We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”

Carambola Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy lunch or dinner in our beautiful hacienda style restaurant, outdoors on our spacious terrace or on the golden sand of South Friar's Bay as your gaze at the Caribbean Sea. Savor one of our delicious cocktails or a bottle of wine from our collection. Five-star service awaits you at Carambola Beach Club.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you get off from the car everybody is very welcoming. The service is awesome, accomodations incredible and the beach is beautiful! The only con is the wifi which didnt really work but its a great place! Bar isnt so expensive which is a plus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    225
    70
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views - mediocre food”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We've been to St Kitts 6 times and watched Carambola being built from the first foundation. This year we finally got around to trying it. Great accommodations and great view from the dining room but the food was absolutely mediocre and that isn't acceptable when you are paying Manhattan prices. I had surf and turf. The lobster tasted like it was boiled then stored then grilled and the beef tenderloin was overcooked to near hockey puck levels.
My wife is veggie and had the Tofu stir fry which was ok
The desserts were much better - I had bread pudding with ice-cream and the wife just had ice crease which is made on premise and very good.
The service was very good and the staff friendly which offset my poor quality entree somewhat
But one last big NO-NO - we learned from a source at our hotel that the staff at Carambola do not get to keep all of the tips you add to the check. They are kept by the Management.
If you want to reward your server, slip them a cash tip quietly. If this was NYC they would get sued for keeping staff tips.
They also have unpredictable opening hours so if you want to use the beach - call ahead first and make sure they are open during the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sidecarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carambola Beach - A "Don't Miss" Spot If Ever There Was One!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have lived and worked in the Caribbean for many years - and as a New Yorker, living in Miami and a world traveler to over 90 countries - I pride myself in knowing where to go in the great places of the world. First, in my opinion Saint Kitts is a hidden gem. You cannot possibly get to know it in a one day tour off a cruse ship. The country definitely deserves a full vacation and it will not disappoint. That all said, the place I elect to go have a full five-star experience (a rarity in the Caribbean) is the Carambola Beach Club. It's a romantic and classy place that strives to be the best! The owners are all about first class quality in every thing they do and every detail. The food is outstanding and fresh and creative. The wine list, one of the best in the region. The place is magical and sets the standard that others are sure to follow - making the island of St. Kitts better and better when other islands are trying to keep up. So when in St. Kitts - note this wonderful spot as a "don't miss" and explore the country and enjoy this hidden secret of paradise!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank olympvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Beach - Great Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you enjoy soft sand, warm water and drinks served at your beach chair you have come to the right place. I reserved beach chairs with Daislyn prior to our arrival on a cruise ship. We cabbed to the resort for $8 per person round trip and when we arrived our chairs were set up in the perfect spot for a day of fun in the sand and surf.
There is free WiFi and we dined in an amazing space with incredible sushi and great drinks. The lunch menu is much more reasonable than the dinner menu so don't be scared by reviews saying the menu prices are outrageous.
We were 2 adults and 5 kids and everyone loved this resort experience. This place is high end so expect to pay for your chairs and umbrellas but also expect to see clean sand and amazing bathrooms (Rated in the top ten bathrooms in all of the Caribbean)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank freepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A day at Carambola”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were there in June 2014 and we absolutely loved Carambola. The place is just so beautiful. The beach was outstanding with comfortable lounge chairs, umbrellas all for a nominal charge. The club offered a Tapas bar (which we didn't use) and also a well stocked bar. In St Kitts, Beulah's Welcome Tours prearranged everything for us. We met up right outside the ship and took a short ride to Carambola where our reserved seats and umbrella were waiting for us. I highly recommend Carambola beach as a perfect day trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Beach Club also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Been to Carambola Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing