We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greg's Safari Bassetterre St. Kitts”
Review of Greg's Safaris

Greg's Safaris
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greg was born and brought up on St. Kitts and Nevis and following his return home from College in Nova Scotia Canada in 1980, started working at his Parents hotel, the Ocean Terrace Inn, with one of his jobs being to do tours for the hotels guests. While growing up on St. Kitts, Greg's parents became leaders in the local Tourism Industry, starting one of the first hotels in the islands, with Greg's Dad, eventually receiving the "Order of the British Empire" (OBE), from the St. Kitts Government for his outstanding achievements in local Industry. This has given Greg a unique grounding as well as a deep sense of understanding for his home country and coupled with his tourism training abroad, has allowed him to become one of leading and longest serving tour guides in the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg and his team of certified Tour Guides have won many awards from the Tourism Authority for their businesses high standards of service. From the very beginning Greg has used modified, 4X4 Land Rovers to do his "unique" island Safaris with. Being specially made, the 8 Land Rovers he uses today, are all open sided with mostly forward facing, stadium orientated seating, that provide his guests with the best way to experience exploring beyond the shores of St. Kitts and Nevis. Greg's Safaris is the only tour company in the Federation that uses 4X4 Land Rovers for touring on both islands! For your private, half days hiking pleasure, Greg has created two "unique looped hiking trails", one at the Phillips Mountain Valley (2 miles long), and at the other at the Wingfield River Valley (2 1/2 miles long), on St. Kitts. His company is also the only one on St. Kitts to offer driving tours from coast to coast through the lushly forested interior and while traveling through the mountains his guests would have access to a private 5 acre "mountain top property", perched1000 feet sea level, a place of cool temperatures and breathtaking views, that can only be experienced on a "one of kind" 4X4 Safari Tour with him and his guides. Greg is one of the founding members of the St. Christopher National Trust and as well, sits on the Central Forest Reserve National Park Committee. He is also a Life Member of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, The Brimstone Hill National Park and is also part owner of Sky Safaris, a company he started in 2009.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greg's Safari Bassetterre St. Kitts”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a cruise on the Carnival Valor and had pre-booked an excursion with Greg's safari over the internet for Feb 15, 2013. We met Greg just outside of the port/dock. He quickly escorted us to a vehicle and gave us an informative tour of downtown Bassetterre and then took us on a scenic drive to the edge of the rainforest. He parked the vehicle in a farmer's yard just on the edge of the rainforest and then we followed Greg through the beautiful rainforest. He stopped to show us and explain various flowers and vegetation as we hiked. He was very knowledgeable about his surroundings and the history of St. Kitts. He was also very patient with a few kids that were on the tour. At the end of the tour, we were served drinks and some local fruit. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks for making our visit to St. Kitts a very memorable one Greg!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind words about touring here on beautiful St, Kitts with us in February. Our packaged tours will include return 4X4 transportation from the dock here as well as a delicious and exotic island picnic at tours end.
i hope to welcome you back to our friendly shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manger of Greg's Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    78
    20
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I recently visisted St. Kitts on a cruise. We decided last minute to try the 4 x 4 - beach tour. This was conducted by Greg's Safaris. As luck would have it we had Greg as our guide. The 4 x 4 is a converted military transport that holds up to 12. This was a great excursion and I felt very much worth the $$ we paid. Greg was most informative, did not rush the tour, and made us all feel like it was a private tour.

We spent a week on St Kitts 20 years ago, and on this tour saw many things we did not see before. Really an easy ride over the mountain, through the rain forrest all on paved or dirt roads. Good for all ages. Just need to be able to climb up in the back of the transport. It has stairs.

Last stop is Frigate Bay Beach which has bar/restuarant chaining facilities/bathroom

Great job Greg!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RT91381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about doing my "off the beaten path" 4X4 Safari and Beach Tour here on beautiful St .Kitts while visiting us on a cruise ship.
This tour continues to attract rave reviews from our Cruise Ship Guests, who reserve this half days tour on board via the tour desk, as it offers our visitors a chance to go through the lush rain forests of our mountains traveling from coast to coast, in the back of our open aired Land Rovers stopping along the way at a private mountain top property for an intriguing walkabout with some spectacular views from over 1000 feet above sea level. It then would continue on to the Frigate Bay beach which is located on the lee side of our island for a chance to swim in calm ocean.
I look forward to welcoming back to our island again in the future and highlighting some more of our island paradise for you both!
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manager of Greg's Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosick, New York
1 review
“An Island in a Day!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were staying in Nevis, but wanted to get a "Taste of St. Kitts", and Greg's Safaris was the perfect choice to do so! We are history buffs, so our tour guide (Greg himself) tailored the tour to our interests. Our whirlwind day-long adventure hit the sites that intrigued us. And since we completely circumnavigated the Island, we came away with a real sense of the place. Thank you, Greg's Safaris for a memorable and fascinating day!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank INGRID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments about your private tour with me when you visited us from Nevis.
We operate with two, Air-conditioned SUV's, as well as five open aired 4X4 Land Rovers on a per hour basis, such that we can tailor a tour that suites your own wishes.
Always included on our private tours is return 4X4 transportation as well as a delicious island picnic.
i look forward to welcoming you back to our friendly shores one day.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manager of Gregs Safaris
telephone 1 869 662 6002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hiking day with Greg”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently took a rainforest hike tour with Greg which was both informative and fun. Greg knows the forest and the island inside out and shares his passion and love for the island. At the end of the tour we were served a variety of fresh fruit and punch, which was a great end to a great tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your wonderful comments about my tour service here on beautiful St.Kitts.
I hope to welcome you back to our shores one day!
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
Owner and Manager of Gregs Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Show”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked trip with Greg through hotel. Stood there while Marriott called Greg and he confirmed the trip. Next day we waited for him in the lobby, no show. Tour desk at Marriott said, "Oh yeah, he emailed us this morning and said he couldn't do the trip." Marriott was also at fault for not informing us of his cancellation. Expect poor service anywhere you go in St Kitts. I can't comment on how good his trips are since he cancelled on us the day of.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigreg, Owner at Greg's Safaris, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello,
I was very surprised to hear of our "no show" to do your tour recently, as we are completely innocent of what you are suggesting actually happened, unfortunately.
The problem really was with the booking agent herself who sells our tours independently of the Marriott hotel at a tour desk run by the local tour agent, Sunlinc, located in the hotels lobby, as i did not confirm this tour with her, nor did i confirm in an email that morning that I would not be able to do this tour for you. I am truly sorry for this inconvenience caused my bad communications, but please rest assured that the problems you had confirming my tour through a third party at your hotel, was not our doing and that we are always committed to excellent service.
I hope you will return to our beautiful islands one day and if you do return please contact me directly the next time for a better service.
Best Regards,
Greg Pereira
owner and manager of gregs safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greg's Safaris also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Greg's Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing