hiking trails", one at the Phillips Mountain Valley (2 miles long), and at the other at the Wingfield River Valley (2 1/2 miles long), on St. Kitts. His company is also the only one on St. Kitts to offer driving tours from coast to coast through the lushly forested interior and while traveling through the mountains his guests would have access to a private 5 acre "mountain top property", perched1000 feet sea level, a place of cool temperatures and breathtaking views, that can only be experienced on a "one of kind" 4X4 Safari Tour with him and his guides. Greg is one of the founding members of the St. Christopher National Trust and as well, sits on the Central Forest Reserve National Park Committee. He is also a Life Member of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, The Brimstone Hill National Park and is also part owner of Sky Safaris, a company he started in 2009.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Over the past 50 years we have traveled to almost 30 Caribbean islands, and Greg's Safaris stands out for providing the best tours we know. We're about to head to the Eastern Caribbean again, with a stop in St. Kitts, where we've come to expect the best from Greg and his staff. We've done nature walks, historical tours, etc.; and they are all great value for the money. Greg is an enthusiastic and inspiring tour leader, and his staff and fleet of Land Rovers can always be relied upon. There's no better source of information about this beautiful island -- and no more enjoyable way to experience it! Greg's Safaris have provided many of our richest moments in the Caribbean Islands.

Thank Bill656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hello,
Thank you very much for very wonderful comments about my long standing business of tour guiding here on our beautiful island home of St. Kitts where we operate with a fleet of five, 4X4 Land Rovers, and two SUV Air conditioned Cars.
We are fully insured and are founding members of the St. Christopher National Trust and the Brimstone Hill Fortress Society. Our businesses motto is "Explore Beyond the Shore!"
with a policy of trying to exceed our customers expectations by adding extra value to their tours in different ways
I look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manger of Greg's Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 705 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you love nature and hiking don't miss this trip!! Very awesome time it's a nice hike and very informative!. And at the end of your hike a nice light picnic with native fruits ! Picked us up right from cruise ship right on time it was perfect! We love it Greg is a true proof that if you can do what you love it shows !! Thanks so much Marlin

Thank Marlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hello Martin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments about my tour guiding business here on beautiful St .Kitts where we offer return 4X4 transportation from the Cruise Ship dock on all of our tours, and as well as a delicious picnic served at the tours end.
We always try to bring exotic local fruits on our tours so as to continue your adventure with us, but of the pallet !
I look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manager of Greg's Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We also decided to go on a trip with Gregs whilst on our P&O cruise.

We were met at the dockside in a fab jeep and whisked off with a very charming guide who drove us round through the rainforest explaining everything as we drove around.He made it so interesting.

We stopped for refreshments and a walkabout and had a good chat to the man himself (Greg),very enthusiastic about what he does.

Would definitley recommend this experience.

Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

hello,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about touring with me here on beautiful St. Kitts.
We offer packaged tours with return transportation from the dock or hotels on the island and as well an island picnic of great taste.
I hope to welcome you back to our sunny shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
owner and manager of Greg's Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a cruise on the Carnival Valor and had pre-booked an excursion with Greg's safari over the internet for Feb 15, 2013. We met Greg just outside of the port/dock. He quickly escorted us to a vehicle and gave us an informative tour of downtown Bassetterre and then took us on a scenic drive to the edge of the rainforest. He parked the vehicle in a farmer's yard just on the edge of the rainforest and then we followed Greg through the beautiful rainforest. He stopped to show us and explain various flowers and vegetation as we hiked. He was very knowledgeable about his surroundings and the history of St. Kitts. He was also very patient with a few kids that were on the tour. At the end of the tour, we were served drinks and some local fruit. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks for making our visit to St. Kitts a very memorable one Greg!

Thank Carman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind words about touring here on beautiful St, Kitts with us in February. Our packaged tours will include return 4X4 transportation from the dock here as well as a delicious and exotic island picnic at tours end.
i hope to welcome you back to our friendly shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manger of Greg's Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I recently visisted St. Kitts on a cruise. We decided last minute to try the 4 x 4 - beach tour. This was conducted by Greg's Safaris. As luck would have it we had Greg as our guide. The 4 x 4 is a converted military transport that holds up to 12. This was a great excursion and I felt very much worth the $$ we paid. Greg was most informative, did not rush the tour, and made us all feel like it was a private tour.

We spent a week on St Kitts 20 years ago, and on this tour saw many things we did not see before. Really an easy ride over the mountain, through the rain forrest all on paved or dirt roads. Good for all ages. Just need to be able to climb up in the back of the transport. It has stairs.

Last stop is Frigate Bay Beach which has bar/restuarant chaining facilities/bathroom

Great job Greg!

1  Thank RT91381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about doing my "off the beaten path" 4X4 Safari and Beach Tour here on beautiful St .Kitts while visiting us on a cruise ship.
This tour continues to attract rave reviews from our Cruise Ship Guests, who reserve this half days tour on board via the tour desk, as it offers our visitors a chance to go through the lush rain forests of our mountains traveling from coast to coast, in the back of our open aired Land Rovers stopping along the way at a private mountain top property for an intriguing walkabout with some spectacular views from over 1000 feet above sea level. It then would continue on to the Frigate Bay beach which is located on the lee side of our island for a chance to swim in calm ocean.
I look forward to welcoming back to our island again in the future and highlighting some more of our island paradise for you both!
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manager of Greg's Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greg's Safaris also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Greg's Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing