We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need to know”
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Walking Tour Through Basseterre
Ranked #21 of 42 things to do in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“All you need to know”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were on a port of call in St Kitts and only fancied something to eat off the ship and stretch our legs.
However, just out side the port we came over this small National Museum, looking at the size of it, I thought we would be in and out in 20 Minutes, two hours later we felt we knew the whole history of the Island.
It costs a couple of Dollars to enter but it is well worth it, if you are interested on History,.
The lady at the front desk is one of the most interesting and informative people I have ever met, if you want any more information regarding any of the exhibits or the written literature on display, ask this lady and she will certainly expand on what you have already learned.
Everything from politics, economy, traditional wear and customs and the history of the Islands slavery is here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    45
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Finish the day”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in St. Kitts on a Royal Caribbean port call. After our morning excursion to Brimstone Hill and Romney Manor, we had time in town before returning to the ship. We enjoy museums and were not disappointed in this little gem in the old Treasury Building within easy walking distance of the pier. While not elaborate or particularly modern, the museum has colorful displays and artifacts. I particularly enjoyed the costumes and pictures from early island history. The large rooms on the second floor were cooled by large fans. If the doors were kept closed to hold the cool air, it was comfortable.

The nominal $3.00 fee was well worth the 45 minutes we spent. A few souvenir items were available for purchase on the ground floor where the tickets are sold. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We did not see the steel drum others have mentioned.

We enjoy learning about country flags and symbolism. The national flag for St. Kitts and Nevis is green for fertile land; yellow for the ever present sunshine; black for the African history; red for the years of struggle from slavery through independence. The two white stars on the black diamond bar symbol hope and liberty.

If you are looking for a quiet place to spend time learning more about the island, I recommend the museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Impressive display of Caribbean History and culture, small and will finish within an hour.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The National Museum is just round the corner when you get off the Cruise Port of Zante. Keep walking towards the left from the Port Information Center and the National Museum will be the last building. Beyond it is where the town of Basseterre starts. The building looks impressive and the tickets are available downstairs. The admit is $3 and you can climb up a flight of stairs and the Museum is in the first floor. The Museum is really small and fits in three huge halls. They have divided it into 3 parts. The culture, history and the colonial. The Museum gives you a first hand glimpse of life in St. Kitts and it is quite interesting. You can get to see all lot of things and also learn a lot. The displays are quite unique.
Also, the lady at the counter is so helpful! She gave us a small guide to the Museum and later on helped us a lot with places to eat and visit.
It will not take too much of time, but definitely do visit this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A very nice small West Indian museum”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Don't expect a grand experience. This is only a small and simple museum, but it does not cost much, and is worth a visit. It occupies part of a fine colonial cut-stone building which is beautiful to see, both from the outside and from the inside.

The museum staff will be glad to help you if you have questions about St. Kitts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a vist”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Within easy walking distance from the ship.spent a pleasant hour looking round,only $3.not suitable for anyone who struggles with stairs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing