We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill

Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill
Cockleshell Beach, Basseterre, St. Kitts
+1 869-663-8711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Picturesque beach setting with the island of Nevis across the channel. For some real local flavor excellent local food. Everyone talks about the rum punch and I can vouch for it as well. A charming little beach bar with great proprietors. Will gladly go again...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cpetemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our second visit to St Kitts and our second visit to see Angela and Lion! Great atmosphere and great punch! Hopefully our paths will cross again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Punch in the Carib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just Love going to Lion"s for a drink. The beach is calm, the view fantastic and the punch with ground nutmeg ... Well have someone else drive afterwards!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isogriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A visit to St Kitts wouldn't be complete without a visit to Lion and Angela's bar on Cockleshell Beach. The food is tasty and beautifully presented. The atmosphere is lively but relaxed. Great punch too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found the Lion Rock Beach Bar when we had a day in St. Kitts. We asked the best taxi driver/tour guide on the island "Neon Deon," to take us somewhere for authentic island food. After a bumpy ride to cockleshell beach we ended up at an unassuming place (really a shack) on the beach. Lion, the proprietor of Lion Rock Beach bar had three things on the menu: Ribs, chicken or fish, and he had a cooler full of ice cold beer. My wife and I ordered the fish and a few ice cold beers. Simply the BEST FOOD and the BEST PEOPLE on our trip to the southern Caribbean. There is nothing more relaxing than enjoying great food, great local company and great music all while sitting on a pristine beach overlooking Nevis and being able to watch your kids play in gin clear water. Truly an exceptional experience. If you visit St. Kitts and skip the Lion rock Beach Bar, you simply have not visited St. Kitts. Go for the day, expect to take your time, meet great people, and enjoy a one of a kind experience. And if you need a ride, ask for "Neon Deon," everyone on the island really does know him, and he gives an amazing Island tour at a price that you can't beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing